We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Diamond Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Diamond Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Desert Diamond Casino Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7350 S. Nogales Highway, Tucson, AZ 85706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Clean room, and I'm the kind looking in the corners to see if there is built up grime. Didn't like the pillows, there was 5 on the bed and they were all the same. Ate at the steakhouse both nights we were there. Delicious food and friendly wait staff. Played bingo twice and won both times. The male staff working the bingo room were much friendlier than the female staff working the bingo room. Had some luck on the slots and all bartenders were friendly. No luck on the tables but the dealers were all friendly. I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN AND WOULD RECOMMEND TO FAMILY AND FRIENDS.

Room Tip: If you gamble ask for a room closer to the casino. There are two sets of elevators and one is defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your submission to Tripadvisor on your recent stay at the Desert Diamond Casino & Hotel. We do enjoy reading the wonderful comments concerning the Steakhouse and the interaction with our team members. I have shared them with the rest of our team members.

I do apologize for your experience with our pillows. We work hard to find pillows that are comfortable for all of our guests. I understand getting a good night's rest is important to me when I travel. We truly value your comments as we wish to have all of our guests comfortable in our hotel.

We appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor and we look forward to serving you again the next time you travel to Tucson. On behalf our our team, we truly appreciate your business.

Warmest Regard,
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
12
50
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South East Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place was a suprise ! We arrived on a Sunday night and the prices were below the other hotel prices. We had an attendent help us unload are vehical and walk us to our room, WHICH WAS AWAY FROM THE CASINO SMOKE ! The room was clean, freash sheets. I had taken my pillow and ended up using one of the many the bed had, which ive never done. The view was facing my vehical which I didn't really have to worry about because of parking lot cameras ! The tolite was large and had IT'S OWN SEPARATE ROOM FROM THE SHOWER. The kids felt save and happy while the parents checked out the casino. Plenty of clear channels to surf.
The CONS were the air thermostate was a little off. The casino nor the competitor's offer free alcholic drinks to players like the state of LA's do, but $4 was not as bad as others.
The complementary, diverse breakfast does not offer any meat. The location is South of town so if you need something you have a small drive.

Room Tip: I sleep well in my south room without hearing any jets from the nearby airport. But if you think you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Our staff works very hard to ensure each guests experience is a memorable one. We are working with our facilities department to fix the thermostat is repaired. We continually review our operations and make decisions to enhance our guest experience. I will take your comments to our team.

Once again, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the Tucson area. On behalf of our team, we truly appreciate your business.

Katie Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is about 2 miles from the airport and provide free shuttle. The hotel entrance is totally separate from the casino far away from the noise and second-hand smoke. The casino is reachable by a long hall past the conference center. The basic room has a large king size bed, large 47'' LCD TV and free internet.

There is no room service but the Casino Grill at the far end of the casino is open all the time for Burgers or Philly cheese steaks. The Grill also have Omelet for Breakfast but do take advantage of the free continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the tower on the same side as the registration desk since it further away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for the review that you posted on Trip Advisor. We work very hard to make sure each guests stay is a memorable one. I have shared your comments with our staff and I know they take great pride in their work.

We look forward to serving you again when you travel to Tucson. We know you have a choice of where you want to stay and we hope choose the Desert Diamond Casino & Hotel.

Warmest Regards,
Katie Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked the hotel for one night, a Saturday, and as the title says, we were met with unexpected pleasures,,,,from the truly friendly front office personnel, to the staff we encountered in the halls, to those wonderful people who work the casino,,,,,everyone had a smile and was willing to be of assistance whenever we needed it,,,,,,our room on the fourth floor had views of the mountains, queensize beds with tons of pillows, great bathroom, and a wonderful breakfast,,,,,we can't wait for our next visit, to the hotel and the casino, where the slots were equal to Las Vegas in their payouts,,,,our thanks to all for a great experience,,,,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review concerning the Desert Diamond Casino & Hotel. We take pride of our property and strive to make the guest experience a memorable one.

We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Tucson area. On behalf of our team, we truly appreciate your business

Warmest Regards,
Katie Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed over night on a Thursday for a business function.
We found the rooms to be decent and clean. The only negatives: no bottled water to be found and the shower surrounds are cheap pre-fabricated and looked to be falling apart.
The steak house closes relatively early so we were forced to eat food court food. The club was dark that night so no review there. The casino bar was reasonably priced and the bartender super friendly.
I don't think any ventilation system they may have works very well as it's very smokey on the casino floor but our room was just fine.
The included continental breakfast is mostly cereal, toast and bagels but was well stocked and well serviced.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Large room,
Large bathroom,
Large Samsung flat-panel TV,
Large continental breakfast.

We stayed in a spacious room on the third floor with a tasteful southwest decor. Plenty of space to move around and nice desk and comfy computer chair to write this review. The bathroom is large with the toilet in a separate room. The shower had plenty of hot water and and awesome shower head. The room was clean and comfortable and the pillows are super comfy. Did not watch TV too much but it was nice to watch NASCAR on a large flat-panel TV. The housekeeping staff was prompt and efficient. The HVAC system worked great. The hotel has a good size fitness room.

The continental breakfast goes beyond coffee and donuts. They have a nice breakfast room with hot & cold cereal, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, hard-boiled eggs along with a selection of pastries. There are toasters for waffles and English muffins.

The staff at a hotel can make or break the lodging experience. Everybody at Desert Diamond are super friendly. I noticed that everybody says good morning and good afternoon from the front desk, to the shops all the way down to the housekeeping staff. Some of the people that provided excellent service were Alejandra at the front desk, Barbara at the gift shop and the third floor housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We take great pride in our hospitality and making sure each guests stay is memorable. I have recognized the two employees you mentioned in your review in our employee recognition program that we have on property.

Thank you again for writing a wonderful review and we look forward to having you as a guest again when you travel to Tucson. Have a wonderful week.

Warmest Regards,
Katie Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here Sept. 9 to 11 two nights. The rooms were clean the view was breath taking I really enjoyed my stay. The one person that was the friendliest was the front desk lady Michelle she help me with all i needed to know about my stay she was very cheerful. It would be sad if management did not recognized her for her "AWESOME" work. Thank you Michelle for making my stay worth while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the wondeful review. We did recognize Michelle for giving outstanding service that you received while you stayed at our hotel. Guest service is very important to us and we appreciate the input from our guests.

We look forward to having you as a guest again when you travel to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Diamond Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Diamond Casino Hotel

Address: 7350 S. Nogales Highway, Tucson, AZ 85706
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Diamond Casino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Diamond Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Diamond Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.