We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I get a Waiter Over Here, Please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can I get a Waiter Over Here, Please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We are big fans of JW properties. This stay we received a large credit for food as well as credit for the Starbucks at the resort. That was a nice bonus that we put to good use. During our stay one of the activities offered was star gazing on the lawn with some very powerful telescopes. This was a big hit with the family! We were disappointed with the staff's ability to keep up with the large crowds for the weekend and keep things tidy. The staff was hard working, but it was not up to our usual experience at JW properties. The hotel was completely full, and our room was a tight squeeze, but the property is beautiful. This is a good choice if you are in the Tucson area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    266
    98
    42
    26
See reviews for
287
295
38
354
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is one beautiful property! Great customer service, spa experience and walking trails surrounding the property. Kitchen staff was very accommodating! I don't play golf, but my husband said it was great, too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was one of the worst resort experiences I have ever had! We arrived early and our rooms weren't ready, so we decided to go to the Salud lounge downstairs and have a few drinks while we waited. I ordered a drink but my wife and kids did not want anything at that time. While I still had over half of a full glass, the waitress came over twice to check on us. Once I finished my drink I sat the glass on the table in clear view of waitress waiting for her to come to see if I needed anything else. She passed by our table several times but never stopped. By this time my wife wanted a drink as well but the waitress never stopped to service us again, finally I grew tired of waiting and went to the bar myself. I did notify management and they had another waitress service us but we departed shortly afterwards because our rooms were ready. Later that evening, my wife and I went down to Salud to have some food and drinks, while the service was much better, the food was terrible. We had the Oaxaca Cheese Nachos, which were not very good, the Braised Beef Birria tacos, which were edible, and the Chipotle Chicken Tacos, which were extremely dry. The chicken was so dry that adding salsa did not even help. Finally, the parking was horrendous; we ended up parking on the street that runs around the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. Like you, I am very disappointed with the shortcomings in your Salud experience throughout your stay. We strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests. Clearly, in this case, our performance was far below standards. We are taking appropriate steps to address all the issues noted in your comments. Thank you for allowing us to recover. I certainly appreciate your thoughts and position.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Awesome place. I loved sitting out on the veranda in the evening sipping wine with the husband. The resort is large and accomodating!

They have a nice walk around the hotel grounds and a lazy river, which we unfortunately didn't get to use at the time we were there. This hotel is also very close to the Desert Museum which is why we picked to stay there.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here with my family in a king suite. The room is huge, with a separate bedroom for the king bed and a pull out in the living room. Bathroom has a giant shower, separate room for the toilet and a regular size tub. Two robes to use, lots of good shampoos, creams, sewing kit, the illusive and highly prized shoehorn... We were on the ground floor with two patios and steps from the lazy river. No need to grab a pool chair when you are this close. Best location in the hotel for pool access. Beds were insanely comfortable. Pillows were teeny but still good. A/C was quiet. Small fridge for chilling your drinks.

Staff was wonderfully friendly, every single one. Valet for the car was fast and easy. Resort fee included free meals for all three of my kids ( 11, 9 & 3) so I totally had no issue with it at all. Wifi and breakfast were included in our rate as well but I think that may have been a package.

Ate dinner at the signature grill outside at sunset. Food was yummy, they brought water non stop, and staff was delightful.

Pools were perfect for kids and parents alike. Lazy river had lots of tubes and you were allowed to float and sip your drink which does not suck!

At night a group of javelinas were along side the lazy river grazing as bats flew overhead. It was awesome and we could cross the zoo off our to do list!

Our room was a bit on the very dusty side so housekeeping was the only thing lacking. We did enjoy drawing faces in the dust so that is something, I guess.

Overall, not counting housekeeping, it was perfection. We would return in a heartbeat.
One star off for housekeeping's lack of housekeeping

Room Tip: 3316 is the room to get if you are hitting the pools hard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed 1 night before going to the Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain and we were very disappointed with the room that we had. We booked a Luxury Suite that has a living room with a Queen Murphy bed and a separate bedroom. The living room was filthy, the carpet had dirt all over and when we looked under our feet, they were getting black! Called to complained and couldn't get another room since they were sold out, they told us that their renovation is starting next month and they couldn't wait until it was completed. Our room was comped because of that and I was happy with that.

The only reason I'm not giving a terrible rating is because of the rest of the property, The lobby is very nice and the pools are very beautiful. We also had breakfast in their restaurant which was a very nice buffet.

As an Elite member for Marriott, I had free access to the spa facilities which had a very quiet pool which we loved! If we're in the area after the renovation are done, we will probably try the resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Marriott Rewards Member:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. We strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests. Clearly, in this case, our performance was far below standards. We are taking pertinent steps to address all the issues noted in your comments. I certainly appreciate your thoughts and position.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Although a bit outside of Tucson, this resort has a bit of something for everyone. I was there for a conference and enjoyed the resort. Hiking trails into the national park, several restaurants for dining, and a beautiful pool / terrace area.

Group activities in the morning and evening. A full service spa is available too.

The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable.

I enjoyed my stay here immensely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and SpaEnjoy the mountains of Arizona at JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa. Located just west of an area considered the birthplace of Tucson, AZ, this resort hotel is rich with culture, history and beauty. Experience a truly unique destination resort complete with world class spa facilities and nationally acclaimed Arizona golf courses. Fine dining and award winning restaurants further complement this one of a kind Tucson resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.