We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arizona Inn to your Saves list
Arizona Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Relaxing, charming, historic property, beautiful grounds and excellent retaurant. this is a not to miss place to stay when visting Tucson. Central location by Univ. of Az.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    68
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
81
167
25
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

After 9 days of driving around Arizona we were looking forward to 5 days of completely doing nothing at the Arizona Inn. We were delighted with the hotel. We had a suite, which meant that we had a lovely sunny terrace to relax in, as well as the other spots in the hotel. This includes the pool area, library for coffee or the bar area. The staff were extremely well trained and the service was excellent. We had a bed and breakfast package which was good value. The hotel is extremely well cared for, with lovely gardens. It is designed to allow a visitor to stay there and just chill out. And best of all it is extremely relaxed and laid it back. Perfect spot for complete relaxation.

Room Tip: Room 133 was an excellent suite with its own terrace. However there is some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel is more of a little oasis than a hotel in the middle of Tucson, trees, great flowers, ping pong in the garden, huge pool, mexican tiles, colorful fountains...impressive history and the preferred hotel of movie stars in the 30 and 40s filming western movies at the Tucson studios. The magenta colored prickly pear margaritas are highly recommended as is the afternoon tea. The Sunday brunch in the main dining room is wonderful. Small meals are served in the Audubon bar, the Vichysoisse served on ice is creamy and refreshing. Great place, a wonderful get awy for Tucsonians and guests alike.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
683 reviews 683 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
1,018 helpful votes 1,018 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a charming property that has been updated over the years but still maintains the old southwest charm of a historic Arizona inn.

The packages to be able to enjoy meals is well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The best part of this resort is how it transports you into the past. Unlike many older resorts, it is extremely well maintained and retains all the class it had from the beginning. Older historical resorts such as this may not appeal to everyone, but we found it captivating and unique.

The interior furnishings are high quality period pieces and the rooms are large and comfy. There are several activities available on the premises - we enjoyed using the clay tennis courts, which are rare in the desert.

The downside is that it's a resort, so you have the inflated prices for food and drink. The food we had was fine, not great, so if we were staying longer we would probably venture out periodically to find more variety. The resort is very close to the University of Arizona, so there are other dining options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I recently returned from a business trip and stayed at the Arizona Inn. The facilities were great, the staff was very attentive to some pressing requests I had for work, and my group enjoyed a great meal in the hotel's restaurant. I've stayed at the Arizona Inn before for pleasure and it's a great place for a relaxing personal stay (lunch at poolside can't be beat) or an important business function. I give it my highest rating and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I am staying at the Arizona Inn as we speak and was very concerned when I read the other trip reports particularly because we were traveling from Australia. To my surprise this place is old world but very good the rooms are large and the service superb. The pool is a haven in the heat and pool staff are very accommodating. This is true old fashioned service which most people appreciate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#12 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.