We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn to your Saves list
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   144 E. University Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 53 Tucson B&B and Inns
1 review
“Unique & comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great unique place to stay. It's like a b&b but with more privacy. The owners were great and there were lots of extras in the room plus a hot breakfast-not just muffins/pastries. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    25
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
67
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. We especially liked the seductive allure of the porch, which wraps itself about 3/4 the way around the house. Could sit there all day and read, write, chat, snack and enjoy watching the passers by - not to mention, Lazlow, the sweet kitty that'll sit on your lap and snuggle in if you let him! The room was clean, well-furnished and had the best raisin bread and other goodies available for a delightful continental breakfast. I hear they'll be offering full breakfasts very soon (check it out)! It'll be a little restaurant or dining room sort of thing, I think...They should call it "Lazlow's"...:-).

Room Tip: We liked the room we had on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This romantic historic house is near downtown Tucson, the 4th Ave. arts galleries/restaurants/ clubs and the Univ. of Arizona. Each room is decorated differently. Ours was full of comfortable antiques; the room next to ours had a deco motif.

Our room came with a refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster oven and an ionized hot and cold water dispenser. The room came complete with utensils, bowls/plates etc. and packets of oatmeal (a variety) and teas (also a variety both caf and non-caf) as well as a refrigerator with juices, milk, yogurt and ground coffee. Lea, the owner, gave us a platter of fresh muffins, raisin bread and pastry each evening.

While most rooms have a private bath within the room, ours was three steps across the hall (we knew in advance). The bathroom and the rest of the premises were very clean.

Our room was one at the top. This was not problem for us but if you have a bad knee or use a cane, ask for a ground floor room.

The wrap around porch and the lounge chairs are a treat. The neighborhood is very peaceful and the porch is a lovely place to enjoy one of the specialty teas. Warning: if you like cats, Laslo the resident gray tabby, will love you forever. He hangs out on a porch chair during the day, hoping for some petting. If you don't like cats, he'll just ignore you. Laslo is a champion sleeper.

We really enjoyed our stay. It almost did not happen since in a senior moment I booked us online for December 23-24 instead of November 23. Lea, fortunately, graciously accommodated us at the last minute even though the previous room occupants had just vacated and she had to drop everything to prepare the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I wanted a special place that truly gave my visiting German family a "flavor" of Tucson. This place was AMAZING: the house is a beautiful historic home that has been renovated with obvious love, the decor is tasteful, the setting is inspiring, and the owners are wonderful. They treated my family well. They have been coming to the United States for 20 years, but this was my German family's first time in Tucson. They said the Big Blue House was the best place they have stayed in all their 20 years. It had so much character, and felt as though you were coming home. Every room is decorated with a tasteful eye and with a lot of care. We enjoyed sitting outside on the porch in the evenings and talking, even eating a meal or two. It was a treat for me, too, just coming to spend time with them.

I liked that the was so close to both the University of Arizona, 4th Avenue, and downtown Tucson so they could walk, bike or drive to restaurants, shopping, museums, and more. They did a lot on their own in the nearby area, and Lea had great information and provided personalized recommendations to help them decide what attractions to visit.

I will recommend this place to anyone and everyone! I am a proud Tucsonan and this places does our community proud. Kudos to Ken and Lea!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Last weekend, I had to make a trip to Tucson for a training session. Even though I forgot to
call with my confirmation number and our room was cancelled, the owners still had a room available. We would gladly stay again. Loved the room and its mixture of antiques and Art Deco pieces. The owners were helpful and told us about the closest shopping and suggested a place to listen to live music. This was our first BedNBreakfast experience and it was great! Should the opportunity arise to visit Tucson again, this will be my first choice for a place to stay and next time, I will remember to call and confirm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This house is beautiful and I wish there were more like this. The owners have transformed this great historic house into a fantastic bed and breakfast which really retains the feeling of a home. Our room was full of antique furniture, the bed was huge (as was the tv on the wall). Breakfast was provided every day via a little fridge in the room - juices, yoghurt, pastry, cereals, fruit. It meant you could have breakfast in the privacy of your room - in our case sitting at an oak chess desk and looking out onto the neighbourhood houses which are also very beautiful.
The location is excellent - walking distance to 4th ave and downtown as well as the university. I have to say I really enjoyed my 4 day stay in Tucson, it is a great funky place surrounded by breathtaking nature. The Big Blue House is not cheap - but it is absolutely worth it!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very comfortable stay in one of the Old Pueblo's older residences. Owners are fun to talk with and knowledgeable of the area history and current events. House has been updated to include modern necessities (wi-fi, hdtv, etc), but retained 19th century charm. Location is walking distance to historic downtown and University of Arizona. Complimentary in-room snacks, juices, coffee and tea is a real bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#18 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#35 of 129 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tucson Marriott University Park
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn

Address: 144 E. University Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85705
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Queen Anne built in 1899 and lovingly restored and remodeled into Tucson's most progressive eco-friendly boutique inn. Each private suite is unique with vintage furnishing. Eco friendly features such as a RO filtered water dispenser in your own in-suite kitchen.Perfectly located on the "University Bike Boulevard" a short walk to UofA and only 2 blocks "The cultural Center of Tucson" Historic Fourth Avenue... Check out our new University area streetcar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Blue House Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.