We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated luxury in a quiet neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arizona Inn to your Saves list
Arizona Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sophisticated luxury in a quiet neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Movie stars stayed here in the golden age of Hollywood, and one can see why. One is treated like a star - for example, during a 7 am lap swim in the wonderfully heated pool, I was offered a glass of water with lemon - a great way to end the exercise. Rooms are arranged in numerous casitas around the walled compound with meticulously landscaped grounds. The restaurant is a favorite gathering place for locals celebrating special events; the fitness center is well equipped. Each room has a sense of privacy with hedges and walls creating one's own outdoor space. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    55
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
70
141
20
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The Arizona Inn is a rare beauty, an enclosed paradise from another era. The flora is magnificent. The rooms are an excellent blend of old charm and contemporary utility. The service is always as if everyone is blessed to be working there, i.e., could not be better. The restaurant is so fine that one might never leave this oasis in the middle of Tucson.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I was at a Birthday celebration for my mother-in-law on Saturday, Nov. 26th and my 87 year old wheelchair bound aunt also attended, but needed to get back to her nursing home. I asked the front desk to alert us as soon as the van for transporting her arrived, The front desk did send a bellman to our banquet room, but the catering staff did not tell us because "we were cutting the cake". The driver for the ride left. When I called a little while latter to the transportation service, they told me they had been there, but left, of course, after no one showed up for the ride. They could not send another van for 2 hours, and my aunt, who is not able to sit up for long periods of time, was in a great deal of pain.

Anyone can make a mistake, so I called the managers of Arizona Inn to complain and ask that they change their procedures, they were very defensive and told me that the fault was mine for not alerting the catering staff. And furthermore, since I was not the one paying for the party (my brother in law was), they would only communicate further with him about this.

So, the initial issue was horrible, but the attitude of the management afterwards was also very distressing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Beautifly maintained facillity for a hotel with history. Parking is easy and free as is the internet. Breakfast for quality, service and portion size is the best we have ever had. Only irritant was the gate, it requires a key swipe to get out. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a great, very unique place. Has a great, old Southwest feel but is clean, modern and beautiful.

Great bar with real, professional bartenders that are a throw-back to a more gracious age. Great food in the restaurant.

Love this place and will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here for the first time in August this year for 6 nights, absolutely charming.
The grounds are beautiful, lovely pool with lounge chairs on the grass. You can barely get yourself situated and they are bringing over ice water with lemon.
Loved the restaurants, the menu, the food was perfect. I felt very pampered, greeted by all employees, and each morning on my way out they made sure I had cold bottled water for the road. It is like an the Sun Valley lodge in terms of historic value, and a piano player each night in the bar. The entire place is clean, and nicely decorated. Coffee service in the fantastic library each morning. And room service if you want it.

Room Tip: I liked my room on the Elm Street side, quiet and close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We spent the weekend at this classic old hotel and had the best experience that I can ever remember. We travel a great deal and have enjoyed many hotels all over the world and this one ranks number one in our minds. Everything is done to perfection. When my travels bring me back to Tucson, it will be the only place that I will stay. It was so refreshing to find the level of service that the Arizona Inn brings to it's customers.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a one bedroom in the rear of the property near the pool with its own private ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#9 Family Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.