We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
4565 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85705
(520) 888-1512
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #593 of 1,696 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Rustenburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had the Boneless 'Wings' and for mains, the ribs. I am a big eater, and could probably have just had the starter! BIG portions. But the boneless wings were a disappointment - they are NOT wings! Why not just call them nuggets and be done? I did not enjoy them. I did not want something crumbed. Wings never are, but these are not wings! The sauce - what is it that you can never order something spicy anymore without it being sweet? I had the hotttest type, the Wilbur's revenge, and they were hot alright, but sweet too. No! They were also a bit dry. So, not good. Sugary and crumbed and dry and ... No!

The ribs were real good though. Tender and tasty. Just huge. I took the 12 bone, and could only manage half. May sound small, but it is huge!

I would go back, but I would leave out the 'wings'.

Service was good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good ribs and BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I took my elderly mother to Famous Dave's for dinner. Two of us had the ribs which were excellent, the meat was falling off the bone. My mother had the brisket which was also great. Good sides also, my husband liked the potato salad. The apples were not too sweet but the green beans were very salty. The atmosphere was good and not too loud. We will be going there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heflin AL
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband's favorite meal is BBQ and he really likes Famous Dave's. We were not disappointed at this location. The service is quick and friendly. We like the variety of sauces they offer so you are not stuck with one flavor. I ordered unsweet iced tea and it was served with plenty of ice which sometimes does not happen. The portions are huge so we had leftovers for lunch the next day. We always look for Famous Dave's when we are in the west.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good BBQ Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We ate here our first night in town. We love BBQ. This place is very good & had a great selection of choices to eat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Ribs; but pass on the Famous Dave's Margarita!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The meal started well... the wait was about 5-10 minutes and the server polite. We ordered the Famous Dave's Margarita - mistake! Floating brandy on the margarita just didn't work for us. Even with the poor start and a longer than normal wait for our meal, our dinner made the wait worthwhile.

This is a GREAT place for ribs in Tucson; some of the best i have eaten. We ordered the 1/2 slab and the 1/3 slab. They were meaty and cooked to perfection! These sides will not steer you wrong: Potato Salad (just the right hint of mustard); Wilbur Beans (an ever so slight kick of hot); Creamy Coleslaw (the hint of horseradish makes this dish) and, our favorite, Firecracker Green Beans (FRESH and very mildly spicy). Mmm... finger lick'n good!! We were too full for desert!! I recommend famous dave's for genuine Southern ribs in Tucson!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.