We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value and Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Outstanding Value and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

At the end of May, I brought a group of 12 biology students to Tucson for my annual course "Dyanmics of the Sonoran Desert Ecosystem." We stayed at the Royal Sun and couldn't have asked for a more perfect location (both to the Sonoran Desert and to downtown Tucson). The staff was extraordinarily helpful and made our stay there a genuine pleasure. Rooms were immaculate, the pool sparkling clean, breakfast was delicious, and the tavern gave us some time to unwind after a long day in the field.

Kudos to Neil Shah and his staff for making our field experience a treat. I intend to bring another group down next year and, of course, we'll stay at the Royal Sun!

Dr. Gregory McArthur
Professor of Biology
Metropolitan State College of Denver

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

It was our pleasure to host you group. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We will see you next year.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    169
    51
    28
    15
See reviews for
155
183
52
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I get sick of "hiltons".. Being able to relax in clean enviro, OK food is lame but suits me..Can't go wong here. If u expect more then u've lost it. There is a basic gym, free brekky, a pool, a balcony ( food.. yeah ok not great) but u eat and there is a bar and a great atmosphere. Tuscon is is not an out there place and if u are here it's not for fun , right!. Some good thigs to see locally if u try.. I'd stay here again... Trains are noisy,, http://www.bwroyalsun.com/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011 via mobile

Front desk staff & manager give top rate personalized service! Restaurant staff very friendly too.
Great value

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Our room was spacious, very clean, very well furnished, and had a very comfortable bed. The room was very quiet and the 'black-out' curtains are definitely needed in Tucson where the sun rises very early. Usually motel rooms can be quite noisey but these rooms seem to be very well constructed. The wireless internet access was also excellent..
We chose this hotel for it's convenient location within a mile of the University of Arizona campus and also for its very reasonable rates. The complimentary full breakfast is definitely a great idea for travelers.
From the street, this hotel looks very nice and when you enter the enclosed courtyard, you quickly realize that you are in a very secluded protected area surrounded by spacious desert and tropical plants with water features. The swimming pool and exercise room also complete this pleasant hotel.
The front desk staff and others that we met on the premises were very cheerful and were quite happy we were staying with them.
We definitely will stay here again as it seems like our home away from home now...

Room Tip: Pool rooms might be quieter than parking lot rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

I am pleased to inform you that we are already looking into updating our black outs & sheers to make them more modern & exceed our guest's expectations. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife, nephew, and I extended our 3 day stay to 7 because we found it to be a convenient base for touring Tucson, visiting friends, and hiking in the mountains. The suite was roomy and clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. Good breakfast too. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We were very impressed with all the Best Westerns we stayed with throughout Arizona.
I'm glad we looked into staying at one, because we continued to look for any Best Westerns in all the areas we stayed in. Very Clean, staff was very friendly, and I wouldn't think twice about staying with them again.

Room Tip: Ask to show you the rooms they have available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Upon our quick check in, the lady at the desk was very knowledgeable/helpful, we unpacked and went over to the RS onsite restaurant. The kids were hungry, the only lousy service we received was from the "waiter" (I think his name was Evan?) Who barked out, "Have a seat wherever", when we walked in the door. So we sat at the counter next to the kitchen, we could instantly tell the cook was irritated with his "waiter". This guy could barely perform the job, he was terrible! The cook did a better job of recommending menu items, as Evan(?) was trying to figure out how to use his calculator just to ring up customers who had obviously been waiting for awhile.
Anyway, we let the front desk know about him right away.
Replace that guy!
After a restful night, we woke with the kids, went for breakfast hoping that the same guy wasn't on duty (Thankfully he wasn't or we would have gone anywhere else even though it was free!). Menu choices were limited, but it was okay. After we ate we went for an early morning swim. Very nice pool. Clean!
Overall, a nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us.

I am truly sorry about the service offered by Evan at the restaurant. Since your stay, we have made some changes in staffing at the restaurant & lounge in order to improve our customer service levels. We have also redesigned our entire menu. We are very excited about these changes & looking forward to offering outstanding food & service to all our guests.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#23 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.