We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Eclectic, Unique and kinda loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prep & Pastry

Prep & Pastry
3073 N. Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85719
+(1)520-326-7737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 1,690 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lakeland Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New, Eclectic, Unique and kinda loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It's open for a short time, so we were curious. It's kind of hard to find unless you have GPS...even if it is on a main drive. The atmosphere is cafeteria open bistro, the menus are minimalistic (I would have liked to have seen pictures or color). VERY ECLECTIC selections. You can't find any of this fare anywhere else. So it was a delightful challenge. Most items sounded pretty yummy. Their grilled cheese is a little over the top. I had the classic breakfast and it was prepared just the way I ordered it. The home fries are not greasy but flavored without a lot of salt. The grape jelly is in house and not super sweet. My first experience with a Cro-nut was interesting, but I would have liked it warm I think. The food was good. The seating area and bathrooms were clean and simple. Friend one had the Poutine, said it was a little heavy on the gravy but nice. Friend two had the cubano and didn't like it at all. The pickles flavored the bread. Not dill...maybe bread and butter? She said perhaps the duck was her issue...Not a favorite at all. Fries were fresh but a little limp and unsalted. She had a raspberry cream cheese Danish which was moist and quite tasty. You have to ASK for the danish selections and they are NOT included on their menus. We had one issue with our drinks which was fixed immediately and our wait staff was very attentive. Overall, a lovely experience. A second trip? Yes. Worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT NEW ADDITION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It's hard to keep up with all the options in Tucson. Such a great restaurant city for it's size, and here comes another one.. Great food, staff and creative menu. First time, but it won't be our last....
Prices are very reasonable...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harper Woods, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I visited on a Sunday around 11:00am and it was really busy but the staff was exceptionally friendly. Because I was alone, I opted to sit at the bar and was seated right away. Since I was driving, I skipped the impressive cocktail list but would love to go back and try one or two of the specialty mimosas. Instead I had the grapefruit juice, sweet potato hash and bacon. All were served promptly and everything tasted really good. Lots of local fresh menu items. The servers were all was young, energetic and pleasant. If I were based in Tucson, this would be a regular stop for me.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A Happy New Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My daughter and I search for new places to meet for lunch. At her suggestion we met at Prep and Pastry, a new restaurant on Campbell near Fort Lowell and loved it. The decor is particularly warm and bright, the ambiance is lively and fun, and the service is friendly and welcoming. I had a very good cheese omelet with hash and my daughter had a large, delicious looking grilled cheese sandwich with tomato bisque soup. The folks sitting next to us had the Bacon Lucy (double patty, bacon, gruyere, egg, and thousand island on a brioche bun) and said it was delicious. It's what I'll have the next time. In fact, all the sandwiches looked pretty amazing. There's ample parking. The restaurant has an outdoor eating area, which may be useful when the weather cools off. By noon, I couldn't see an empty table inside. I'll certainly go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went for brunch and came away totally satisfied. The only substandard item that we ate was the cronut. Dry and cardboardy otherwise all the food we ordered was superb. Will definitely eat there again when I am in Tucson next.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prep & Pastry also viewed

 

Been to Prep & Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prep & Pastry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.