We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food after morning Desert Museum visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ironwood Terraces

Ironwood Terraces
2021 N Kinney Rd, Arizona Sonora Desert Museum, Tucson, AZ 85743
(520) 883-5705
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #489 of 1,681 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $5 - $5
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food after morning Desert Museum visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After a 4 hour morning visit to the Desert Sonora Museum (Fabulous!), my husband and I were quite hungry and thirsty. We ate at the Ironwood Terraces and were very impressed with the food and the service. The staff, especially the cashier, were very friendly and helpful. Topped off a wonderful visit to this hidden gem of a place!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“gem in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great variety of food, beautiful views, reasonable prices/ and friendly helpful staff. Off season is the time to enjoy a more peaceful dining experience. March & April are very busy so get there early to eat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Prickly Pear Plum Sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

While visiting the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum recently, my husband and I visited the Ironwood Terraces Restaurant. We opted to order at the counter and both decided on the grilled chicken breast sandwich with prickly pear plum sauce. Hey, we are in the desert, how can we resist? We also shared an order of onion rings. They were a little busy and we had to wait a few minutes for our food but they told us that up front. We watched as they prepared it and they were very efficient.

We chose a table in an open area and observed the interesting light fixtures that represented insects. There was also a beautiful shrub in a large pot. There was an outdoor seating area but it was a bit chilly that day so we stayed in doors. Next door to the restaurant is a nice gift shop.

The chicken sandwiches were moist, not over cooked as is often the case, and the sauce was sweet and delicious! My husband thought there was a little too much sauce on his because it made it a little messy but I like extra sauce. The onion rings were very good as well.

The service was good; it is self service, cafeteria style. The place was very clean and I noticed that the cashiers were constantly cleaning the tables. I went to the restroom and it was clean as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fast and Easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We ordered tacos. The food was decent and service fast and friendly. Coffee is free if you have a membership or are with a member. This is good place to grab a bite to eat at the desert museum. ($25 for 3 people to eat)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“This restaurant should be rated higher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious lunch here while at the Sonora Desert Museum. While the menu is small as compared to other restaurants, there is a wide variety of dishes available. We had the Kobe burgers, with sweet potato fries and prickly pear tea. It was delicious....rating among the best burgers we've ever had. The staff is very helpful, prompt, friendly and professional. They offer a beautiful dining area inside and out on the terrace. And the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironwood Terraces also viewed

 

Been to Ironwood Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ironwood Terraces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.