We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic & charming hotel. Rooms are great & the grounds are beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arizona Inn to your Saves list
Arizona Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 131 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic & charming hotel. Rooms are great & the grounds are beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband grew up in Tucson and knew about this legendary hotel and its interesting history. We decided to stay there for a few nights last year while visiting the area. What luck when they told us that a room was available! The place is so charming. Old style Spanish/American architecture, sculpted indigenous gardens, original clay tennis court, vintage resort style pool & outdoor dining, fantastic food & drinks (don't forget to try their signature drinks. Yummy!), and a very helpful and friendly staff.

Stay for a night, or a week & you will treasure your experience like we did. Can't wait to stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1962F85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tubac, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I went to the Inn for the weekend. Going to dinner Friday evening I backed into a rocky wall that juts into the parking lot. There was a red cone behind the rock wall, impossible to see at dusk. Much of the wall had been chipped or blasted away through the years, but it put a gash in the side of my Toyota van.
I told one of the managers about my misfortune the next day. He seemed nice and sympathetic. I suggested the wall should have been removed 50 years ago as doubtless dozens had hit it through the years.
Later that afternoon, the manager called to tell me that the hotel would take no responsibility for what happened to me. He should have quit talking immediately. Soon he was talking darkly about a conversation with the general manager and how they didn't see what happened in the parking lot, suggesting some people use parking lot events to enrich themselves. Perhaps it's a personality defect, but I tend to take conversation of that sort personally
So we drove to town again for dinner. The first night I was agitated about the booby trap. The second night I was more agitated about the attitude of the hotel. I've been alive since FDR's last administration and haven't scammed anybody yet, or been accused of taking advantage of any business.
That said, the hotel is a delight. Every view is a visual treat. The staff is plentiful and helpful. The breakfast is delicious. And the manager did suggest they might do something about the parking lot wall, which obviously has caused so many problems through the years.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

In town for a wedding, we were looking for a hotel with a little 'local color' and the Arizona Inn was perfect. Our large, comfortable room came with a private courtyard with keyed gate (which effectively kept the relatives we were staying with from showing up unannounced). The restaurant, bar and pool were all first class. The clay tennis courts were some of the best I've ever played on. This is an all-around excellent property. Anyone rating it less than 'very good' must not get out much.

This hotel is probably the only reason we'd ever consider returning to Tucson.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked one night in Premium Room so that we could enjoy a stay following a concert at the Rialto (15 minutes away). Our room was very clean and comfortable. Large bathroom with plenty of mirrors. Comfortable bed and seating area. 2 Chaise lounges and a bistro table with a pair of chairs out on our patio. Made use of all we could. Lovely grounds. We were able to park right by entry gate on Elm Street. Made for very convenient unloading and loading. We'd happily stay again. Too bad we did not know about the upgrade coupon on TA. All staff seemed nice. Did not eat in any restaurants on site,.

Room Tip: Stay close to street entry gates and away from the pool for best relaxation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwtaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our stay at the Arizona Inn was mediocre at best. Room rate was $219 in early October for an ordinary room.
Toilet plugged 3 times, maid did not clean room till after 4 PM, service in restaurants was slow.
There is in room coffee but the maid cleans the cups and glasses as well as the coffee pot in the bathroom and probably uses the same cloth to wipe out the glasses as she does to wipe the sinks and counters.
Have heard so much about the Arizona Inn but was very disappointed overall. Really expected much more from this iconic hotel in Tucson Our experience does not match most of the online reviews.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the front desk as people with difficulties walking will have a hard time gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A beautiful hotel spread across sprawling grounds - old in a good way. People were beyond friendly. Was here for work, and they bent over backwards to help us. Came in September and rates were very very cheap - $125/night - and they upgraded us to suites with fireplaces. Rates go up in winter. Really, really enjoyed the place. Will definitely stay here again if I'm in town and the rates are affordable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 510globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our family spent a night at Arizona Inn the night before we headed to Canyon Ranch. We arrived late morning, enjoyed the beautiful grounds and serene pool. Had a complimentary Ice Cream Sundae Bar at the pool before a dinner under the stars ...magical. Waitstaff Ron and Jesse were exceptional! Dinner delicious.

Room Tip: Some of the deluxe rooms are larger (corner rooms) and have a private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 448peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
15.9 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 131 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#30 of 131 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
6.7 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing