We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #7 of 131 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My weekend stay at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and Spa was totally awesome. I felt so welcomed by all the staff from the minute I valet parked and checked in to when I checked out two days later. Sleeping rooms were spacious and very clean. The hotel had great views of the city lights and the mountains. Staff I would like to recognize:
Pool service was incredible - thank you Nate and Holly
Happy hour service (Salud) was great - thank you Danielle
Breakfast service at the hotel restaurant was extremely awesome - thank you Trisk

Room Tip: Beds are extremely comfortable Sleeping rooms are very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra_Skids_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

JW Marriot offered greate food, a fantastic pool, and a relaxing lazy river that the kids would not get out of. The room had a fantastic view of the city and the Angus hamburger was the best I have had in a long time. Danny Calderon offered up fantastic service in getting our orders and drinks for 18 people in a courteous, efficient manner. Good job Danny!!!

Room Tip: For a good view of the city get a room facing South! If you prefer the view of the majestic mountai...
See more room tips
Green Features: the hotel fit right in with its surroundings. I did not note a lot of efforts to be green or utalizing the solar power, but then again I was not looking.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I love the decor and location of this hotel, nestled in the desert. The hotel staff were friendly, especially our pool waiter, Alec. One of the waiters we had on the patio in the evening, Jack seemed pissed off that we did not buy a lot of expensive food and drinks and accused us of eating "outside" food, which was not true. They are very strict about not allowing people to bring in food from outside the hotel especially to the eating areas of the hotel and pool. They have security walking around and are constantly reminding you of this rule...it gets to be annoying. The hotel restaurants, except for Starbucks, are expensive so you can understand why guests, especially those with children, would want to at least be able to bring snacks. My family loved this hotel, but I wish they would not be so money-hungry. If they had an affordable place to eat or package deals that included food that was reasonably priced, more people would come back.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a pool/golf course view, it's beautiful. The other view is of the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Trisk in the restaurant is wonderful. She goes the extra mile to help us. Her added touch is what keeps us coming back. The staff at the pool is very accommodating and pleasant. Housekeeping left a note telling us to have a good day. The little things make such an impression. The food is also excellent, you pay a lot but you get a lot of food.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our experience at Marriott Starr Pass was amazing. The staff attended to us as if we were the only people there. I was attending a conference and my wife and twin 4-year-old granddaughters
came along to enjoy a "staycation". One of the hotel staff members ensured they found their around the property during the time I was in the conference. The restaurants on the property are on the high end but the food is very well prepared.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook the garage. Make sure you have a room with a view of the surrounding des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The resort is dirty, overcrowded, and understaffed. The parking was full this weekend, so we were asked to "park along the road", then we were charged $10 for doing so--even with the hefty 10 minute walk in the heat to the lobby. Went to the lazy river, only to find no seating available and no inner tubes available either. We were told time and again that the resort was hosting two conventions and is just very full. Well, we wouldn't have booked there if we were told in advance. There's much better options, in a nicer part of town. Look north!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely regret that the resort was unable to exceed your expectations. We appreciate that you were able to share about your challenges, so that we may improve upon your recommendations. On behalf, of the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, please accept our sincere apologies for the experience that you have encountered.

Regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, AZ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Never again will I set foot on Star Pass Resort in Tucson. They lost the reservations for our immediate parties, were way overbooked, and totally disorganized. The valet parking and all self parking lots were full. We were instructed to park along the entrance road, and walk the 1/4 to 1/2 mile in 104deg to get to the resort. When I left there was still a line of cars coming into the resort. If my check-in was this bad, hate to imagine trying to have a good time there.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Bryan:

I sincerely apologize that your arrival experience was unpleasant. Your valuable feedback will allow us to prepare for and address areas of opportunity for future resort events. Thank you for sharing your detailed observations.

Regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#6 of 131 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
12.7 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 131 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
10.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing