We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arizona Inn to your Saves list
Arizona Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This picturesque piece of Tuscon exudes charm and displays an undeniable sense of history. Complimentary High Tea in the large drawing room was a delightful touch and a great way to unwind in the afternoon. The room, grounds and amenities were well kept, the staff courteous and attentive (even if at times a little green). We had a perfectly cooked breakfast in the morning at the restaurant and the juice was fresh squeezed - yum!

This venue would suit people who appreciate local history and seemed to cater to an older clientele. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    55
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
70
141
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
woodinville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The grounds are quite lovely and the accommodations quite nice as well which is certainly what they should be for nearly $400 a night. I think any place could offer a nice venue for that much money and they surely better. The food and drink are also fine for the most part but they are clearly substandard with respect to 3 items I noticed right away. 1) Although a good selection of wines, they have NO DRAFT BEER, just five lonely bottles to choose from, which aren't that great. This is in the middle of the desert for goodness sake and it is no longer the 1950's. Most fine and even not so fine establishments offer their patrons a decent selection of draft beers. Whoever is in charge of beverage service needs to rethink this glaring omission from their menu. 2) The little Starbucks coffee bags that come with the room are better than what many places provide and again they surely should be for the price you pay. However, instead of providing genuine half and half to drink with it they give you COFFEEMATE instead. As any coffee drinker knows, Coffeemate is a cheap artificial poor-tasting substitute to mix with decent or even indecent coffee. It obviously saves them money but this unnecessary sacrifice of quality to pad their profits is just ridiculous for a place that regards itself as luxurious. Lastly, 3) the breakfast potatoes served with any of the dishes are DEEP-FRIED LEFT-OVERS from dinner the night before. They are hard and tasteless, difficult to eat and not worth doing so. Obviously once again they are saving money - this time through recycling uneaten food - but it is disgraceful they will not serve patrons what could be a delicious addition to their otherwise very fine breakfasts. I don't know who is in charge of these cost-cutting substandard offerings but I hope they read this and do the right thing. If you are going to charge patrons high rates for for what is being billed as a luxurious experience please truly provide one including the details noted here. To round out the picture, the staff, seemingly all college kids, smile widely and a lot, even when serving the beer and potatoes, which adds a pleasant note. There's no snobbery. Also, the library is a large, elegant, stately and relaxing haven with a great many classic and contemporary selections. They offer a very wide selection of classic old movies as well. The pool is adequate within a walled setting where you can have breakfast. The patios are private with two lounge chairs plus an umbrella-covered table with chairs. There was a huge splotch of bird droppings on what was an otherwise comfortable-looking lounge chair. I would be happy to return if i won the lottery, someone else paid for it, or I learned my suggestions had been implemented.

Room Tip: It's in the middle of a somewhat upper-midde class residential neighborhood and two blocks from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the greeting at the curb when we arrived to the departure the charm of the hotel came through. Old but new. The room was large and well furnished. The ground were like the gardens at the Oberi hotels in India. We definitely would like a longer stay than the one night we had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The Inn is an older property that is very well maintained, quiet and extremely service oriented.

Unless you are visiting the university the location is probably the only slightly negative aspect otherwise it is an exceptional hotel and a very good value.

We would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I can't comment on the value proposition, since I was attending for a meeting and our room was paid for. But this is a beautiful, peaceful, unusual hotel, that provided so much quiet and privacy it hardly seemed like a hotel at all. Our room was large and extremely comfortable, with a small patio outside with table/chairs and two lounge chairs. The only sounds were all the birds on the grounds. Rabbits scurried around the lawn next to our room at dawn and dusk. Our room was supplied with a variety of current, outstandingly chosen books. It's about an hour's walk to downtown Tucson through some interesting neighborhoods and the nearby University of Arizona campus.

Can't comment on the restaurant, but room service breakfast was extremely good and the service prompt and courteous. Would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intl falls, mn
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Truly an elegant dining experience is the Arizona Inn. It is expensive, yes, but the ambiance, professional service, and quality of the food certainly makes it worthy of consideration for a special dining occasion. We were very impressed. The only less than glowing comment is that the chef is a little heavy on the sauce. However, the sauce is so good I didn't mind!

Everything from the escargot, to the complimentary appetizer, to the entrees was very high quality food in sensible sized portions. No blaring TVs, no screaming children, no loud music. Just a lovely, quiet, elegant dining experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Arizona Inn. It has old fashioned elegance, beautiful grounds and excellent dining. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood. All the staff are very helpful. Children are welcome but it is more of an adult atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#22 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.