We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hifalutin

Hifalutin
6780 N. Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704
(520) 297-0518
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 1,702 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have been to HiFalutin on numerous occasions for happy hour as well as for dinner. This is a great little place to meet a group of friends for dinner and a few drinks! The service is amazing! The entire staff are warm and always willing to go out of their way to make your stay very pleasant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    38
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burtonsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Went here for lunch on a Saturday, no crowds. Had the ribeye steak with a side of mashed potatoes. Delicious. I asked for it cooked medium, and it was. The double chocolate cake was divine. Ambience was warm and the decor western semi-formal . They have a full bar. Service was friendly. Pricey but comparable. Plenty of parking. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, or very home like, in a cowboy sense.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Never over the top great, but the food is always good, all you can eat ribs on Wednesdays, great staff, nice bar area, very comfortable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Kind of like a Logan's or Texas Roadhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I had a great grilled chicken salad & beer. Not a big place....bar to the left and maybe 25 tables in total.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good enough to pay full price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We visited HiFalutin with a Groupon, having driven by and wondered about it for the 12 years we've lived in Tucson. Friends recently raved about their prime rib and we made plans to visit with them to give it a try. But, no prime rib last Thursday night (usually only Fri/Sat. "but call first," per our server,) so we perused the menu further.
Food was excellent!! Last night's special was Jambalya, unusual for a Cowboy-with Mexican restaurant, and while he labelled it "not Louisianna," my husband raved about the flavors and gladly brought home the leftovers. Our friends split the shrimp with pasta entree, and my 2-appetizer dinner of Mexican shrimp wrapped in bacon with an unusual "cole slaw/salsa" and sweet potato fries was absolutely excellent. Different flavors than anything I'd ever eaten in the shrimp dish, and crispy hot fries. Couldn't ask for anything to be better!
We split a huge apple crisp ala mode divided among 4 of us and there was plenty.
Service ~~ Jesse ~~ was perfect.
It was noisy; a birthday party gathered in the open-to-everything-else bar as we were there during Happy Hour. Excellent food/service, but NOT a quiet or romantic setting.
We note they are open for lunch, have Taco-Tuesdays and all-you-can-eat Ribs on Wed. We will absolutely return ~~ and gladly pay full price ~~ and this may become our new favorite neighborhood restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hifalutin also viewed

 

Been to Hifalutin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hifalutin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.