We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in Tucson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crying Onion Cafe

Crying Onion Cafe
3684 West Orange Grove Road, Tucson, AZ 85741
520-531-1330
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 1,707 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Situated in the corner of a small strip mall, the Crying Onion is a local "hole-in-the-wall" for breakfast and lunch.
Crowded on weekend mornings. Get there early or weight in line for a table. Weekdays are not so busy.
I enjoy the polish kielbasa and eggs with home fries and toast. My wife likes the sweet potato pancakes. Everything on the menu looks good.
Rest rooms are spotless. Service is pleasant and prompt (slower on the weekend when the place is packed).
Prices are very reasonable.
We take our out-of-town visitors there for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Easy going place with incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Highly recommend trying this place for some amazing breakfast. Its laid back with decent service and great food. Everything I have tried has left me very impressed. My husband likes to get his hair cut at the barber shop next door and we stop in here for breakfast when he goes. Its so wonderful, such a nice weekend treat. Worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Breakfast in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If your looking for an awesome Mom & Pop resturant for breakfast look no further! Consistently great food quality and great service has keep me coming back every week for 8 yrs! :)

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I love a good breakfast when traveling. I had read reviews of the Crying Onion Café and we gave it a try. Without Trip Advisor I doubt that we would have gone here as it is located in a small strip mall and we wouldn't have even seen it. It would have been our loss. The food and service was very good. We went two days in a a row. The first day I had huevos rancheros and they were good. However, my husband had a pecan pancake and it was outstanding. I am very picky when it comes to pancakes and don't like them if they are doughy. I had one taste of my husbands pancake and knew that when we returned that I would have them. That is exactly what happened. Yummy!! The place was very clean and the service was great. Sure wish we lived close enough to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast -reasonable prices- excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

So glad I chose this place to meet the family for breakfast! My daughters loved their food. Chorizo for one and she raved about the homemade beans that were served with it. The other had the veggie scramble and loved every bite. Pancakes were to die for! And eggs properly over medium prepared to go with awesome home fries! Hubby loved their link sausage! Will drive the hour and half again just for that great breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crying Onion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crying Onion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crying Onion Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.