We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Southwestern, Clothing-Optional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mira Vista Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mira Vista Resort
Save
You added Mira Vista Resort to your Saves list
7501 N Wade Road, Tucson, AZ 85743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Historic Southwestern, Clothing-Optional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What could be better? The pleasant, well-maintained grounds have an authentic Southwestern feel. The property sits on the edge of an open space, with pretty desert all around. We arrived late afternoon, and heard coyotes howling, as if on cue, as soon as we got out of our car.

The front desk clerk called us on our way to the resort, to ascertain our arrival time. We were only about 8 miles away at that time, and she assured us that she would stay until we arrived (even though we were approaching 5:00 p.m., when the desk was scheduled to close). She greeted us and showed us to our room, carefully explaining the operation of the room's HVAC system, to ensure our comfort during our stay. Excellent service!

The bar service in the lounge on Saturday night and the food and service in the restaurant that night were also excellent. We were pleasantly surprised. We are members at this facility's sister resort - Laguna Del Sol in Wilton, CA - and the food and restaurant service there can be spotty at times.

We have stayed at a number of clothing-optional properties, and I believe that this is one of the best. I would have given it an excellent rating, but for a couple of minor nits. We stayed in a standard room. The bed was very comfortable, but the carpet was worn and stained. The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. And the shower faucet was plumbed incorrectly, so hot water came out on the cold water setting, and vice versa. We had to call the front desk to find this out; just thought that we weren't getting any hot water in the shower. In retrospect, I think this is a piece of information that should be shared with guests upon check-in.

We have stayed in the premium rooms here in the past, and they are nicer than the standard rooms. Just figured we wouldn't be spending much time in the room, so decided not to splurge on this trip. There are also condos here, which are quite new and probably even nicer than the premium rooms, though without the historic feel. A couple of the hotel rooms are pet-friendly, which we always appreciate.

Dinner service on the second night here was less impressive. We were told that the restaurant served dinner until 8:00 p.m. on Sunday, and their posted hours confirmed this. The lounge was closed on Sunday, so we had a couple of cocktails in our room and arrived at the restaurant at 7:20 p.m. The restaurant staff looked stunned as we walked through the front door. The flustered manager told us that they'd shut everything down, and "thrown everything out", then she quickly offered that we could choose from a limited number of menu items based upon the ingredients they still had available in the kitchen. We chose cheeseburgers, which were tasty, although not medium rare as we had requested. The manager gave us each a complimentary glass of wine and a dessert to share, which was nice, and she was very apologetic. (Perhaps overly so; the hugs she gave us were awkward and a bit unprofessional.) She also promptly locked the front door after we were seated, and we watched another potential customer try the door before 8:00 p.m. only to turn away when he found it locked. A dark mile or two of road separate the resort from the nearest off-site dining establishments, and we would no doubt have wanted to call a taxi if we'd had to go off-site for dinner after having had those cocktails in our room. I guess the lesson learned here is that if you plan to eat in the restaurant on a slow night, make your intentions known, so that the restaurant staff anticipates your arrival and doesn't shut down early.

A couple of practical notes. This resort provides beach towels in the rooms, so it is not necessary to bring your own. We've always stayed here in November. While the skies may be sunny, the pool area is not sheltered from the wind, and it can be too chilly to lounge by the pool at this time of year. There are plenty of things to see and do in Tucson, so you may want to have a back-up plan for sight-seeing if the weather is uncooperative. The conversation pool and spa are both nice in the cooler weather, and good for relaxing after a day on the town.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
48
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This was our sixth visit to Mira Vista over the period of five years, so we obviously enjoy our trips there. We stayed in one of the recently built condos, and it was superb. The restaurant, when open, has good food and friendly, fast service.
Our concern was cleanliness in the pool area. By early afternoon the pool was filthy, with leaves and debris floating on the surface. One of the guests had to play pool boy and skim the surface before we could swim.
There were multiple spider webs on the bottom of the lawn chairs, which makes one wonder how chemically balanced the pool water is and how clean the kitchen and bar are kept. When a guest asked a maintenance worker to check out the spider webs, he killed a brown spider under one of the chairs and said he would report the problem to the worker in charge of the pool.
We will return to Mira Vista because of all that it has to offer, but they need to keep the pool area cleaner.

Room Tip: The condos on the property are recently built and are first class.Try to get a room facing west to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
We're glad that you have chosen to vacation at Mira Vista six times in five years! The property is historic, with many, many large trees and cacti. The largest tree on the property, a huge Eucalyptus, is in the pool area. Of course it sheds its leaves in the fall and some do get in the pools, particularly if there is a breeze. Our pool area maintenance person lives on site and the 4 pools and spas are cleaned and chemically maintained 7 days a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

They have motel rooms and new condominiums to rent out or purchase, but since I live in Tucson I chose to come for the day with friends who were members. Mira Vista is a clothing optional resort, so nudity is the norm. It is a classy, beautiful place however, and very historic. They have a restaurant on the premises which is wonderful, gift shop, pools, volleyball pool, conversation pool, etc. they have shuffle board and other entertainment including two bars. The club house opens at 4:00p.m. And has an excellent full service bar and dance area. The cost for non-members was $30 for an entire day. There is also a yearly membership available. RV parking is also on the premises. I felt totally comfortable at all times. They have weekend entertainment most Saturday nights. Overall a great nudist resort if that's what you're looking for...an all over tan!

Room Tip: Condos are the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your comfortable experience at Mira Vista Resort! Fortunately, we are large enough to be able to accommodate day guests and members from the Tucson area. As the only full-service clothing optional resort in Arizona, we welcome guests from all over the country and world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Mira Vista is a clothing optional resort with 2 swimming pools, a conversation pool, a hot tub, tennis courts, beautiful grounds, 2 bars and a restaurant and more. The owners and staff are super nice and run a wonderful, relaxing resort. You can book a room and stay a few days or just go for the day. Try it, you just might fall in love with Mira Vista!!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have just come back from our first visit to the resort. We stayed in one of the guest suites, which we found comfortable and well equipped. The room came with an air-conditioner which did its job well yet was incredibly silent.
Our time at the resort unfortunately did not include any days when the restaurant was operating, so we are unable to report on how the food is. However the resort is located close to many restaurants and a large supermarket, so we hardly wanted for food and the refrigerator in the room came in handy too.
We loved the exercise room. It contained a huge array of different exercise machines, all of them looking quite new, as well as sets of weights, mats, swiss balls.
The pool area is equipped with many loungers for sunbathing, two swimming pools, a hot tub and a large covered area where one can escape if the sun becomes too much.
Everyone we met was friendly, the weather was perfect, the location is close to many activities and sights to see. We definitely want to go back and stay there again, this time for longer than three days.

Room Tip: Don't worry, all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for writing about your stay at Mira Vista! That is too bad that you were there on the only 3 days when the restaurant is not open for dinner - Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. We do serve continental breakfast in the restaurant every day though and the cantina bar is open every day from 9-5.

Due to the dramatic increase in business this year, we are planning to have the restaurant open more days, beginning this fall. We know you will enjoy it during your next stay!

Suzanne Schell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our fourth visit in seven years was the most relaxing and impressive. This is a beautiful and splendidly maintained hotel with lush grounds and facilities overseen by Jerri Lee and Lulu. Naturalist, yes. Live and let live plus the golden rule prevail. We booked one of the lovely, air conditioned pet suites as we travel with our beagle prince. Actually located in Marana just west of Tucson you can drive along Wade Road and find yourself in the Saguaro National Park. What a moonscape world with ice age debris. We loved the home cooking of Mira Vista cafe and ate there virtually all five days. Very empathetic staff serving hearty breakfasts, a palm-formed sirloin hamburger divine at lunch and dinner. Steak was ribeye and there is a tasty and generous Caesar salad for two. The swimming pool and tennis court and shuffle board and spas complete the experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
It's so nice when guests acknowledge our wonderful housekeepers! The rest of the Mira Vista staff, headed up by general manager Brent Wadsworth are also terrific. We're glad that you were able to visit with your dog and stay in one of our two pet-friendly rooms and suites.

Suzanne Schell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Love the resort!! The condos are fully equipped for all your needs.. Each one has the owner's personal touch! Love it!! Can't wait to head back!! Restaurant selection is small, but great food!! Love the people! Everyone is friendly.. Karaoke on Friday is always a good time!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mira Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Vista Resort

Address: 7501 N Wade Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mira Vista is an upscale clothing-optional resort that's a relaxing, stress-free escape from the world, yet so close to town. 14 suites and rooms, full-service restaurant & lounge, 2 large pools, conversation pool, spa, tennis, fitness center, massage. Unique, historic 30 acre property with forever views and beautiful desert landscaping. Open to day guests.New in 2011: Phase One of The Casas at Mira Vista condos for sale and nightly rentals. All roads paved, new 50amp RV spots. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mira Vista Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mira Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.