We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Pho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ha Long Bay

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ha Long Bay
7245 E Tanque Verde, Tucson, AZ 85710-3538
520-571-1338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 1,702 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Delicious Pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I had to use that as the title - the Pho really is delicious.

We met some family members at Ha Long Bay for dinner at their suggestion. I enjoy Vietnamese food, and always look for something different. As with most restaurants like this, it is located in a small strip center and is sparsely furnished with they typical. Tables are nothing fancy but this place was well lit and open.

My wife had the vegetable Pho and I had the Beef. I truly think that she did "better", as it was delivered choked full of veggies while I had lots of broth and noodles. Yes, the vegetable came tot he table on a separate plate that you add to your Pho as you choose and yes, they were fresh. But they were somewhat limited - bean sprouts, basil and sliced jalapeños.

The broth was delicious and what pleased me most was the apparent absence of msg and high amounts of salt. Yes, there is salt in the broth and there really has to be. Thankfully, it wasn't like many places and I didn't have any of the typical swelling issues normally associated with such things.

Dinner for the four of us was right around $40, which was outstanding. No one left hungry and we were all pleased with our meals.

Go and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Take out quality declining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Only done take out. When first opened food and spice choices great.thought I would be ordering once or twice a week.It has now been a few months and I expected quality and consistency would improve. However the exact opposite has occurred. Each of the last three times, I have concluded I should stop using them.

Portion sizes and content amounts have declined more than recent increases in food costs justify in my opinion .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yum! Yum! Tasty and Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went for dinner on a weeknight, and we were so impressed with the freshness of their ingredients, and their delicious dishes, done in a nicely authentic style! David was a very good and attentive server! A real find in Tucson! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good food, Nice Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Average menu, Good tasty food, Pho broth used to be better at last location, maybe because
they are so busy. A few really good standbys like the spring rolls and noodle dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Clean! Service is not quite as good as it used to be. The food is terrific! Nice variety on the menu!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ha Long Bay also viewed

 

Been to Ha Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha Long Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.