We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi this good is hard to find. The artistry is amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamato Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yamato Japanese Restaurant
857 E Grant Rd, Tucson, AZ 85719-2933
520-624-3377
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #470 of 1,702 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
League City, Tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sushi this good is hard to find. The artistry is amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Since moving from Tucson I have not found sushi that compares. Yamato is the best and I come back every time I come home for a visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moab, Utah
1 review
“yamatos the culinary "gem" of tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

every year we make our pilgrimage to yamatos and every year this meal is the highlight of our trip. noburo, the owner sushi master, is an awesome host. we let him choose for us and never are we disappointed. it was here i learned to love uni. the house-cured salmon is worth the trip.the presentation is simple but beautiful. the cold saki in wooden cups is a delight. the shitaki mushroom sushi is genius. i've tried and haven't been able to duplicate it. wish i didn't have to wait another year to do it again. i may have to drive the 530 miles to do it again before next years gem show.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sushi Oasis in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are a surprising number of sushi restaurants in Tucson, but Yamato, despite its lack of advertising, is a standout. There is an enthusiastic core of regulars that patronize this small place run by the Japanese owner-chef. He is an artist, and his medium is fish, fresh and succulent. This is not the place for trendy rolls with lots of ingredients and cute names. This is simple, clean beautiful food served with grace. There is a full kitchen for delicious additions to the sushi menu. Look at the Specials board for seasonal delights. While sushi is never inexpensive, in the large picture, this is very reasonable indeed, especially for edible art.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Gooooooooooood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The bento lunch is a great value and a treat for the palate. Thus is excellent, quality Japanese food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Big Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Located in s trip mall next to a cvs on East Grant in Tucson AZ, this place delivered very good sushi. Once inside, you would not know you are in a strip mall, sound from outside is very very muted, the windows are papered over. I would call it upscale cafe, simple table and chairs in one open room. But the place was very quiet, nice atmosphere and excellent service. The servings were up in a very reasonable amount of time, and the food was very, very fresh I have had sushi from the west coast to the east coast and this place has some of the best. I had the dinner of 7-8 types of sashimi, 3 pieces of each - a plate that would easily cost $50 or more at a downtown place in a larger area. For $25 this plate was generous, fresh and simply fantastic. Very well done.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yamato Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamato Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.