We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11770 East Rambling Trail, Tucson, AZ 85747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Tucson B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the private building with an own living-room, kitchen and outside hot tube.
Very kind staff, with lot of info for your stay. Rosemary is a great cook and makes the breakfast to something special. One of our happiest stays on our tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
108
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I try to get away to Northern Arizona at least twice a year. This time our favorite accommodations were all booked. I'm so glad, otherwise we would not have stayed at Hacienda Del Desierto. We stayed two nights in the Galleria room. The setting was perfect! There is a sitting room adjacent to the bedroom with a large window overlooking a pond and a very large sahuaro. We enjoyed the breakfasts each morning and the company. David and Rosemary were great hosts and very helpful in suggesting activities to do in the Tucson area. We will definitely stay at this B&B next time we are in Tucson.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at the Hacienda del Desierto for two nights on my recent, first visit to the Tucson area, and I have to say I enjoyed every minute I was there. The Hacienda and grounds are beautiful, with lovely, comfortable and clean rooms. I stayed in the Patio suite, and fell asleep each night to the sound of the gurgling fountain outside the door in the courtyard. It's location is far enough back off any main roads to make you feel like you are in an oasis in the desert, but convenient enough to area attractions, like the Mission, Saguaro National Park, Colossal Cave Mt, Sonoita, historic Tucson, Air and Space Museum, etc. The owners Rosemary and David are warm and hospitable, with great knowledge of the area and suggestions for things to see and do, and served up a delicious breakfast each morning! I won't hesitate to recommend this B&B to friends, and hope that I'll be able to return soon to continue my explorations of this area of Arizona. Maybe next time I'll come with friends and try the Casita!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This BnB is next to the Saguaro NP East and surrounded by the sonora desert. You will feel at home in nice, clean and spacious rooms. A good breakfast and the friendly and helpful owners make the stay perfect for those you enjoy nature and want to relax. We have been there for four nights and in the end it seemed us too short. We want to return to Hacienda del Desierto when in Tucson again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hacienda for two nights in early May. Breakfasts are simple but very nice; each morning the starting fruit dish was incredible. The grounds are beautiful, with a nice guided nature trail. It's close to Saguaro National Park, but a half hour drive to almost anything else. Although that seems true most of Tuscon as it is quite sprawling. All in all a very relaxing semi-secluded place that provides excellent value. Wi-fi was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place is great. A wonderful property. Full value and top marks.

The owners David & Rosemary were incredibly friendly and had lots of helpful advice depending on what you wanted to visit nearby. The food in the morning was great. It was very relaxing, and secluded, and yet if you needed to use the phone or computer or wanted a DVD to watch you had all the facilities. The wifi worked just fine.

The property is on a beautiful acreage and is very quiet. We wanted somewhere close to Saguaro park, and you could not have picked a better spot. The property is very quaint and has a beautiful patio and courtyard. There are several fountains and you're surrounded by the desert. Birds and bunnies and javelina are everywhere. The gardens and cacti are just beautiful.

There are a couple of restaurants nearby that were fabulous too: Saguaro Corners and The Settlement. And you're a 5 minute drive to any shops you may need. The entrance to Saguaro Park is a couple minute drive and we went several times to the park.

Each of the rooms in the B&B have slightly different facilities, some with patio and bbq, some without. But it's easy to have dinner in your room at the end of the day no matter which room you have.

I would stay here again without worry and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Hacienda del Desierto is a wonderful place to enjoy the beauty of the Sonoran Desert. Located only minutes from the Saguaro National Park East you can enjoy a wonderful breakfast and then have all day to explore. If you prefer a more leisurely pace, you can explore around the hacienda which is situated on 20+ acres. The rooms are very comfortable and ours looked out at small pool and bird feeders which attracted lots of the local bird life,especially the Gambrel Quail. David and Rosemary, the hosts, are very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11770 East Rambling Trail, Tucson, AZ 85747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning romantic Spanish hacienda in a peaceful, desert setting on 16 acres next to Saguaro National Park East. Birding, hiking on location or nearby. Four luxury accommodations, three with kitchenettes. Spend evenings stargazing in one of our two outdoor hydrotherapy spas. Nature trail on property. Selected by Phoenix Magazine as “One of Arizona’s 23 Best Bed & Breakfasts”. Voted by inngoers as for “Most Private”, “Best Interior Design & Décor”, and “Best Wildlife Viewing”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.