We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Save Saved
You added Arizona Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arizona Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visit the Arizona Inn for a lovely lunch and view. We sat outside and enjoyed the gardens, Food and service was great, servers were very friendly and helpful We strolled along the gardens and admire the flowers, unfortunatley we did not stay here. Just came for lunch and to see the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    51
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
132
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Elegant, beautifully maintained, well-appointed and service oriented, the Arizona Inn offers a relaxing respite from everyday life. The grounds are gorgeous and each room is uniquely decorated with varying amenities. We took two rooms -- one standard and one deluxe. The deluxe was large and came with a gas fireplace while the standard was very, very small. Although some of the old-world charm included old-money stuffiness, the hotel staff was by-and-large very responsive and helpful. The reasons for four stars instead of five are the following issues: the pillows rank as among some of the most uncomfortable we've every put our heads on; the breakfast crew struggled with attentiveness (tracking down someone for a coffee refill was an art); and the evening restaurant staff was inadequate. All-in-all, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When my wife and I no longer can live on our own, we have asked our kids not to put us away in some smelly nursing home, but rather give us the dream of our lifetime and let us live at The Arizona Inn, Tucson, Arizona! At $250 - $350 a night, it would probably be cheaper than a nursing home. And so, so, so much more enjoyable. In all sincerity, we have stayed at the Arizona Inn a half-dozen times and it ranks as one of our favorite hotels worldwide, ranking with Hassler Hotel in Rome, Browns in London and The Raphael in Paris. Except the weather in Tucson is much more pleasant nearly year long. We love this hotel, from it's rich history from it's founding by Mrs. Greenway and her friendship with Eleanor Roosevelt (thanks to the Army Corp of Engineers who helped build much of the Inn during the Depression, Mrs. Roosevelt!), to the antique furnishings (some built by wounded vets from WWI), elegant service and rich ambiance.
Everyhting about The Arizona Inn shouts old-world traditions transplanted to the rugged southwest. The Grand Salon is something out of Downton Abbey. The grounds are staggeringly beautiful with lush plantings and English garden beauty. The pool is wonderful, set apart with cabanas and food & drink service reminiscent of The Beverly Hills Hotel. Between swimming, tennis, and working out in the indoor gym, we kept in shape to enjoy delicious dining in the restaurant. While staying at the Inn, we have met many interesting guests, too. The Inn is located near the University of Arizona and close to the airport and downtown Tucson. To replicate the experience of staying at a five-star European hotel, the Arizona Inn will not disappoint.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, the Inn will be happy to accommodate you. Every room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have enjoyed various functions, balls and personal dining at the Arizona Inn,
and have always considered it to be a personal sanctum-retreat, into a "yesterday"
and up-to-date fine dining experience.
For us the "Silver Turquoise Ball" always epitomizes this Inns' historical elegance.
Exquisite dining room,--eloquent library,--sophisicated bar with nightly live piano,
--and one of our very favourite lawn indoor-outdoor patios.
The great croquet field, visable to the patio, was moved to another location!
Service is always responsive and friendly. Level of quality with the cuisine
has never faltered. We can't visit Tucson without at least one appearance
at the Arizona Inn with friends.

Room Tip: Near the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Arizona Inn has been family run since it was built in the late 1920s. Isabella Greenway supervised original construction and operation, in part to enhance the market for furniture made by disabled veterans under her sponsorship. The setting is amazing--a couple blocks from the University of Arizona, but landscaped for privacy and calm. Each room provides for "family" style privacy with an enclosed patio (except for second floor). Available are fire places and suites, but all rooms furnished with mostly original furniture and lots of books. Main areas include a library, game spots for outdoors and inside, tennis courts, exercise room--weights and machines--and swimming pool with cabana services. There are lots of charming wildlife, like quail and bunnies, on the grounds. The service is incredible. Great for romantic getaways, family stays, or especially for a relaxing, recharging experience. Excellent food in dining room, at swimming pool area and informal dining room. Located near everything in downtown Tucson; also easy access to local recreation sites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

No other hotel in Tucson compares to The Arizona Inn. I discovered this hidden gem quite by accident about twenty years ago when I followed a recommendation to have dinner there. Dinner in their dining room of understated elegance is wonderful, but staying in this oasis of luxury is even better. There are very few stylish resort hotels like this left anywhere. It is amazing that it has been kept so perfectly, preserving the grace and charm of an earlier era. At the very least, treat yourself to a leisurely lunch on their terrace and stroll through the acres of well-groomed gardens. I feel that the rooms are beautifully decorated and not overpriced for what they offer in terms of comfort and privacy. This hotel deserves its five stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have close family in Tucson, and we have just visited the Arizona Inn for perhaps the eighth time. We have stayed in every level of accommodation it offers, including one of their private homes, and we are always impressed by the consistency of this understated, elegant and intimate property. This is a place that makes you feel welcome and warm, even in the deep chill of a Tucson December.

The property itself is lovely. Beautifully maintained. The pool is one of the prettiest in the country, as are the gardens and tennis courts. Not a blade of grass out of place, and the roses are as big as melons. The property offers absolute privacy. Rarely do you see other guests, even when the hotel is full. The villa-like rooms are spaced for quiet and relaxation..

The rooms themselves are enormous. Our room on our most recent trip, number 246, had a huge bathroom, two large rooms, two flat screen tv's, two private patios, a wet bar and plenty of closet space. These rooms are beautifully decorated...and not in a Ritz London way. This is the desert, and this is Tucson. But the rooms are furnished as though you were visiting the home of a very affluent relative in the 1940s. Comfortable and classic...not worn at all...easy feeling.

And then there are the other amenities. From the moment you arrive, you feel well cared for. Simple, old-fashioned service is the priority here. We stepped out of the rental car into the capable hands of the valets, who gave us bottles of ice water to take into reception while they parked our car in a convenient, free lot across the street. We were whisked to our nearby suite, where we found ice already in the ice bucket, wireless Internet up and running, Starbucks coffee in the coffee maker, a working gas fireplace, and really good books on the shelves. Housekeeping provided a friendly turn-down service each night, with clean towels, chocolates and bottled water. The place was spic and span, and the bed was incredibly comfortable, with an eiderdown comforter, down pillows, and those crisp hotel sheets we all love. Above all, it was quiet.

Hotel management makes a stab at guessing which paper you'd like, depending on where you are from; we had The New York Times on our doorstep each morning, but we also saw the local, Atlanta and LA papers, as well as the Journal. We took advantage of the small but complete fitness center, the pool area and the library, where we enjoyed complimentary afternoon tea in front of the warm fire burning in the wood-burning fireplace. We took our breakfast in the pool area, where we had Tucson-style eggs, salsa and chorizo sausage with refried beans in front of yet another crackling fire...a most welcome warmth considering the downright cold morning. A light dinner in the bar was lovely, with live piano music and delicious food and wines. I have read other Trip Advisor reviews that complain about the food...we are New Yorkers who are a bit spoiled about what we eat, and we find that the Arizona Inn food is perfectly good. There was also fresh coffee available in the library when we checked out at 5:30 am this morning. How thoughtful.

The Inn, as locals call it, is a real jewel in Tucson, and we would never dream of staying anywhere else. It is also well located, near the University, the Medical Center and plenty of shopping. But what is its secret? Well, I believe it is privately run...I think it is still in the same family that founded it back in the 30s or 40s. If so, they have got it absolutely right. I am worried that it will be one day be sold to some generic hotel chain by a new generation of hotel-owner descendants who would rather be software gurus than hoteliers. There are too few places like this one in America today. It's worth a special trip...even if you cannot think of another reason to visit this town, make the trip, if just to stay at the Arizona Inn. A place this special just can't last forever...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#21 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.