We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn
204 South Scott Avenue, Downtown Tucson, Tucson, AZ 85701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
“First Time B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was our first time ever staying at a B&B. Very nice, clean and unique property. Susan and Glenn were very friendly and eager to engage in conversation. Very special gourmet breakfast was served with excellent coffee blend. Our hosts recommended a wonderful Spanish Restaurant only two blocks away where we had a superb meal. We were in Tucson to see a concert which was only two blocks away from the house. Centrally located in Old Town Tucson with close access to the Old Town walking tour. A great place for our first experience at a B & B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaliz, Innkeepers at Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. We are so pleased you selected our Inn for your first B&B experience. The central downtown location does provide our guests with convenience and access to a variety of fine restaurants and attractions. Also being only a five minute walk from the Music Hall allowed you to walk to your concert and leave your vehicle with us.

We do hope to see you again and if we are ever in the Edmonton area we will give you a shout!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
149
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I needed to stay 2 nights in Tucson for business. This place was amazing. Beautiful, quiet rooms; wonderful innkeepers (Glenn & Susie); delicious breakfasts; great amenities (quiet pool and hot tub, plus business amenities like wireless and printing); and a short walk to downtown. I hope I can stay there next time business takes me to Tucson.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaliz, Innkeepers at Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Alice,

Susan and I certainly enjoyed having you stay with us during your short stay in Tucson. We were also pleased you could join us for breakfast in our kitchen while Susan prepared your meal. Who wants to eat alone :)

We do hope business will bring you back to Tucson and The Liz. If not, coming for pleasure is not a bad thing!!

Susan and Glenn Miesch
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I found this B&B online and had my mother check out the room since my future husband and I were staying here for our wedding night. The Liz was close to the Tucson Museum of Art, where we had our wedding, and to downtown Tucson, where many of our guests were staying. The location worked well for us.

When I arrived with my sister and friends in tow from the beauty salon, the inn keepers greeted us and made us feel right at home. They were wonderful! They let my family and friends get ready in the room the day of the wedding and were incredibly accommodating. We couldn't have asked for a better experience as our first night as husband and wife. The breakfast the next day, however, topped it all. Susan out did herself with a three course meal, which we could smell being prepared the afternoon before, and we felt satisfied and pampered. Not only was the room wonderful and the breakfast scrumptious, but both Susan and Glenn were great conversationalists and interesting people. We highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great Tucson accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaliz, Innkeepers at Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Erin and Nathan,

We can't thank you enough for such a positive review on your most memorable weekend. We were honored to host and serve you. Our objective is always to exceed our guest expectations and to know you will have fond memories of your stay is very gratifying.

We pray your future will be a blessed one and next time you come back to Tucson, we will have a suite ready for you!!!

Susan and Glenn Miesch
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

In walking distance from downtown. Surrounded by great places to eat. The couple running this B&B are welcoming and a perfect fit. Breakfast was excellent and a cozy, quaint stay. Rooms are large and pool and jacuzzi area is excellent. We had an absolute blast. We will be back for sure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaliz, Innkeepers at Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our great location and enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope you will return soon and allow us to create another memorable experience for you and your husband.

Susan and Glenn Miesch
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Twice each year we travel to Tucson to enjoy some of it's great attractions and events. Though we like to experience other hotels and B&B's we've found that there is simply no other accommodation that provides us with such enjoyment (and pampering) as Royal Elizabeth. Susan and Glenn (innkeepers) make you feel so comfortable and welcomed that, from the moment you walk in, you have a feel of being home with friends and family. Located within easy walking distance to the vibrant downtown we greatly enjoyed our strolls to and from the many pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaliz, Innkeepers at Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Your review gives Susan and me goosebumps and we are so pleased you had a memorable experience while staying at The Liz. Our main goal is to make guests feel comfortable and provide them the environment to enjoy every moment of their experience.

We are confident we will see you again and next time, we will take a stroll with you and stop at one of the many fine dining establishments within walking distance from our Inn!

Susan and Glenn Miesch
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

On a business trip to Tucson, I was booked by colleagues into the Royal Elizabeth. It could not have been a better choice. I had a beautiful (and very large room) with an extremely comfortable bed, spacious bath, fireplace, and lovely furnishings. I arrived later in the evening and Glenn, one of the innkeepers, met me at the gate and got my settled in. Susan, the other innkeeper, made a spectacular breakfast in the morning, starting with a squash soup and then followed by a beautiful plated breakfast. It was more like dinner than breakfast and incredibly delicious. The central area of what I believe is a four-bedroom inn is lovely, and is in keeping with its historic past in terms of furnishings and decor, though not at all stuffy. In fact, quite the contrary it is very comfortable.

Though I unfortunately was booked solid for work during my short day in Tucson, I did get out for an early run before breakfast, which Glenn helped me map, using a "green line" painted on the sidewalks that takes you around parts of Tucson including many areas of beautiful architecture and buildings.

I highly, highly recommend this B and B on your trip to Tucson, whether business or pleasure. It is a welcome antidote to the usual hotel, and is as conveniently located as anything you could find. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaliz, Innkeepers at Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you Jodi for such a positive review regarding your short stay at The Liz. Also thanks for the photo. Yes, our six suite Inn is perfectly located downtown and within easy walking distance of many restaurants and attractions.

We really appreciate to hear how safe and comfortable women traveling along are in our location and staying at the B&B. We do hope you will return when your schedule is not quite at hectic and you can spend some time in our pool, spa and garden oasis.

Again, your positive comments are so appreciated by both Susan and me.

Susan and Glenn Miesch
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here sadly only for one night, definitely not enough! We had a long arduous travel across the border from a ranch in Mexico and were welcomed on by Glenn and showed to our room. WOW just WOW, the room was beautiful as are the the entrance rooms and all areas of the B and B. It was the haven we hoped for and more. We eventually headed out of our back door at relaxed poolside. We had a mini happy hour with other guests and the hosts Glenn and Susan, it was such a great atmosphere and we really didn't want to shower and head out just stay and chat over some wine. We were also given great suggestions for eating out. It was a really lovely overnight break, the only downside was having to rush off to catch our flight in the morning. Glenn and Susan deserve all the praise and success they receive.
What made it even more special was the unexpected proposal I had received the night before we arrived. Royal Elizabeth was the perfect place to celebrate it! Thanks again x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaliz, Innkeepers at Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Kate, the review brought back some fond memories and especially with the six of us hanging out by the pool. One of our perks is to celebrate special occasions with our guests and you receiving a wedding proposal is right up there! We were honored to be included.

Also having guests from overseas reminds us of how blessed we are to service people from around the world. The Royal Elizabeth B&B Inn is the perfect location for our world travelers who want a taste of what downtown Tucson has to offer...without even getting back in your vehicle.

Susan and I are glad your back home safe and sound and please let us know when the wedding bells will be ringing!!!! The Liz would be a perfect place for your honeymoon, just saying!

Susan and Glenn Miesch
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 204 South Scott Avenue, Downtown Tucson, Tucson, AZ 85701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1870S-era adobe Victorian mansion, meticulously renovated. Quiet street in historic downtown Tucson 2 blocks from the new modern streetcar. Spacious suites with private bathrooms; period antiques; AC; free high-speed wireless, internet phone, satellite television with most channels and some business services; Outstanding two-course gourmet breakfasts! Colorful gardens, pool, spa. Leisure or business. Free off-street parking. Walk to dining, shopping, museums, performing arts. One mile from University of Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.