We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arizona Inn to your Saves list
Arizona Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Arizona Inn. It has old fashioned elegance, beautiful grounds and excellent dining. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood. All the staff are very helpful. Children are welcome but it is more of an adult atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    70
    14
    14
    6
See reviews for
96
179
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second time at the Arizona Inn. The Inn is a historic compound in the center of Tucson (not downtown) in a residential district near the University. The compound is cloistered from the outside world with high walls and shrubbery. The setting, grounds and architecture are completely gracious and delightful - a true oasis. The furnishings are a little worn and dated and the bedding could be a higher quality which keeps me from giving it a 5. Our room was very spacious, however and the private patio outside was a great place to relax and soak up some much needed sun. The restaurant is pretty good, we had breakfast there (great eggs benedict) and then cocktails and appetizers in the bar one evening. Didn't have an actual "dinner" but they seemed busy the 2 nights we were there. I would stay here again on future trips to Tucson.

Room Tip: Seems like they had a large variety of rooms in a lot of different configurations and locations spre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Arizona Inn reminded me of a resort from the 1960’s. When we arrive, the grounds are quiet and beautifully landscaped with croquet set-up on the lawn and we walk past a mom, dad and their two teenaged kids playing table tennis on a covered patio. The smell of orange blossoms fills the air. Distinguishably dressed diners fill the tables just outside the bar. Small clusters of people mingle with drinks and small bites in hand in the traditionally elegant library.

Our room was clean with solid wood furnishings. As you entered the room, there was a large walk-in closet, just inside the door. The bathroom is tiled all in white, with a white marble countertop, and wooden cabinets under the counter that might date back to the 1930’s when the hotel was built. The main part of the room had two chairs for sitting, a king bed which was quite comfortable, and a writing desk. Others have complained that the pillows are uncomfortable. The pillows are small compared to what most people have come to expect, but they were more than adequate for my needs. The back door of the room led out to a brick patio that was furnished with comfortable lounging patio furniture. The windows and doors are equipped with screens so it’s easy to open the room up to get fresh air flowing through. The room includes telephone, tv with dvd player (the hotel maintains a collection of classic DVDs), a refrigerator and high speed (25 Mbps) internet. There was nothing lacking in the comfort or convenience of our room. The room was very quiet and we never heard anything but the birds singing outside of our room.

All of the staff on the property that we encountered were very professional, considerate, kind, and interacted with good humor.

We really appreciate that you pay one price for the Arizona Inn. No additional “resort fees”, no fee for internet, no fee to park the car. This family run property continues to treat guests with the grace and respect that founder Isabella Greenway intended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Arizona Inn is a really special place with loads of character, offering the traveler a comfortable homelike atmosphere. I have made five visits to the inn over the past five years. Each time I have enjoyed my stay and I always look forward to return.
The inn sits in the center of a nice residential neighborhood, two blocks from the university and near many restaurants and even a Whole Foods. It is a fabulous piece of property, meticulously landscaped, with loads of citrus trees, flowers and grass. It is such an oasis in Tuscon's dry landscape. The warm pool, croquet and ping pong table create a lively atmosphere.
The rooms are quiet and most offer a patio. It is such a luxury to be in a hotel and have windows and french doors open, allowing you to listen to the fountain and birds. Each room has a huge walk in closet and little coffee bar and fridge--very convenient. Some of the bathrooms are pretty small, as they were built many years ago. They are done up nicely in white tile and marble. Some even have a window. But I do find the older ones to be a bit cramped. The furniture is comfortable, but a bit dated, as many of it was custom made for the inn years ago. It is all well maintained and very clean. The bedding is fine, but I prefer a down comforter (even in Tucson--winters can be cool) and always I request extra down pillows. The rooms are very quiet. Internet is free (and now very fast). My favorite part of the room is the lovely patio.
The Inn has some great traditions such as a nightly piano player in the bar, a lovely afternoon tea and a manager's cocktail party each Thursday. Room service is quick, but I would like to see a more interesting menu. There could be more healthy options, especially for breakfast. The food at the casual bar is very good, I have not tried the main restaurant.
The staff is super friendly and helpful. There is a valet, if you like, but it is so convenient and quick to park across the street. Plus, parking is free. On my last trip I had to leave the hotel at 4AM and was not looking forward to finding my car in the dark. I was thrilled when the valet came to my room to get my bags and then went to the parking lot and found my car that I self parked the night before. He loaded all my luggage in it and had it waiting for me at the front door after I checked out. Even when the hotel is full, it never seems crowded and the staff never seems hurried or stressed.
The Arizona Inn, while not trendy or opulent, is a lovely place to stay in Tucson. It is a place I look forward to visiting each year. It offers business travelers a comfortable stay, but is great for families and friends too.

Room Tip: Having a patio is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. Everything was amazing: location, service, amenities (all free), food, drinks, atmosphere, and more! The trip was for work, but the relaxing resort made it feel more like a vacation. If you are going to Tuscon, this is the place to stay! Did I mention I woke up every morning to birds singing... ahhh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The promise of privacy, quiet and sunshine lives on at the Arizona Inn. Getting ready to check out of this lovely hotel, and we could not have had a better experience. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We ate in the luxury dinning room as well as poolside. The wait staff works extremely hard to serve it's guests. Kudos to Tom, Patrick, and Andrew for a dinner to remember. The diver scallops were to die for. Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

For the past 40 years we have stayed several times at the Arizona Inn. Needless to say it has changed over those years, as we have. The Inn has actually maintained its beauty while I can't say the same for us. It is an oasis in the city with a nostalgic ambiance. I am not certain how the restaurant is now, when we were there a year ago it was good, however there are numerous wonderful restaurants in Tucson.
If you want to sample the 'old days' in Tucson - not the Old West, but the 1940's through 1960's this is absolutely the place for you. Locals from the neighborhood come to spend a relaxing weekend! There are few children on the times we've been there.

Room Tip: Look at the layout of the rooms online and choose the bed size and room location carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.9 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#18 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.