We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room

Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room
2200 E Elm St, Tucson, AZ 85719
(520) 325-1541
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,689 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $12 - $42
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Elm Street and Campbell
Description: The Arizona Inn is an historic resort spread over 14 tranquil acres of gardens, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson. The Inn offers AAA Four Diamond Award winning dining in our Main Dining Room with cathedral-ceiling and fireplace as well as our more intimate Catlin Room with views of the gardens. The Dining Room provides legendary service in an elegant yet comfortable setting for breakfast, lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Chef Allison combines classic cuisine with seasonal ingredients and innovative techniques. The menus change with the seasons to feature the freshest ingredients. Wine Spectator has recognized the wine list with an Award of Excellence. The Audubon Bar, with live piano music nightly and patio seating, provides a perfect setting for enjoying a classic cocktail.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The starter scones and biscuits were delicious. French toast was prepared as ordered and very good. Our companions enjoyed their eggs Benedict and huevos rancheros. When I asked if the OJ was fresh squeezed, the waiter admitted it was not, but said it was from Phoenix and tasted like fresh, and he was right.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    45
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
466 reviews 466 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
495 helpful votes 495 helpful votes
“Eat Elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've dined here on holidays and regular days and have always found the food to be rather mediocre and over-priced. The dining room is lovely, though, and the service has always been very good.The only reason I have returned throughout the years is that hope springs eternal and the restaurant has been the choice of some of my visitors who have heard positive reports about the Arizona Inn. My recommendation: Check out this historic inn and its beautiful grounds and consider enjoying a drink on the patio; but avoid eating in the main dining room.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Turn-of-the-Century Elegance and Interesting Food Options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Arizona Inn is worth a visit just to walk the grounds and enjoy its history. FDR and Eleanor stayed here and the owner was her personal secretary. The library is worth a visit for it's atmosphere. But the food is mediocre and bit pricey. I recommend the cold vichyssoise, tiny BLTs and the chef's selection of small bites for dessert. The prickly pear lemonade gives a refreshing bit of Old Tucson too. They serve afternoon tea, but only for guests of the inn.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting for a special occasion dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Come for the atmosphere. The service is also quite good. I agree with other reviewers that the food did not live up to the promise of the setting. We enjoyed visiting in the library after our meal. Thank you, Arizona Inn, for taking such good care of a beautiful historic property.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A+ service & atmosphere B+ food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a gorgeous setting with impeccable service but the food should be fantastic for the price. It wasn't. My Price fixe dinner had excellent hors d'eouvres and wine but pretty ordinary beef stew "beef bourguignon". My wife's appetizer was straight out of Safeway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Inn - The Main Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.