We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Old Arizona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arizona Inn to your Saves list
Arizona Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little Old Arizona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the greeting at the curb when we arrived to the departure the charm of the hotel came through. Old but new. The room was large and well furnished. The ground were like the gardens at the Oberi hotels in India. We definitely would like a longer stay than the one night we had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    65
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
164
25
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Inn is an older property that is very well maintained, quiet and extremely service oriented.

Unless you are visiting the university the location is probably the only slightly negative aspect otherwise it is an exceptional hotel and a very good value.

We would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I can't comment on the value proposition, since I was attending for a meeting and our room was paid for. But this is a beautiful, peaceful, unusual hotel, that provided so much quiet and privacy it hardly seemed like a hotel at all. Our room was large and extremely comfortable, with a small patio outside with table/chairs and two lounge chairs. The only sounds were all the birds on the grounds. Rabbits scurried around the lawn next to our room at dawn and dusk. Our room was supplied with a variety of current, outstandingly chosen books. It's about an hour's walk to downtown Tucson through some interesting neighborhoods and the nearby University of Arizona campus.

Can't comment on the restaurant, but room service breakfast was extremely good and the service prompt and courteous. Would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intl falls, mn
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Truly an elegant dining experience is the Arizona Inn. It is expensive, yes, but the ambiance, professional service, and quality of the food certainly makes it worthy of consideration for a special dining occasion. We were very impressed. The only less than glowing comment is that the chef is a little heavy on the sauce. However, the sauce is so good I didn't mind!

Everything from the escargot, to the complimentary appetizer, to the entrees was very high quality food in sensible sized portions. No blaring TVs, no screaming children, no loud music. Just a lovely, quiet, elegant dining experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Arizona Inn. It has old fashioned elegance, beautiful grounds and excellent dining. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood. All the staff are very helpful. Children are welcome but it is more of an adult atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second time at the Arizona Inn. The Inn is a historic compound in the center of Tucson (not downtown) in a residential district near the University. The compound is cloistered from the outside world with high walls and shrubbery. The setting, grounds and architecture are completely gracious and delightful - a true oasis. The furnishings are a little worn and dated and the bedding could be a higher quality which keeps me from giving it a 5. Our room was very spacious, however and the private patio outside was a great place to relax and soak up some much needed sun. The restaurant is pretty good, we had breakfast there (great eggs benedict) and then cocktails and appetizers in the bar one evening. Didn't have an actual "dinner" but they seemed busy the 2 nights we were there. I would stay here again on future trips to Tucson.

Room Tip: Seems like they had a large variety of rooms in a lot of different configurations and locations spre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Arizona Inn reminded me of a resort from the 1960’s. When we arrive, the grounds are quiet and beautifully landscaped with croquet set-up on the lawn and we walk past a mom, dad and their two teenaged kids playing table tennis on a covered patio. The smell of orange blossoms fills the air. Distinguishably dressed diners fill the tables just outside the bar. Small clusters of people mingle with drinks and small bites in hand in the traditionally elegant library.

Our room was clean with solid wood furnishings. As you entered the room, there was a large walk-in closet, just inside the door. The bathroom is tiled all in white, with a white marble countertop, and wooden cabinets under the counter that might date back to the 1930’s when the hotel was built. The main part of the room had two chairs for sitting, a king bed which was quite comfortable, and a writing desk. Others have complained that the pillows are uncomfortable. The pillows are small compared to what most people have come to expect, but they were more than adequate for my needs. The back door of the room led out to a brick patio that was furnished with comfortable lounging patio furniture. The windows and doors are equipped with screens so it’s easy to open the room up to get fresh air flowing through. The room includes telephone, tv with dvd player (the hotel maintains a collection of classic DVDs), a refrigerator and high speed (25 Mbps) internet. There was nothing lacking in the comfort or convenience of our room. The room was very quiet and we never heard anything but the birds singing outside of our room.

All of the staff on the property that we encountered were very professional, considerate, kind, and interacted with good humor.

We really appreciate that you pay one price for the Arizona Inn. No additional “resort fees”, no fee for internet, no fee to park the car. This family run property continues to treat guests with the grace and respect that founder Isabella Greenway intended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#13 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.