We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the outside fool you!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Mr K'S Barbecue

The Original Mr K'S Barbecue
6302 South Park Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85706
+1 520-792-9484
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #682 of 1,602 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped her on a fluke after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We ended up ordering the $35 meal deal and ordered beef brisket, ribs, beans and coleslaw. The BBQ sauce is sweet with just a hint of spice. The coleslaw is also sweet and I could taste a hint of cinnamon. The staff was friendly and overall it was a great little place to stop for lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Southwest BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've had worst and I've had better but overall the food at The Original Mr. K's was good. The portions were small for the price. The chicken and the catfish was tasty, the pork ribs & the beef both were tender. The potato salad needed to jazzed up slightly but was ok as were the beans...but the beans were not baked beans. The greens were so-so. The BBQ sauce wasn't bad, it was tasty. The peach cobbler was really good but the filling could have been a little thicker. For Tucson it was better than I thought it would be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I finally found a place in Tucson that can compete with the food I grew up eating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Being a Cali girl I grew up eating bbq that included really good hot links. I also enjoyed amazing fried catfish and traditional sides like candied yams and greens. For years I have tried bbq places and their food just didnt compare so I always just make it myself. Finally by a random and very happily welcomed mistake I found the Original Mr. K's! I tried a little of each of alot of items so now on to the review: Beef brisket sandwich & BBQ pork sandwich...both were piled with meat...very flavorful and yummy meat. I will definitely have the beef brisket again. Fried catfish...it was very crispy and not bad but could've used some more seasoning. The candied yams and mixed greens were very good. Cooked perfectly and very flavorful. The corn muffin was a little dry. The seasoned fries were very good. Now last but not least the hot link sandwich...piled high with roughly cut hot links smothered in BBQ sauce....cooked perfectly and had the perfect amount of spice! Definitely my fave part of the savory part of the meal. I also had the pecan pie which was very good. I plan on going back very soon to try the beef ribs. This will for sure be my go to place when I'm too lazy to make it myself. Oh lastly, cost...for everything listed above plus an extra corn muffin and a can of lemonade my total was just under $60. Very good value for the amount of food. This place is a must try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Service and food great. Went at lunch but not crowded at all. Close to airport and associated businesses near airport which saves time from going downtown. food was awesome, tasty and amazing portions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Finally went to the one on Stone and can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After my wife and I sampled a few different items, we ended up having some of the best BBQ we've had in a long, long, time. The brisket was marbleized and melted in our mouth. Mmmm Mmmm.. There 3 BBQ sauces were pretty tasty too! Very impressed with the restaurant staff and Nate (Mgr) even gave us a little tour and showed us the Smokers that they make the food in. We are looking forward to coming back with the kids next time. We are sure to become "regulars" at Mr. K's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Mr K'S Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to The Original Mr K'S Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Mr K'S Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.