We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative food in an artistic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe A La C'art

Cafe A La C'art
150 N Main Ave, Tucson, AZ 85701 (El Presidio)
(520) 628-8533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Creative food in an artistic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've been eating at Cafe A La C'art for years. Tucson old-timers know (and I've heard... I've only lived here for 15 years) that this was actually the original location for Janos' (the famous Tucson chef) restaurant. They've recently (in the past year or so) expanded into all of the old rooms. The beautiful rooms indoors are filled with art (and, recently, with lots of people dining!). Their outdoor seating is at tables under big umbrellas -- with a long mosaic mural added to the walls a few years ago. They've expanded their hours to include breakfast and dinner.

The food is fabulous. Another reviewer recommended the walleye; Judy (the friendly owner) told a Minnesotan friend of mine and me that the chef flies in the walleye from Minnesota. My lunchtime favorite is the Cuban sandwich with fries...delicious comfort food to die for. I'm in California now, but just writing this review makes me hungry to be back here. Go! (And visit the museum, as well as the historic houses, before or after your meal.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    32
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful setting, sad salads”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been here twice in the last month for lunch, and once for coffee (small serving and over-priced cafe mocha). The setting is beautiful, old adobe building with many small rooms for dining, plus a nice patio outside. The menu consists of sandwiches and salads, usually one soup of the day. If you are vegan and/or gluten free, salad is pretty much your only option. The first time I went for lunch, I got the salmon salad, sub a portabella mushroom for the salmon. The grilled mushroom was good, but the amount of veggies on the rest of the salad was pathetic (two asparagus spears, a few tomato slices, a few pepper slices). The second time I got the southwest ceaser, which comes with tomato, corn, black beans, and tortilla chip "croutons." I figured with this choice I'd have nice salad with plenty of protein from the beans. Instead what I got was a $9 plate of lettuce covered with chips. There were literally no more than 10 tiny beans on my entire salad, maybe 10 pieces of corn, if that. I work downtown and there are lots of restaurants that make great salads, very filling with lots of veggies, and most are under $10. For the price of the food, and the miniscule amount of salad toppings, I have zero desire to go back. Both times I ate here I left still hungry. I will say they have an amazing looking dessert and pastry selection, none of which I have tried. I know that this place gets great reviews on Trip Advisor and Yelp, and maybe the sandwiches are better. But if you want a nice salad, go someplace else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Loved the historic integrity of the space, the warmth of the staff, and especially the food. The chocolate bomb for dessert is to die for!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food but Spotty Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Cafe has great food whether one desires dinner entrees, brunch items or unbelievably good pastries. The location at the Tucson Museum of Art is convenient and dining either on the terrace or inside is very pleasant. However, it all works better for brunch or lunch. (We have eaten there
recently for both brunch and dinner.) The management still hasn't figured out to make the system work at dinner. You can wait half an hour for your glass of wine and an hour for your entrees on a busy evening (Fridays and Saturdays only). Prices are reasonable given the excellent food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Cuisine is Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We discovered this delightful, arty restaurant next to the Tucson Museum of Art on Thursday night for dinner. Right now Thursday evening is there only dinner night. The lightly crusted walleye was to die for. My wife said her chicken dish was also excellent. Wonderful atmosphere too! Can't wait to try lunch or breakfast here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe A La C'art also viewed

 

Been to Cafe A La C'art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe A La C'art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.