We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed Desert Trails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
12851 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Tucson B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed Desert Trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Desert Trails is in a fantastic location. John's breakfasts were spectacular. The desert scenery is marvellous and it's a short hike to Saguaro Park East. This was the first B&B we had stayed in in the States and it was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Desert Trails has a wonderful location, with the Sonoran Desert in the front yard, and the Tanque Verde riparian corridor in the back yard. Literally! The setting is idyllic, relaxing and beautiful. The proprietors John and Steffi are hospitality personified. They are around as much or as little as you like, and are wealth of fascinating information about the desert, Tucson, and beyond. Breakfasts are healthy and delicious--a foodie's delight.

Be aware that although it's a 15-minute drive to town for just any food, it's really more like 30 minutes plus to get to any interesting restaurants or attractions in town. On the other hand, it can be worth it if you like the desert.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This bed and breakfast exceeded my expectations. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. The Mica room, in which I stayed, had a lovely fireplace and sitting area and opened onto the patio area leading to the pool. The inn is enough outside of Tucson to be quiet and relaxing, but close enough for easy access to area attractions. Don't miss the Desert Museum. John and Steffi, the proprietors, always offered us a tremendous sense of homecoming and were a font of very useful information. The breakfasts were out of this world and it was really fun to watch the birds eating theirs as well. We were very pleased with our stay and recommend Desert Trails highly.

Room Tip: If you want privacy and extra quiet there is a cute little guest house set apart from the house that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose the Desert Trail B&B because of it's location. We wanted to hike and explore the National Park. A beautiful home in a wonderful location was clean and very comfortable. The hosts were very informative and helpful. Would definately recommend.

As other mentioned - it is a 15 minute drive to town for dinner.
No problems with pillows, extra were in the closet.
The TV was small, but not an issue for us.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our first time staying in a B & B. The main house is very nice. The hosts, John and Steffi were always helpful if we needed directions or places to eat. Breakfast was very good and well rounded. We stayed 2 nights . We stayed in the MIca room. Bed was very comfortable but they need to have better pillows as they were really flat. Nice newer carpeting and living room furniture. Cons: Bathroom really needs an update. My husband had a hard time shaving(he's 6'4") as there is only a little make-up mirror on sink. Other mirrors do not face the sink. The cable TV they have in room is only 10 inches big, off to the side at the end of the king bed. Not worth having in the room. Needs a good dusting. If in the Tucson area we would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

John Higgins is a mine of information about things to do in the Tucson area.
We just returned form our second stay there and intend to go back again.
The room (same one both times) was comfortable and the breakfasts fabulous.
Even before you set out in the morning you are surrounded by a beautiful view and a
back yard full of birds, with more in the front yard. This is one of the best B&B's that we know.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from Tucson, Arizona where we stayed six nights at Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast. What a lovely relaxing stay we had!! The room and bathroom were very comfortable, spacious and clean. The breakfasts were prepared by John, one of the owners and I kept asking him if he was sure he had not been to cooking school because we had a gourmet breakfast every single morning and each day he presented a different menu. The lovely home sits in a very quiet space with lots of birds frequenting the bay window in the breakfast room which looks out over the pool area. The guest refrigerator was well stocked with bottles of water and there were unlimited amounts of fruit and snacks available round the clock in the breakfast room. John graciously provided us with directions and maps to get around in Tucson as we were there for the purpose of visiting the annual rock and gem shows. I highly recommend anyone traveling in the area of Tucson to stay at Desert Trails. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12851 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85748
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the Sonoran desert from the comfort of a unique, fired-adobe territorial situated on acreage bordering Saguaro National Park East. Different delicious full breakfast everyday and complimentary snacks, fruit, and beverages. Hiking, birding, wildlife viewing and horseback riding within walking distance; dining and shopping within 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.