We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I ever visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
12851 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 53 Tucson B&B and Inns
Scottsdale Az
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place I ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to the Inn on Memorial day weekend 2013 and it was like heaven on earth. If you are looking for a wonderful quiet time with good food and wonderful people you have to visit the Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast. I have been to quite a few places in and out of the country, but even though this was a very short visit, this one was the best. John and Steffi make you very welcome, but also respect your privacy. The place is very romantic and John is a great cook!!!
The only drawback was we had to leave.
Heidi and Mark

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The innkeepers/owners of this B&B are quite delightful and friendly. They provide the seclusion desired, but the services of a bed and breakfast that fit specific needs. The property is very beautiful and with only several rooms can be enjoyed by guests with out worrying about bumping into others or over talkative innkeepers. The communication can be kept private by the friendly notes posted out side your doors to ensure breakfast requests are met or if a bill needs to be paid before departure. The Spud Rock room has a very large bath area and comfy living space. I enjoyed the ability to roam freely to the pool, our vehicle, or an adjacent area with picnic tables from the sliding doors exit/entry way. Lots of humming birds were visible daily and the snacks and sodas are a great perk to a stay at this B&B.
Although we were staying mostly for work, this abode made it feel like vacation and I am sure we'd stay again if we were to pass through on pleasure.

Room Tip: Spud rock has a nice secluded patio and a saguaro!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Desert Trails is in a fantastic location. John's breakfasts were spectacular. The desert scenery is marvellous and it's a short hike to Saguaro Park East. This was the first B&B we had stayed in in the States and it was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Desert Trails has a wonderful location, with the Sonoran Desert in the front yard, and the Tanque Verde riparian corridor in the back yard. Literally! The setting is idyllic, relaxing and beautiful. The proprietors John and Steffi are hospitality personified. They are around as much or as little as you like, and are wealth of fascinating information about the desert, Tucson, and beyond. Breakfasts are healthy and delicious--a foodie's delight.

Be aware that although it's a 15-minute drive to town for just any food, it's really more like 30 minutes plus to get to any interesting restaurants or attractions in town. On the other hand, it can be worth it if you like the desert.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This bed and breakfast exceeded my expectations. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. The Mica room, in which I stayed, had a lovely fireplace and sitting area and opened onto the patio area leading to the pool. The inn is enough outside of Tucson to be quiet and relaxing, but close enough for easy access to area attractions. Don't miss the Desert Museum. John and Steffi, the proprietors, always offered us a tremendous sense of homecoming and were a font of very useful information. The breakfasts were out of this world and it was really fun to watch the birds eating theirs as well. We were very pleased with our stay and recommend Desert Trails highly.

Room Tip: If you want privacy and extra quiet there is a cute little guest house set apart from the house that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose the Desert Trail B&B because of it's location. We wanted to hike and explore the National Park. A beautiful home in a wonderful location was clean and very comfortable. The hosts were very informative and helpful. Would definately recommend.

As other mentioned - it is a 15 minute drive to town for dinner.
No problems with pillows, extra were in the closet.
The TV was small, but not an issue for us.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our first time staying in a B & B. The main house is very nice. The hosts, John and Steffi were always helpful if we needed directions or places to eat. Breakfast was very good and well rounded. We stayed 2 nights . We stayed in the MIca room. Bed was very comfortable but they need to have better pillows as they were really flat. Nice newer carpeting and living room furniture. Cons: Bathroom really needs an update. My husband had a hard time shaving(he's 6'4") as there is only a little make-up mirror on sink. Other mirrors do not face the sink. The cable TV they have in room is only 10 inches big, off to the side at the end of the king bed. Not worth having in the room. Needs a good dusting. If in the Tucson area we would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
27.8 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#14 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
13.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
10.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12851 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85748
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the Sonoran desert from the comfort of a unique, fired-adobe territorial situated on acreage bordering Saguaro National Park East. Different delicious full breakfast everyday and complimentary snacks, fruit, and beverages. Hiking, birding, wildlife viewing and horseback riding within walking distance; dining and shopping within 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.