We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow felt like a queen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Lancaster, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow felt like a queen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

What a wonderful hotel - the staff is amazing and bent over backwards to make sure our stay was the best it could be. Great pool, love the patio in the evening. Try the gilato in Primo's.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    270
    98
    43
    27
See reviews for
291
296
38
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Overall, a very nice experience. We stayed for three nights while visiting a niece at the U of AZ. My only caution - there is a very nice outside area just off the bar - beautiful fire pits and heating lamps with a wonderful view of the lights of Tuscon. The problem is that it can get loud at night when the mostly corporate-types get a little juiced up and rowdy into the morning hours. This was an issue our first night - a Thursday - when the noise didn't stop until 1:30 in the morning. We contemplated moving rooms to a quieter side of the resort but decided that it might be quieter once they went home. It did and we stayed put. We would stay again but probably request a room on the other side of the resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe New Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Very pretty settings. First class J.W. Marriott. Golf course is fun and challenging. Destination resort---long drive to town.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

My family and I enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is relatively new (last 5-10 yrs), and our suite was spacious and delightful. We were surprised by the ice skating rink and multiple pools.

However, I was disappointed with all of the hidden extras. Internet was $12.95/day, parking was $10 for self and $20 for valet, and the restaurants and bar were pricey. Since the hotel is situated over a mile from the access road, and the parking lot is a hike, the hotel knows once you're in, you're in. We had poor service at the bar (waited 20 minutes for a waiter that never came even after we asked multiple wait staff for help), and the TV's were not HD. We were surprised that there was no concierge, but most of the staff seemed helpful to try and find the right answers.

We ate at the signature grill twice. Service was mostly good, but the entrees were on the pricey side. They offered to make vegetarian entrees for the veggie in our group, though when we asked at check in if they accomodated vegetarians, the receptionist wasn't sure.

The hotel has a Starbucks, but no toaster for bagels for breakfast.

Although the hotel was beautiful, spacious and new, I was surprised by the high prices within the resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

I am a lifetime Platinum Marriott traveler (disclaimer!). JW nestled in foothills with a golf course as perimeter. Large outdoor pool with a lazy river and small water slide. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. I had what is likely their standard room, good amount of space and nicely fitted. Adequate exercise room, steam room, and lap pool. Very good happy hour (only one hour however) with several above average wines at $5/glass and certain cocktails. As with all JW's, watch your wallet if $ is a concern. Only 10-15 minutes from downtown Tucson so there are lots of outside restaurant choices available. Oh, and free self parking, really a nice touch...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

This was our second family holiday vacation at the Marriott Starr Pass (our first was in 2007), and I would highly recommend this resort. We considered trying the new Ritz Carlton Dove Mountain, but we did not feel that we "suffered" by comparison, in staying at this resort. Also, the rates here were more reasonable at the time we booked, and the amenities seemed comparable. Starr Pass is an excellent location (e.g., close to the Desert Museum, Old Tucson) and offers easy access to dowtown Tucson and points south, such as Tombstone & Bisbee. Starr Pass Resort is well-maintained, there are a variety of restaurants and activities, and the staff is helpful and friendly. We stayed in a one-bedroom king suite, tastefully decorated in a Southwestern style, which was more than ample for our family with 2 children, ages 8 and 11. Having two bathrooms, plus a queen sleep sofa and a queen Murphy pull-down bed in the living-room area (and a large dining table), and our own king bedroom, was a huge plus. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, fireplaces on the patio where you can toast Smores and enjoy hot chocolate (the desert night is chilly in December), a large heated pool and a lazy river. Our kids loved the Rising Star Kids Club (kudos to Anna, who ran the program, she's terrific). The spa was lovely, and the clean, large fitness center met our needs. Our room was maintained beautifully by housekeeping; the resort is also well maintained and impeccable. The in-room WiFi worked well, with a few hiccups (there is a daily charge) . My only caveat would be whether our stay would have been as enjoyable if the resort was sold out or full with conventioneers at the time, which it wasn't (and at times we found the waiter/waitress service in the restaurants to be slow, and we thought that the room service menu was limited in its options, particularly for dinner). . . but, overall, we enjoyed a mellow atmosphere and an attentive staff. We had an extremely positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Two families with kids in low teens, we stayed over New Years and enjoyed the Marrioot at Star Pass very much. Great location outside Tucon, with outdoor pool, view over the city below and great trails starting right from the resort. beautiful 27 hole golf course.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and SpaEnjoy the mountains of Arizona at JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa. Located just west of an area considered the birthplace of Tucson, AZ, this resort hotel is rich with culture, history and beauty. Experience a truly unique destination resort complete with world class spa facilities and nationally acclaimed Arizona golf courses. Fine dining and award winning restaurants further complement this one of a kind Tucson resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.