We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Loveliest Oasis near the Saguaro National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mira Vista Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mira Vista Resort
Save
You added Mira Vista Resort to your Saves list
7501 N Wade Road, Tucson, AZ 85743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Loveliest Oasis near the Saguaro National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our fourth visit in seven years was the most relaxing and impressive. This is a beautiful and splendidly maintained hotel with lush grounds and facilities overseen by Jerri Lee and Lulu. Naturalist, yes. Live and let live plus the golden rule prevail. We booked one of the lovely, air conditioned pet suites as we travel with our beagle prince. Actually located in Marana just west of Tucson you can drive along Wade Road and find yourself in the Saguaro National Park. What a moonscape world with ice age debris. We loved the home cooking of Mira Vista cafe and ate there virtually all five days. Very empathetic staff serving hearty breakfasts, a palm-formed sirloin hamburger divine at lunch and dinner. Steak was ribeye and there is a tasty and generous Caesar salad for two. The swimming pool and tennis court and shuffle board and spas complete the experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
It's so nice when guests acknowledge our wonderful housekeepers! The rest of the Mira Vista staff, headed up by general manager Brent Wadsworth are also terrific. We're glad that you were able to visit with your dog and stay in one of our two pet-friendly rooms and suites.

Suzanne Schell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
57
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Love the resort!! The condos are fully equipped for all your needs.. Each one has the owner's personal touch! Love it!! Can't wait to head back!! Restaurant selection is small, but great food!! Love the people! Everyone is friendly.. Karaoke on Friday is always a good time!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Overall our stay was good and if we should find ourselves in Tucson in the future, this will be the place we stay. This resort is under construction at the moment, I like what they are doing with it. You should be aware that there are construction workers onsite which wasn't a problem for us but just FYI. This resort is just outside of town so you have the benefit of a quiet, peaceful visit but at the same time you can be in civilization in about 5 minutes if you need food or a grocery store.

Constructive criticisms:
We couldn't find an ice machine on the grounds, it would be nice to have 24hr access to ice.
We could have used a microwave in our room.
The shower was nice but the curtain was cheap plastic, upgrade to glass and show off the nice tile.
Our carpet was dirty, tile seems like lower maintenance versus carpet. The carpet may have contributed to the musty smell in our room.
A little music around the pool would have been nice.

I know these recommendations are expensive and perhaps they are somewhere in the construction schedule. None of this will prevent us from coming back but I thought it was worth mentioning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for the review! We are glad that you will return to Mira Vista on your next visit to Tucson. The construction referred to was the finishing stages of 21 new condos at the perimeter of the main resort. Today (April 4) is the final day of construction and some owners have already moved into the building completed 3 weeks ago. There are now 38 units in the Casas at Mira Vista condo community, with some available for sale now. In addition to the original 14 hotel rooms at Mira Vista, there are currently 10 luxury Casas condominiums available to rent through the resort office. They are our most popular accommodations, particularly for stays of a week or more. For those desiring a complete kitchen, they have it all. For guests staying in the hotel rooms and suites, there are coffeemakers and refrigerators. Ice is available for hotel guests from 8am till 5pm Mon-Wed and until 8pm Thurs-Sun when the restaurant is open for dinner. Each room has an ice bucket. We have new, deluxe shower curtains on back-order right now. Perhaps a slight musty smell was coming from one awaiting replacement. Staff cleans carpet regularly, since it is a fairly light color and spot cleans in between.

The historic, charming character of Mira Vista has been maintained while adding luxury residences to the property. We are constantly improving to make Mira Vista better and better!

Suzanne Schell
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthven, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We went to this resort last week and it is a super nice resort. Everything we wanted was there, except restaraunt and bar service when we wanted it. We took a cab from the Tuscon airport, so we had no way to get around on our own, yet the restaraunt and bar were closed Monday thru Thursday. Can't figure out why they wouldn't at least have food service for those of us that had no car. Plus, after 5 pm, you're on your own. The front office is closed at that time. The people were as nice as any place I've ever been as were the beautiful grounds and condo. Still can't figure out their necessity to close the restaraunt, though on some nights.

Room Tip: the rooms are not the greatest, but the condos are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm glad that you had a nice stay, but sorry that you stayed on days that the restaurant is not open for lunch and dinner and you didn't have a car. Continental breakfast is available 5 days a week, with full breakfast on Sat and Sun. Lunch and dinner are served on Thurs, Fri, Sat and Sun. We would be thrilled to have the restaurant open 7 days a week for full service! We've found that since we are close to town, most people staying for a week will go into town at least a couple nights during their stay and often are gone sightseeing during lunchtime. The restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner on the quieter Mon, Tues and Wed, except for holidays, when it is open. The small cantina bar is open every day until 5pm when the restaurant is closed.

About 99% of Mira Vista guests have their own or a rental car during their stay. Those who don't are usually here Thurs-Mon, when the restaurant is open during their entire stay.The closest major supermarket is less than 2 miles away and if staying in a condo, a stop on the way here for groceries will eliminate the need to leave or have a car.

We are seeing a dramatic increase in business this year, so we might be able to increase restaurant days and hours this fall!

Suzanne Schell, Mira Vista owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond Du Lac
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beautiful resort and grounds, it is like stepping back in time. They have done a great job preserving the history and some of the original buildings! The members were so friendly and went out of their way to include us in conversations and to make us feel welcome. A true naturist resort. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Their new condos are very nice. We will be back!

Room Tip: We did not stay in their rooms, but all seemed to be located in a great area not far from the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful resort. This was our third visit. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. A very relaxing atmosphere and attitude. Each visit we make friends that we keep in contact with. We will be back next year. See ya there!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first visit to MV. I read every word on their web site, as well as all the reviews on tripadvisor. I was still nervous. I had never been to a clothing optional resort. We stayed in a premium room, and it was very nice, comfortable little casita type room. We were given a thorough tour and layout of the rules. We really appreciated that, as I said we were new. After the tour, we went to the pool still a little nervous. When we got there, the other guests wers amazing. A group of people jokingly said "we've been waiting for you! Let's play volleyball!" So we did. Everyone was talking to everyone. They made us feel like we were a long lost part of their little community. I never ever felt out of place, or afraid of my appearance. After dinner, we went to the lounge and there was a DJ and a dance. It was so much fun. Everywhere we went, we were greeted with kindness. The staff was super. The guests are like family now. My husband and I take little trips here and there to have some "us" time. This will be our new home away from home. If you are on the fence about visiting this place as I was. Don't give it another thought. You'll be glad you visited, and it surely won't be your last.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twoonthego, Owner at Mira Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Mira Vista! We're so glad you had a great visit, particularly because it was your first time at a clothing-optional resort. As you discovered, because Mira Vista has local resort annual members, as well as full and part-time condo owners, there is a real sense of community that you don't often find at most boutique hotels and resorts. We are so fortunate that our community is so welcoming and inclusive to newcomers. Of course, if your idea of the perfect getaway is a quiet corner with a good book - you can do that too! We look forward to your next visit.

Suzanne Schell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gold Poppy Inn
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites NW Tucson Marana
14.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
5.6 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
12.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Vista Resort

Address: 7501 N Wade Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mira Vista is an upscale clothing-optional resort that's a relaxing, stress-free escape from the world, yet so close to town. 14 Suites & rooms plus 10 condos for rent, full-service restaurant & lounge, 2 large pools, conversation pool, spa, tennis, fitness center, massage. Unique, historic 30 acre property with forever views and beautiful desert landscaping. Open to day guests. Casas at Mira Vista luxury condos for sale with some available for vacation stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mira Vista Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mira Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.