We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Perfect spot for meetings, great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Perfect spot for meetings, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I am a meeting planner, and truly have never had as great an experience as we did at Starr Pass in January 2013. All the survey reviews from my attendees rated this the best food and service they've had in years. Meeting planners, do not hesitate. If you are going to Tucson, book your event here! The space layout is excellent, location is fabulous for both active attendees and those just looking to relax, and the spa is excellent. There are some interesting cultural offerings as well.

Room Tip: Make sure you are facing the pool, the view is fabulous! It's nice and quiet throughout the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Meeting Planner:

Thank you for your feedback on your past event. It is nice to receive accolades from an industry professional. I am appreciative that our team was able to provide a relaxing and productive experience. We look forward to your return and thank you for the exciting 5-Star review.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    329
    112
    49
    31
See reviews for
343
354
42
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We come here at least once per year and still love it. Its a truly beautiful resort in a stunning location and easily one of my favorites.

We've occasionally had a minor things amiss here and there -- but the resort is well managed from top to bottom so they were remedied appropriately and immediately. I do agree with the other reviewers that the restaurant is not being run as well as it should and certainly, not as well as it was during our visits the past few years. Hopefully they can rectify this.

I miss hearing the band playing out by the pool already, so relaxing and festive. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing about your most recent experience and your continued patronage to the resort. It was a pleasure to read that you continue to enjoy the amenities of the resort. I was wondering if you could assist me with some additional details about your restaurant experiences. It would be very helpful, if you can send me your recommendations to chad.lybrook@marriott.com. We genuinely value your perspective and look forward the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband created a day spa experience for both of us; it was complete with massages, a detox wrap for me and a facial for himself. The DIHA massage therapists were experienced professionals. We enjoyed the massages, and the wrap was relaxing and therapeutic. My husband said he liked the facial and enjoyed the gentle exfoliation. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful; you can tell the staff try very hard to make your visit as wonderful as possible. If you like experiencing different spas, try this one and see what you think.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had torn curtains, spots on the carpet and the vent in the bath room was so dirty Air was not coming out. They provided us with breakfast and it was outstanding along with the service. For the price of the room We will not staying there ever again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Location of the resort was just at the base of the mountians in star pass. Hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. Room had separate shower and tub with large vanity. The 3 pools were exceptional even a lazy river for floating. One of the best areas is the large patio for evening drinks and eats. A big plus is the natural areas all thru the resort. One night a family of 5 deer just walked out of the brush right up to the pool. Also can see lots of wildlife on the golf course. The view of the city lights at night is very calming. Overall this hotel gets high marks and staying in the off season the room price can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

It was with great pleasure to read about your quiet and relaxing experience. How lovely it was to read about your encounter with nature, as I have always enjoyed seeing how the wildlife takes a journey through our backyard. Thank you for highlighting our property and for recommending the resort to the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back to another refreshing experience.

Sincerely,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last 7 or 8 years, all for vacation. On each occasion we were impressed both by the helpful and pleasant staff, stunning views of the city and selection of restaurants, pool spa and other amenities.
Before returning, we noticed a few negative reports on the condition of the hotel. Not only do these reports appear exaggerated, but we understand room renovation will start next month. The room certainly did not detract from our stay.
Must compliment the front desk and restaurant people for going above and beyond in making our stay very enjoyable. Will stay here again if our travels take us to Tucson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time out of your day to detail the fabulous amenities of the resort. It sounds like the perfect getaway while you were our guest! We appreciate your loyalty and continued patronage, anytime you want to escape the Phoenix area, Starr Pass will welcome your return!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here from May 22 -25 for a conference I had to attend. This place sits right in the middle of mountains. We were amazed to see that cactus grow like trees on the mountains. Made for great pictures!

The lobby is absolutely beautiful and HUGE!! The customer service we received the entire time was top notch. We only had bad service once at the main bar (tequila toast), but I think the waitress was just new. The conference facility was very nice and was able to accommodate the multitude of women that attended the conference. It was also well removed from the main part of the resort. There were flavored water station's set up throughout the resort, so you'll never be thirsty. The lazy river was fun but the tube's gave us a rashes. I didn't like that at all. It took 2 weeks for it to go away.

Our room was very romantic. It over looked the main entrance that faced the mountains. We were able to sit on our balcony and watch the sunset. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom kinda reminded me of a Vegas hotel bathroom, Top Notch!!

The star of this resort is the signature restaurant and patio bar. In the late afternoon into the evening the bar opens up and they pull back the glass doors to bring the outside in. This allows for the bar that's in the building to feel like it expands out onto the massive patio they have. The patio furniture is soft, the fire pits are romantic, and the drinks are stellar!! We so enjoyed our free shot of tequila nightly :)

The food was good at the resort but it is pricey so be ready to spend some serious cash at this place! Although I was mainly there for work, having my boyfriend with me, allowed me to see how romantic this hotel is. Watching the stars, drinking a specialty margarita, in the moon light with the fire pit crackling and soft music playing is priceless!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.7 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#5 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
10.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#12 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
13.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#7 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Marriott, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.