We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go again tonight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Cafe

Bangkok Cafe
2511 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716-3816
520-323-6555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #801 of 1,709 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again tonight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

I'm so glad to finally have found this place. Most places I've dined in town have always been a fusion of Asian cuisine. This one is all Thai. I am saying right now this is the best Thai food in town. The food is outstanding. What time is it?

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Took my family in on a Saturday night and the restaurant had a good amount of tables filled. We ordered a tour of Thailand appetizers and was very satisfied. No skimping on anything. We all ordered various dishes and shared. They accommodated us with extra plates. The service is what you'd expect when eating out. Very friendly. The food was amazing. The curry is great. Pad Thai is right on. And you can't leave without trying their homemade ice cream. A great experience at this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Good, cheap Thai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Located on the NE corner of Speedway and Tucson Blvd.
Ample parking
Spartan interior
Among the 5 of us, two had soups (one vegetarian), one a salad, one pad thai, one curry. There was a mix up on one of the orders that required one of us to wait maybe 20 minutes total for food.
All were prepared well, tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be, by far”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This used to be our "go to" lunch place - food was great, service friendly and fast, and the location is close to the university. The fried rice used to be the best anywhere, the pad kraprow kai and curries absolutely delicious. But our last several visits have been big disappointments. The fried rice is oily and lacks any Thai flavor or seasoning, the curries are bland or salty, some curries taste a bit "off", the golden pouches are soggy, and the appetizer soup has the vegetables overcooked to mush. Service is lackadaisical. We kept coming back, thinking they had a bad day, a new cook, new staff... We kept coming back, several times, because of how awesome it used to be. Finally we said, not again. If any of our last several meals has been our first try, we would not have come back a second time. So, we're not coming back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I used to live in Thailand, so I'm pretty picky about this stuff and let's be honest, nothing compares to Thai street food...

We shared the beef laab ($7.95) which was good but was lacking something, not quite sure what, but something. We added all the condiments trying to sort it out with no luck. The chicken panang ($11.95) which was nice. Not amazing, but nice. Those two dishes were large enough to share between the two of us, which was nice.

I can't say it was amazing, but I'd be willing to give it another try to see what else they have to offer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.