We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Ordinary Smokey Casino” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Diamond Casino

Desert Diamond Casino
I-19 and Pima Mine Road, Tucson, AZ
1-866-332-9467 / 1- 520-294-7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 268 things to do in Tucson
Attraction details
Green Valley
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Convenient Ordinary Smokey Casino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It is right off Interstate 19 so you can get there quickly, but the casino is nothing special and the food is just okay. What is with the tribal tax? Why are the drinks so expensive? What about all the smoke? I think all the smokers in Tucson come here!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    18
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small and Smoky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went with a colleague during a recent trip. The casino is fairly small and it was difficult to get a chair at the newer slots. My colleague is a craps player, which they did not have. So he played blackjack. I would have liked to learn to play but the minimum was $5 a hand, to much for this beginner. The buffet was reasonably priced but tasted like cafeteria food, I would suggest eating elsewhere. We did have fun though and I would go back if I had nothing to do.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Decent Casino... Good Bar Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Clean and friendly place. Not enough 25 cent slot machines, but that seems to be the new trend.

Parking is good and easy access. Buffet prices reasonable. Good entertainment venue (if you like Country and Tejano). Good Sports Bar with very good prices relative to many others.

Quiet little oasis in the desert

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“ALWAYS JOIN THE PLAYERS CLUB”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

It usually comes in handy if you join a casino's players club. I was there with my twin
grandsons. We received 10% off the already reasonable buffet ($9.99) the buffet was okay
they had a few stations. The roast beef was really good. i also got
a promotion of $20 after getting 20 points. Getting the points was kind of tricky but
we played a $5 machine that we would not normally have played and it was fun

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Typical Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Have always like this particular Casino. I usually am not very lucky, but I can find my way around easily, the staff is very friendly and the food isn't too bad.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Diamond Casino also viewed

 

Been to Desert Diamond Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Diamond Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.