We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“J W Marriott, Tucson, Az” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“J W Marriott, Tucson, Az”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

What a great hotel! Several pools, including a lazy river, hiking trails, great rooms, restaurants, and professional staff! The rooms were very nice with great views. Loved the relaxed, patio area where you could order food and/or drinks. We WILL go back!

Room Tip: Great views no matter where your room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    325
    110
    48
    31
See reviews for
334
344
42
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have been visiting here for 6 or 7 years. Always excellent service and superior rooms. Staff is attentive and goes out of their way to see you are comfortable. Good selection of restaurant menus and the nightly tequila toast just adds another touch

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I had my first experience at Star Pass for my birthday the and let me say it was just that, an experience! Everything was amazing from the GORGEOUS scenery to the customer service. The moment we arrived we were treated like queens! Erik saw my friend and I struggling with our bags and came right up to us and carried our luggage all the way up to our rooms! Erik was so sweet and helpful he even helped us connect to the internet while we were in the elevator! My friend happened to mention to Erik that it was my birthday and he took the initiative to go back down to the desk and with the help of the desk agent Monique and Britt from the Dinning room they put together a birthday surprise for me! We came back to our hotel room from swimming and awaiting was an amazing and delicious birthday treat!!! We then went to Dinner at the Signature Grill and Johnny was our server, I cannot say enough good things about our server and the food at Signature Grill, Johnny made suggestions after he heard what types of foods we liked and he even told the chef I loved corn and came right back with the most delicious roasted corn on the cob I have ever had! I cannot say enough good things about the service Johnny provided he is professional and really knows the menu through and through. Any thank you to the chef who whipped up an amazing meal!!!

Thank you so much to the amazing staff for making our stay and my birthday the most memorable one yet!!!

I cannot wait to come back soon!

Room Tip: ask for the poolside rooms, the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at the JW Marriott Starr Pass. We wanted a relaxing weekend get-away for our 28th anniversary. This resort gave us everything we could have wanted and more! It's a beautiful place with exceptional service. We floated in the lazy river, relaxed in the pool, worked out in the gym, enjoyed the tequila toast and ate great food. Kevin, our server at Primo, went out of his way to make our anniversary dinner extra special. He is a great waiter. After a passing conversation by the taco stand with Loss Prevention Officer Troy, we found a lovely treat and a hand-written note in our room that night. Deborah, the server at the pool also deserves a shout out. The staff go out of their way to make you feel like a VIP. We love it here and will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family and I were staying at the JW Marriott while my husband was doing military duty for 2 weeks. I just have to say the Victoria in Guest Services was incredible!!!! We celebrated my husbands birthday while we were there and she went above and beyond to make it special. Any hotel would be lucky to have such a dedicated employee as her. If we come back to the Tucson area, we will definitely be staying at the JW Marriott!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lazy river have an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My family and I had a great Time at the resort . I was celebrating my wife's birthday and we inviting some friends. The staff at the resort was accommodating the whole time. Brian from recreations was awesome. Definitely we are coming back with friends and family.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Last week I had some problems with my reservation using a popular internet booking service. I won't name that site directly but for the purposes of this review I will call them "not-so-niceline". I asked the people at the JW Marriott if they could help. Anyone in the hotel business knows I was asking the impossible. The people of the JW Marriott, specifically Frankie and Kaitlyn, made a difference for my family. They went above and beyond to help us. They had no incentive whatsoever to spend the time to solve a problem that I created. These are good people doing good work. If I could give them 6 stars, I would. Thank you Frankie and Kaitlyn!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#7 Family Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.