We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a New Year's Eve feast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery

Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery
2660 N. Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85719
520-320-1574
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #477 of 1,605 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
276 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“We had a New Year's Eve feast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Eclectic and fun ambiance. Obviously the management is a big collector of Japanese anime toys and unique items because they are displayed all over the restaurant. We enjoyed Japanese beer, bento boxes, sushi, sashami, miso, egg rolls, and more. The restaurant was quiet and the selections on the menu were large. Fun place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Japanese food for every eating mode”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery is another one of those restaurants that makes my trips to Tucson interesting, entertaining, and full of expectations. We had a diverse table, both in ethnicity and diet.
Our party of eight was difficult, sitting that many people at this relatively small restaurant took about 15 minutes, but the wait was worth it.
Everybody, the vegan, the sushi eater, and those who avoid the "raw" was pleased by the flavours and the service.
For the firstcomers, like me, plates were explained with great detail of what the plate consisted and what to expect in size.
Most of us required separate cheques, and the waiter went out of his way to prepare each cheqe, he clearly remembered what each of us had ordered.
I ordered a seaweed salad, a bowl of brown rice, and a nigri dinner, the food was plentiful, fresh, and tasty
We all were satisfied with dish size, freshness, and prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Yohshimatsu was a very pleasant surprise. The restaurant is a bit unique in so much as it has two eateries under one roof. One side of the restaurant is walk-up and order, fast food type of restaurant...the other side is a small (12ish tables) sit down restaurant with full service. We ate at the full service side. We arrived durinig happy hour, which offered half price on beer, sake and appetizers...nice! We ordered some sashimi along with a couple rolls. The food was very fresh and well prepared...delicious. They certainly don't short you on portion size either. Overall I would highly recomment Yoshimatsu if you are in the Tucson area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
274 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Life is too Short for Mediocre Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Mercifully, this sushi excursion was a hit. Happy Hour nibblets and sake, consistently tasty and affordable sushi, and an intimate dining area are plusses. Kazoku on Speedway is still my top spot after trying many sushi joints in the area, although Yoshimatsu does run a close second place. The service at Yoshimatsu is a little clipped/slightly cold, but this could be my own personal reaction coming from the Midwest and preferring service with that more genuine, friendly touch. Oh, and LOVED the fun chopsticks and goodies in the lobby for purchase.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
150 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“OK overall: good sushi, poor mains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Confusing layout of restaurant. Main dining area (where we were) slightly sterile and not atmospheric. Edamame at start slightly overcooked, miso OK. Sushi and sashimi very good, but mains all rather over-spiced (more Korean than Japanese often) and stodgy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoshimatsu Healthy Japanese Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.