We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, Comfort, Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arizona Inn to your Saves list
Arizona Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“History, Comfort, Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Arizona Inn has been family run since it was built in the late 1920s. Isabella Greenway supervised original construction and operation, in part to enhance the market for furniture made by disabled veterans under her sponsorship. The setting is amazing--a couple blocks from the University of Arizona, but landscaped for privacy and calm. Each room provides for "family" style privacy with an enclosed patio (except for second floor). Available are fire places and suites, but all rooms furnished with mostly original furniture and lots of books. Main areas include a library, game spots for outdoors and inside, tennis courts, exercise room--weights and machines--and swimming pool with cabana services. There are lots of charming wildlife, like quail and bunnies, on the grounds. The service is incredible. Great for romantic getaways, family stays, or especially for a relaxing, recharging experience. Excellent food in dining room, at swimming pool area and informal dining room. Located near everything in downtown Tucson; also easy access to local recreation sites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    60
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
71
151
23
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

No other hotel in Tucson compares to The Arizona Inn. I discovered this hidden gem quite by accident about twenty years ago when I followed a recommendation to have dinner there. Dinner in their dining room of understated elegance is wonderful, but staying in this oasis of luxury is even better. There are very few stylish resort hotels like this left anywhere. It is amazing that it has been kept so perfectly, preserving the grace and charm of an earlier era. At the very least, treat yourself to a leisurely lunch on their terrace and stroll through the acres of well-groomed gardens. I feel that the rooms are beautifully decorated and not overpriced for what they offer in terms of comfort and privacy. This hotel deserves its five stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have close family in Tucson, and we have just visited the Arizona Inn for perhaps the eighth time. We have stayed in every level of accommodation it offers, including one of their private homes, and we are always impressed by the consistency of this understated, elegant and intimate property. This is a place that makes you feel welcome and warm, even in the deep chill of a Tucson December.

The property itself is lovely. Beautifully maintained. The pool is one of the prettiest in the country, as are the gardens and tennis courts. Not a blade of grass out of place, and the roses are as big as melons. The property offers absolute privacy. Rarely do you see other guests, even when the hotel is full. The villa-like rooms are spaced for quiet and relaxation..

The rooms themselves are enormous. Our room on our most recent trip, number 246, had a huge bathroom, two large rooms, two flat screen tv's, two private patios, a wet bar and plenty of closet space. These rooms are beautifully decorated...and not in a Ritz London way. This is the desert, and this is Tucson. But the rooms are furnished as though you were visiting the home of a very affluent relative in the 1940s. Comfortable and classic...not worn at all...easy feeling.

And then there are the other amenities. From the moment you arrive, you feel well cared for. Simple, old-fashioned service is the priority here. We stepped out of the rental car into the capable hands of the valets, who gave us bottles of ice water to take into reception while they parked our car in a convenient, free lot across the street. We were whisked to our nearby suite, where we found ice already in the ice bucket, wireless Internet up and running, Starbucks coffee in the coffee maker, a working gas fireplace, and really good books on the shelves. Housekeeping provided a friendly turn-down service each night, with clean towels, chocolates and bottled water. The place was spic and span, and the bed was incredibly comfortable, with an eiderdown comforter, down pillows, and those crisp hotel sheets we all love. Above all, it was quiet.

Hotel management makes a stab at guessing which paper you'd like, depending on where you are from; we had The New York Times on our doorstep each morning, but we also saw the local, Atlanta and LA papers, as well as the Journal. We took advantage of the small but complete fitness center, the pool area and the library, where we enjoyed complimentary afternoon tea in front of the warm fire burning in the wood-burning fireplace. We took our breakfast in the pool area, where we had Tucson-style eggs, salsa and chorizo sausage with refried beans in front of yet another crackling fire...a most welcome warmth considering the downright cold morning. A light dinner in the bar was lovely, with live piano music and delicious food and wines. I have read other Trip Advisor reviews that complain about the food...we are New Yorkers who are a bit spoiled about what we eat, and we find that the Arizona Inn food is perfectly good. There was also fresh coffee available in the library when we checked out at 5:30 am this morning. How thoughtful.

The Inn, as locals call it, is a real jewel in Tucson, and we would never dream of staying anywhere else. It is also well located, near the University, the Medical Center and plenty of shopping. But what is its secret? Well, I believe it is privately run...I think it is still in the same family that founded it back in the 30s or 40s. If so, they have got it absolutely right. I am worried that it will be one day be sold to some generic hotel chain by a new generation of hotel-owner descendants who would rather be software gurus than hoteliers. There are too few places like this one in America today. It's worth a special trip...even if you cannot think of another reason to visit this town, make the trip, if just to stay at the Arizona Inn. A place this special just can't last forever...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not cheap, but worth it.. Set in 14 acres of lovely grounds the Arizona Inn staff will park your car and carry your bags - real old style service.
Super pool and changing rooms and we had a lovely room with its own patio.
One unhappy note which the hotel claims is due to the Arizona licensing laws is that residents cannot pay corkage and bring their own wine into the restaurant.
The dinner was a little pretentious with lots of "cheffy" items, but the flavours did not match either the presentation or the price. Happily the breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the classiest hotel in Tucson. The cabana style rooms, and old-fashion style decor, the history, makes this a hotel a classy stay. The restaurant is wonderful, the outside settings including pool area is gorgeous, and the fact is there is a reason the prices don't change much at this hotel. The staff is great, and makes quick changes if something is wrong. This hotel is perfectly placed in Tucson and you would have no idea it was even there unless someone told you about it.

Room Tip: Tryout their Dessert Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
704 helpful votes 704 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Have you been to The Pink Palace of The Pacific...AKA...The Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Hawaii? If you have, be prepared to have flashbacks from this desert gem. This is a place one really does not want to leave the grounds. And, alot of folks didn't.

The Arizona Inn occupies several blocks in an older residental area of Tucson. Check-in was easy. We asked the bellman if we could see the room before we brought all our things in. He said sure. We walked thru the pretty courtyard and immediatly, The Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Hawaii came to our minds. The same pretty, pink stucco building with the same color blue trim. In Hawaii, there is the ocean...here, there is the desert. The grounds were really beautiful and lovingly maintained. Cacti gardens everywhere. Croquet and ping pong were set up in one area of the courtyard. Our room was private and very nice size. The furnishings, carpet, drapes/bedspread were older but in clean condition. Bathroom was very nice size with white tile all around and a small working window. How nice is that! Brought all are items in and off we went to have a cocktail on the outside terrace of The Audoban Bar. Parking is free across the street in a lot. They say it has security there though we never saw anyone in the lot.

Cocktails were very good though a bit high. Service was wonderful our entire stay. In The Audoban bar, they have nightly music(piano) from about 6:30Pm till about 10PM. You can have drinks and they have a full lunch and dinner menu. The food was not that good at any of the restaurants...I cannot recommend the food. They serve afternoon tea which was nice since they had put up their large Christmas tree in the room. Small gift shop.

The pool is old style and is actually a "swimming" pool. Heated water. Most of the lounges were on grass, somthing we are not that crazy about. They brought out cold lemon ice water right away. You can have breakfast/lunch/drinks out on the small terrace...there is also an inside dining room there. The Main Dinng Room is very pretty but again, I cannot recommend any of their food. Tucson has alot of good restaurants and many are nearby.

The morning we were checking out, we heard a lot of noise and we we're surprised, as the entire time up to then, it was very peaceful. New people had checked in a room backed up to ours. They had all the windows open and we're SO loud. It amazes me how some people have no consideration for anyone else and only think about themselves. We are in a hotel folks and most folks came to relax. No matter how nice a place is, people like that, are there.

We had a very nice time at The Arizona Inn and are glad we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We traveled to Tucson for the Thanksgiving holiday (Tues to Sunday). For as busy as the place was the service was perfect. They got a few things wrong but immediately took care of them when mentioned. Thanksgiving dinner at the Inn was really good. They were spot on on service for the four course meal. Kept up with a full dining room and the four course meal.
Pool was lovely too again. Breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a private patio, we sure liked our suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#7 Family Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.