We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portions huge, desserts look amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gus Balon's Restaurant

Gus Balon's Restaurant
6027 E 22nd St, Tucson, AZ 85711-5226
520-747-7788
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #562 of 1,709 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Portions huge, desserts look amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Breakfast portions are huge. Alright, I didn't realize this until I was absolutely full, but the Sweet rolls ARE their cinnamon rolls. Was in there looking for it on the menu because of all the hype and didn't find it. I did order their French toast and it wasn't what I expected from another yelper review. It wasn't made with their cinnamon / sweet rolls. So kind of bummed out. It must be a daily special t have that particular French toast. Would love to give it another try and explore other foods. Especially dessert! Pies galore there. Reminds me of the Mt Lemmon cafe. Server told us that everything is made from scratch there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went to Gus Balon’s today for the first time in quite a while, and was reminded of how truly awesome it is! We are VERY experienced travelers who have lived all over the world. There is absolutely no place that can match this for breakfast, and the quality of Balon’s luncheon menu is unsurpassed if you want top-of-the-line American grub! Quickest service, stupendous food and you are surrounded by the most upstanding, pleasant and otherwise wonderful non-country club crowd in Tucson. They definitely know how to do eats in this place! They bake all their own stuff fresh daily, great pies, breads, roles, buns etc. Service is fantastic. Today we were in and out in 20 minutes, but Balon’s is so popular that you may sometimes wait 5 minutes to be seated if you want a table. You can walk to the counter and find a swivel chair almost anytime though. They’re open for breakfast and lunch only, Monday through Saturday 7am-3pm. Today we ordered the matchless #3 eggs&bacon and the breakfast burger. This burger is definitely what you'd expect a morning sandwich to taste like if Tony Bourdain were in charge of the cooking. A woman at the next table had the cinnamon roll that all the locals keep raving about, and from the noises she made it’s amazing as well. We’d go more often except the will power and the waistline can’t withstand the huge portions!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Sweet Rolls, Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband, two grandsons ages 6 and 7 years, and I had breakfast at Gus Balon's. What a great time for all! The children's menu had a great selection and so much better than what we find at most places. Our breakfast was great even though the portions were large. The sweet roll was not only huge but delicious. All food was very reasonably priced. The staff was competent and friendly. We can hardly wait to go again. The grandsons declared this as our secret breakfast place for when they visit.
Try it! You will like it at Gus Balon's Restaurant

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches, OK Pies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a late lunch/dinner at Gus Balons since it was written up in Jane and Michael Stern's book "Roadfood". They cite it as a good place to get breakfast. Since we were there late in the afternoon after a visit to the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, we tried their sandwiches. The sandwiches were excellent and stuffed with filings. The were thick and needed to be held together with toothpicks. The Sterns cited the large number of pies that were available. We tried one of the berry pies which was just OK. I think it had too much thickening agent in the mix. Later on our trip we had excellent pies at the Chimicum Cafe in Chimicum, WA. Those pies with lots of berries were worth a trip. I would pass on the pies at Gus Balons. The service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We went to Gus Balon's for breakfast. The eggs and potatoes were average, the pie was great. My wife had the chocolate, banana, peanut butter pie, which she loved. I had the butterscotch, which was average. Good service. Worth the price.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gus Balon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus Balon's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.