We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Lovely and clean B/B, We stayed here for two nights with some friends the weekend of El Tour de Tucson. The lady of the house is very accommodating and helpful. She made up some breakfast for our husbands as they had to leave the house at 5:30am. . Cooked breakfast was excellent. Especially the french toast. Yum! Bathrooms had a nice little basket in them with everything from soap, razors, deodorant, toothpaste, toothbrush, just in case you had forgotten something. Very nice touch. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
94
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long island, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The care taken by the proprietor of Sam Hughes Inn is outstanding. She proudly displays her certificate of occupancy in the dining area near the coffee service and she does as much as one can to keep the reputation. The facilities are immaculate: the decor is charming, the courtyard garden a treat. We even had the fortune to observe a local hawk who must have thought so as well as the bird chose the garden to have his breakfast. Many ideas of what to visit are kept in brochures which flood a small entry table, as well as a desk in the entry room. Recommendations and information are always forthcoming from Ms. Banner, the owner. It was my first visit to Tucson and should I return I would definitely book here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was such a delight to stay here. It was very convenient to the University. The accommodations were excellent and very nice. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had at a B&B. The host was welcoming, helpful and generally wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I recently stayed 4 nights at the Sam Hughes Inn when I was taking my son to UofA. It was a fantastic experience. 2 blocks from campus, reasonably priced and the breakfasts were excellent. I stayed in the Tombstone room which is detached from the main house and overlooks the gardens in the enclosed back yard. Very private, very nice. I will definitely stay here on my return trips to Tucson.

Room Tip: Tombstone room is detached from main house. Easy access late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Sam Hughes Inn is a terrific place to stay - very relaxing and quiet, and close to the university, the mall and several Target stores. I had just a couple of days to get my daughter situated at the UoA, and to quickly shop for things we still needed. It was great having a B&B so centrally located and reasonable. The breakfasts that Susan prepared were delicious and I appreciated the extra amenities offered. I highly recommend the Sam Hughes Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our stay was very enjoyable as Susan was very accomodating with our needs. Our rooms were very clean, comfortable, and decorative. We felt welcomed and in a home-like atmosphere. . We loved the proximity to the University of Arizona. The breakfasts were delicious. We definitely plan to stay there again when we visit our daughter at U of A.,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A very nice experience for my first trip to Tucson. Rooms were very clean with all amenities needed and more. Susan makes the best breakfast I have had during any of my travels. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.