We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Location - Fabulous Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn
204 South Scott Avenue, Downtown Tucson, Tucson, AZ 85701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Location - Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a one-night stay at the Royal Elizabeth B&B and we have already booked our next visit - this time staying 4 nights! We cannot wait. Susan and Glen were so incredibly gracious; the room we had was delightful; and I can honestly say I have never had a better breakfast than the one Susan made this morning. This is going to become our "go to" spot in Tucson.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaliz, Innkeeper at Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Wow, our team members at the Royal Elizabeth B&B Inn are humbled by your review and can't wait to see you on your return visit. We pride ourselves on creating memorable experiences for our guests and knowing you wish to return is a tribute to our team efforts.

Thank you,
Susan and Glenn Miesch
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
122
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Royal Elizabeth B&B is in a classic, beautifully maintained and furnished Victorian-era structure, in a great location only steps away from many Old Tucson sights and many terrific restaurants. Your hosts Susan and Glenn are a delightful couple -- funny, warm, infinitely obliging, enthusiastic beyond measure -- and bring many years of hotel and resort management experience to make your stay in Tucson as memorable as possible. The Royal Elizabeth is known for truly gourmet breakfasts -- everything we had was a delicious surprise -- and you will leave the table well fortified for the day's adventures. They also have a lovely tradition of an open bar at cocktail hour -- you can BYOB or share what's there and leave a contribution to help restock the supplies. (They're delightful folks to share drinks with.) Our room was large and very well furnished. The bed was excellent, the bath small but modern, and big luxurious bathrobes and towels. We planned on staying for two nights, and stayed for 4.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaliz, Innkeepers at Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello Arthur and Susan,

Thank you for your positive review. Susan and I really enjoyed meeting you both and it was an honor to have you as our guests. We do hope you will one day return to Tucson and make our day by staying with us again.

Susan and Glenn Miesch
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked into the Liz by chance, on the recommendation of our Son In Law who is a Tusconian, and we regretted that our stay was only four days, as we had pre booked into the Arizona Inn. Loved the Liz, it's atmosphere, it's proximity to downtown, and course the delightful Jake who went out of his way to make sure that our stay was as pleasant as he could possibly make it! Jake's local knowledge was very helpful also. The décor of the whole property was just delightful, and we would not hesitate to not only recommend this venue but will stay here again next time we visit from Australia. Just loved it, don't miss out on experiencing one of Tucson's gems.

Room Tip: Make sure you book ahead, and call Jake ahead, he was delightfully accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Liz annually for the last 6 years for el Tour de Tucson, and although it was exceptional the first time, it has gotten better with each stay. The accommodations are gorgeous, spacious, and although very elegant also extremely comfortable and inviting. The breakfast is always amazing, and it is great to truly feel at home in all of the common areas as well as in your own room. The innkeeper Jake, and the owners BJ and Eric are all friendly and welcoming, as though you are their personal guests or family members, and not just paying customers. Jake is a font of knowledge regarding local restaurants, bars, music, clubs, events, and activities, as well as an exceptional chef and host. We have also always enjoyed the other guests we have met at the Liz, and look forward to meeting very interesting people every time we go. Can't wait to go back next year and have another amazing experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different and wonderful, the pictures on the website are great representations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoita, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Enjoyed the freedom to have dinner and wine, enjoy a concert at the Fox Theater and a comfortable bed all within walking distance. The Liz rooms are all beautiful, the entire house is an interesting landmark. Absolutely loved the breakfast. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Loved the bed and breakfast experience. In town for a concert at Rialto theater. It was in within walking distance which was great. Jake the innkeeper provided fabulous breakfasts and accommodated our vegetarian preferences. We also enjoyed the Victorian room including the creaky floors. We were fortunate to be the only guests for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed. Jake made the experience even better with his friendly conversation and knowledge of the Tucson area. He really is a keeper. No pun intended.

Room Tip: enjoyed the Nicole Elizabeth room to the back of residence close to kitchen, The Jacuzzi tub was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013


Our families on both sides of our union came to Tucson for a family reunion. Our house cannot accommodate everyone and there's not a decent resort in the downtown area where we live. We heard about this bed and breakfast through my next door neighbor. We decided to go past it and take a look. The caretaker Jake happened to be outside and invited us in for a tour. Let me just say that the pictures on their website could not compare to what it actually looks like in person. We knew in an instant that our families would love it. And indeed they did. The B&B is nestled smack in the middle of the historic Armory Park Neighborhood, Very Historic Barrio Tucson, and Congress Street. Arizona Theatre Company is only two doors down. Our families took advantage of the professional live theatre at ATC and coincidentally was invited to a cast party from a theatre worker we all met and conversed with during intermission. The Fox Theatre, Rialto Theatre, Tucson Convention Center and a host of other venues are less than a five minute walk. Touristy 4Th Avenue is only a 5-10 minute walk. Our family, being religiously diverse, was excited to learn that an older historic synagogue was just up the street and one of the southwest's most historic Catholic cathedrals was just across the street in back of the Royal Elizabethan B&B.

The decor of the rooms were set in the period of early 1900's. Televisions were hidden in armoires as to not distract you from the ambiance of yesteryear. The rooms are large with their own over the top restrooms. Most have their own living room or sitting areas. The house has incredible history which you'll learn about from the caretaker over breakfast.

While our family and my partner and I was staying there, we all met another couple from Manchester, England who was enjoying their 3rd trip to the southwest, each time staying at the Royal Elizabethan. The owners, Eric and BJ, who we all called Ken and Barbie, gave our parents a wonderful tour of the property and a quick walking tour of the surrounding neighborhood.

There is a wonderful courtyard with a swimming pool and sunbathing area which our family from back east loved. They all returned home with a Tucson Tan that they got in October! Imagine that.

The food was not what all of us expected. I have never enjoyed such a gourmet breakfast. What a presentation. Everything was delicious.

I highly recommend this wonderful downtown Tucson gem to everyone visiting from out of town and for those in Tucson looking for a wonderful Staycation.

My partner and I scored big points with our overly "picky" family. They loved every minute of their stay and so did we.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 204 South Scott Avenue, Downtown Tucson, Tucson, AZ 85701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1870S-era adobe Victorian mansion, meticulously renovated. Quiet street in historic downtown Tucson 2 blocks from the new modern streetcar. Spacious suites with private bathrooms; period antiques; AC; free high-speed wireless, internet phone, satellite television with most channels and some business services; Outstanding two-course gourmet breakfasts! Colorful gardens, pool, spa. Leisure or business. Free off-street parking. Walk to dining, shopping, museums, performing arts. One mile from University of Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.