We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Nice Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #7 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location! Nice Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, checked in a little early and wasn't charged for an early check in which was nice! Staff is friendly. The grounds are very well kept and the scenery is the best there is in Tucson. Our room was nice, was a little musty when we went in, as If someone might have smoked in it, it was a non-smoking room. The hallway carpet was very dirty and the walls were scuffed up pretty bad and the hallway A/C sounded like it was on its last leg. The pool area is nice, no music which was a bummer, also very crowded, especially the lazy river. Good luck getting a tube! All in all I enjoyed my stay. Not sure it was worth the $200 a night but its a nice place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    245
    90
    40
    26
See reviews for
274
274
35
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It started off great. While visiting my grandparents in Tucson, Arizona, my daughters asked to stay at the Marriott Resort so that they could enjoy the pool and the lay river they had available to their guests. The place is amazing with regards to the amenities it offered. I wanted to take advantage of the golf course but never had the time to do so. My daughters really enjoyed themselves at the pool and the lazy river and we were pleasantly surprised to see an animal show for the kids to see and ask questions about. They had some owls, a hawk and a couple of snakes for the guests to see. The resort's location is also amazing and at night, the place looks incredible.
At night they had a live band playing some soft and easy going music which we enjoyed outside. It was very nice. Unfortunately, things went south when we went to our room for the night. There were bugs everywhere. They were on the floor, the bed and the ceiling. Having two little girls, you can imagine their reaction. We cleared the room by eliminating the bugs and called it a night. All in all, the place is amazing although the service we experienced could have been much better. I have stayed in resorts where the service is amazing and I was hoping for the same here but was not as impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Greetings, thank you for sharing about your most recent experience at the resort. It was with great delight to read that your family enjoyed the Water Collection and the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum exhibition. If you enjoyed the demonstration, I highly recommend a visit to the Desert Museum on your next visit to Tucson. If possible, can you assist me with some additional details about your service challenges and your encounter with the nuisances in your room? This will assist us in following up on your experiences and ensuring the highest level of services for our guests. Feel free to contact me directly at chad.lybrook@marriott.com. We genuinely value your perspective and look forward to the opportunity to host your return visit to Tucson.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent a few days in April at one of my favorite resorts, the Starr Pass. The views and atmosphere are very relaxing. The spa experience here is one of the best in the city- very luxurious, pampering. In my opinion, they could use a few more exercise classes and put more effort into tailoring them to the guests. La Paloma and La Ventana are more welcoming and accommodating in that respect. I really enjoy walking along the nature trails and around the neighborhood at this resort. The food is very good; the live music on weekends, very enjoyable. In all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was there for four nights, five days, solid work the whole time. Still, I had opportunity to experience some of the amenities. On the first day, I was sent a cheese and fruit plate by management and it was really lovely. Fresh berries, several types of cheeses, crackers and fresh bread, and a bottle of water with some flavor I've now forgotten. My room had a balcony looking out over the lobby area, which was not optimal, and they play Native American flute type music all day, which was annoying when I wanted quiet. The inside was nicely furnished and had the usual things. Had both tub and shower, separate, in a big tiled bathroom. Staff tried hard to please whenever I had a question or need. Fitness center was a complete center, with all the cardio, weights, balls, mats, weight machines, etc. that a person could want -- plus it looked out over the desert. Watch for a bright red cardinal against the desert browns! The little bridge from one side of the resort to the other is above many cacti, so I could see the flowers blooming on them. And there is one of those old-fashioned binocular machines on the bridge and no quarter required! I didn't get a chance to get in the pool or on the slide, but next time, if there is one, I will definitely make time. The hotel provides a free shuttle to a close-by restaurant, which had good food. Watch out for javelinas and wasps if you take to the trails.

Room Tip: It was boring looking out onto the lobby area, but I'm not sure I'd want to look out over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our experience on the 4th of July was exceptional. The hotel was busy but never felt crowded, there was always a place to sit, prompt service, delicious food and delightful staff. Due to the policy to have extra staff always, if you looked lost/confused the staff found you and helped you solved the problem before you could look for help. Our 10 & 8 year old boys loved the lazy river and special activities. The fireworks display was up close and personal, lots of seats and great views - one to remember. Our breakfast waiter Joe was exceptional and the breakfast was geared to our personal requests,, anything and everything was made that we asked for. The natural beauty of Tucson is embraced in the hotel design and all the amenities were exceptional from golf, spa and children's activities. The bed was comfy and the room just that extra bit larger that it was ideal for 4. The bathroom with shower and tub was a delight! On check in I mentioned a refrigerator and Sven offered to have one delivered to the room free of charge - its is definitely a resort of ask and you shall receive. Simply go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Call and request the type of room you want and it will be held for you, the option of a double bed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a good stay at this hotel on the 4th of July. Starting with the positive, the location of this resort is truly special. The property, (inside and out) and the views it provides are beautiful, especially the nighttime views of the city. As mentioned we stayed on the fourth, arriving early to take advantage of a cabana rental and the pools. Prior to heading to the pool we went to the front desk to leave our luggage. We had requested an early check-in when we made reservations and much to our surprise were offered it without asking. The best part here is we expected early check in for maybe 3Pm or 2PM (normal is 4PM), we were handed our keys and it was only 12:30. In addition, we were given a map of the facility and a list of weekend activities, which was very helpful for our first time visit. Our room was two doubles which we think with two beds made the room seem unusually small. However, the beds were very comfortable and the room was quite. The food served at poolside was good and the menu offered had a variety of items to choose from. The overall atmosphere on this day was great; since it was a holiday, the crowds were everywhere. The staff did an excellent job managing the influx of people and we did not encounter any problems such as delays in getting service, parking, etc. As far as the negative, the hallways/rooms could use an upgrade. Our room had a very large stain in the carpet and we noticed in several areas of the facility the wallpaper was coming up. Although this is not a big deal, we did not expect to find these types of flaws at such a highly rated resort. We cannot say that the cabana rental was really worth it ($150.00). We feel the main issue is the cabanas are not the right type for a hot Arizona summer day. They were vinyl walled enclosures, and although they have a ceiling fan there is no fresh air movement in them. Only one side opens up and essentially, we were sitting in a sweatbox. If they replaced/modified walls with netting or the ability to open, it would have helped immensely. For this reason and the fact that there are many great places to lounge by the pools, we cannot say a cabana is worth the price. The only negative thing we can say about service was an over eagerness by staff to clear our cabana of dishes. In the middle of our meal, we decide to take a quick dip to cool off. While we were gone, (5 min) our plates of half eaten meals were taken away. Needless to say we were shocked when we returned. Our server offered to bring out new orders of everything but this would have been a waste of a lot of food. The last issue we have is more of a pet peeve. When we checked out we were not asked how are stay was. It is not a science, but we use this simple question as a gauge no matter where we stay. To us, it is one indication on whether or not a place of business really cares or not. Overall, we had a good stay. The incident with the food even though they tried to remedy it just put a negative damper on the day. Ending with a positive, in the evening there was a fireworks display put on by the resort. The setting and the show itself was excellent. Any night you can spend a perfect evening laying back, enjoy the view overlooking Tucson, and watch what we thought was a great fireworks display is a special night. We are not sure if we will return again next year but we would not discourage any one else from it or visiting this resort at another time of the year. This resort is good for everyone…couples or families.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went our favorite place to celebrate the 4th of July/Mom's b-day. I have never been so close to a wonderful show of fireworks. We were so impressed. My 10 year old really enjoyed the children activities all weekend long. The Recreation Team, Dan Padilla, Johanna, David and Jennifer did a wonderful job pulling it altogether and making sure the children and the adults we comfortable and having fun. We really love to go back around each holiday because the staff there is starting to feel like a big extended part of our family now. We know them by name and they know us by name. My mom and I would also like to point out how much Dan Padilla and Johanna took good care of us during our weekend stay. Johanna found us great seats for the fireworks and Dan made sure each part of my mom's birthday was special. Thank you all so much!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and SpaEnjoy the mountains of Arizona at JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa. Located just west of an area considered the birthplace of Tucson, AZ, this resort hotel is rich with culture, history and beauty. Experience a truly unique destination resort complete with world class spa facilities and nationally acclaimed Arizona golf courses. Fine dining and award winning restaurants further complement this one of a kind Tucson resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;