We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi so fresh I swear it was still moving!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamato Japanese Restaurant

Yamato Japanese Restaurant
857 E Grant Rd, Tucson, AZ 85719-2933
520-624-3377
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #284 of 1,605 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sushi so fresh I swear it was still moving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I are real sushi aficionados. And we´re spoiled, too. We come from Long Island where we have some of the best sushi outside of Japan. That being said, Yamato is BY FAR the best Japanese food we´ve had West of New Jersey! No fancy setting or cutesy appetizer names, this is a place where you go to eat FRESH fish plain and simple. Everything done to perfection and served promptly. I will most certainly eat here again the next time I´m in Tuscon and I suggest you do too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
League City, Tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sushi this good is hard to find. The artistry is amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Since moving from Tucson I have not found sushi that compares. Yamato is the best and I come back every time I come home for a visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
1 review
“yamatos the culinary "gem" of tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

every year we make our pilgrimage to yamatos and every year this meal is the highlight of our trip. noburo, the owner sushi master, is an awesome host. we let him choose for us and never are we disappointed. it was here i learned to love uni. the house-cured salmon is worth the trip.the presentation is simple but beautiful. the cold saki in wooden cups is a delight. the shitaki mushroom sushi is genius. i've tried and haven't been able to duplicate it. wish i didn't have to wait another year to do it again. i may have to drive the 530 miles to do it again before next years gem show.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sushi Oasis in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are a surprising number of sushi restaurants in Tucson, but Yamato, despite its lack of advertising, is a standout. There is an enthusiastic core of regulars that patronize this small place run by the Japanese owner-chef. He is an artist, and his medium is fish, fresh and succulent. This is not the place for trendy rolls with lots of ingredients and cute names. This is simple, clean beautiful food served with grace. There is a full kitchen for delicious additions to the sushi menu. Look at the Specials board for seasonal delights. While sushi is never inexpensive, in the large picture, this is very reasonable indeed, especially for edible art.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Gooooooooooood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The bento lunch is a great value and a treat for the palate. Thus is excellent, quality Japanese food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yamato Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamato Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.