We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Pleasures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Diamond Casino Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Desert Diamond Casino Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7350 S. Nogales Highway, Tucson, AZ 85706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Bisbee, Arizona
1 review
“Unexpected Pleasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked the hotel for one night, a Saturday, and as the title says, we were met with unexpected pleasures,,,,from the truly friendly front office personnel, to the staff we encountered in the halls, to those wonderful people who work the casino,,,,,everyone had a smile and was willing to be of assistance whenever we needed it,,,,,,our room on the fourth floor had views of the mountains, queensize beds with tons of pillows, great bathroom, and a wonderful breakfast,,,,,we can't wait for our next visit, to the hotel and the casino, where the slots were equal to Las Vegas in their payouts,,,,our thanks to all for a great experience,,,,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review concerning the Desert Diamond Casino & Hotel. We take pride of our property and strive to make the guest experience a memorable one.

We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Tucson area. On behalf of our team, we truly appreciate your business

Warmest Regards,
Katie Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    10
    10
    2
See reviews for
9
41
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed over night on a Thursday for a business function.
We found the rooms to be decent and clean. The only negatives: no bottled water to be found and the shower surrounds are cheap pre-fabricated and looked to be falling apart.
The steak house closes relatively early so we were forced to eat food court food. The club was dark that night so no review there. The casino bar was reasonably priced and the bartender super friendly.
I don't think any ventilation system they may have works very well as it's very smokey on the casino floor but our room was just fine.
The included continental breakfast is mostly cereal, toast and bagels but was well stocked and well serviced.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Large room,
Large bathroom,
Large Samsung flat-panel TV,
Large continental breakfast.

We stayed in a spacious room on the third floor with a tasteful southwest decor. Plenty of space to move around and nice desk and comfy computer chair to write this review. The bathroom is large with the toilet in a separate room. The shower had plenty of hot water and and awesome shower head. The room was clean and comfortable and the pillows are super comfy. Did not watch TV too much but it was nice to watch NASCAR on a large flat-panel TV. The housekeeping staff was prompt and efficient. The HVAC system worked great. The hotel has a good size fitness room.

The continental breakfast goes beyond coffee and donuts. They have a nice breakfast room with hot & cold cereal, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, hard-boiled eggs along with a selection of pastries. There are toasters for waffles and English muffins.

The staff at a hotel can make or break the lodging experience. Everybody at Desert Diamond are super friendly. I noticed that everybody says good morning and good afternoon from the front desk, to the shops all the way down to the housekeeping staff. Some of the people that provided excellent service were Alejandra at the front desk, Barbara at the gift shop and the third floor housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We take great pride in our hospitality and making sure each guests stay is memorable. I have recognized the two employees you mentioned in your review in our employee recognition program that we have on property.

Thank you again for writing a wonderful review and we look forward to having you as a guest again when you travel to Tucson. Have a wonderful week.

Warmest Regards,
Katie Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here Sept. 9 to 11 two nights. The rooms were clean the view was breath taking I really enjoyed my stay. The one person that was the friendliest was the front desk lady Michelle she help me with all i needed to know about my stay she was very cheerful. It would be sad if management did not recognized her for her "AWESOME" work. Thank you Michelle for making my stay worth while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the wondeful review. We did recognize Michelle for giving outstanding service that you received while you stayed at our hotel. Guest service is very important to us and we appreciate the input from our guests.

We look forward to having you as a guest again when you travel to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sells
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay at the Desert Diamond Casino Hotel was very relaxing! It was also quite and the rooms were very clean. This is our second stay here and we are very satisfied and plan to return. It's a great place to stay even if your not a gambler!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Desert Diamond Casinoused to provide a "non-smoking" area but changed the area to smoking. They then placed some slots in their non-smoking card room but removed all sounds from the machines. Recently they removed most of the machines that were popular with players, in my opinion.. The management says that they care about all their players. I don't believe such claims as evidenced by their behavior. If you choose not to have vast amounts of cigarette, cigar and pipe smoke blown your way find another casino. Harrah's Ak-Chin Casinoin near Phoenix, provides a non-smoking area and caters to a large number of non-smoking players.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent visit to the Desert Diamond Casino & Hotel. We apologize for your experience when dealing with smoke in the casino. While we strive to provide all our guests with the outstanding and memorable experience, we do realize that there are occurrences in which we fell short of your expectations. I have taken the time to share your comments with our facilities director and to look at our options to help mitigate the smoke situation.

Once again, I appreciate your posting. Our goal is to improve our services to you. Please allow our staff another opportunity to make your next trip a remarkable one.

Warmest Regard,
Katie Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were encouraged to visit the Desert Diamond Casino and Hotel by a mailing giving us a free room, buffet and casino cash. The casino is older and the carpet is grubby - it either needs cleaned or replaced. We were pleasantly surprised to see many of the newest slot machines available. We found a real attempt was made to keep the slot areas clean by emptying the ash trays and picking up the drink cups. The cocktail waitresses were attentative and the slot attendants took care of my problem immediately. We were frustrated at the buffet when our free buffet coupons were not exactly free and only worth $10, so we had to pay the difference. The buffet was lacking and we would not eat there again, even for free. We really did not expect much from the hotel, but were amazed upon walking through the glass doors that separated the casino from the hotel. The lobby was spacious and there was a hotel bar across from registration. Our room was beautiful and overlooked the pool area. Even though the pool was small, the hot tub was large and there was a large fire pit. The room furniture was a dark walnut color with a butterscotch colored inlaid strip. There was a bed,two night stands, dresser, desk and cabinet that held a frig and safe. Ammenities included an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer and complimentary internet. Our bed was comfortabe and both the bed and bathroom linens were luxurious. The bathroom was large and had both a tub and separate shower. As nice as this room was, we were surprised that the shower was a small fiberglass enclosure. When we checked out, the gal reminded us about the complimentary contental brunch in the hotel bar. It was really more then a continental breakfast. It included various juices, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, bagels, muffins, Danish, donuts and yogurt. What a nice way to send us on the road!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Diamond Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Diamond Casino Hotel

Also Known As:
Desert Diamond Hotel Tucson
Desert Diamond Hotel
Address: 7350 S. Nogales Highway, Tucson, AZ 85706
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Diamond Casino Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Desert Diamond Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Desert Diamond Casino Hotel to your Saves list