We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Facility and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #7 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Facility and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have gone to the desert over spring break three out of the last five years. Twice to the JW Marriott, Desert Ridge, and the JW at Starr Pass. Both are outstanding resorts. We have found the service at all JW's to be superior, without being stuffy. As beautiful as the resorts are, they are kid friendly. If the service at all JW's rate an "A", Starr Pass was just a hair better at an "A+". The golf course was unbelieveable. It was difficult, but an absolute spectacular blend of challenge, vistas, and quality layout and bent grass greens! Yes, in the Tucson desert!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool, patio and golf course are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    670
    245
    90
    40
    26
See reviews for
274
274
35
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Outstanding property, with an amazing view of Tucson and the surrounding desert mountain setting. Room was very nicely appointed, we had a beautiful view of the golf course, and comfortable. Temperature allowed us to enjoy the evening on the patio and see the lights of the city come on as the sun set - just perfect. Don't miss your complimentary tequila shot every evening - OLE! I even had some private time with a coyote, at the driving range, early one morning.
Great staff, from the hotel to the golf course. Service oriented, and very friendly with a quick smile - enjoy!

Room Tip: South side has the views of the resort and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

No better way to start the evening festivities; free Tequilla Toast each night in the open courtyard. Afterward, enjoy a beverage of your choosing and relax under the stars.
This is a sprawling resort, which is never overcrowded, even when a convention is in attendance.
Pros: swimming pools, lazy river, tasty dining options, comfy rooms
Cons: long walk from garage to hotel area, lazy river can be a little obnixious with loud families, non-resort dining is a few minute drive away

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I recently attended a conference at this hotel and it is a great property. I do not understand the reviews stating the rooms are tired and old. My room was excellent and the furnishings were in great shape. The hallway carpeting is in need of cleaning, but the room was good. Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
A special recognition to the Audio/video team particularly Anthony. He assisted with every need and was always smiling. I would stay here again for business or leisure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience, as it is always nice to receive feedback from a seasoned traveler. It was a joy to share your comments with our associates, and especially to notify Anthony of your kind words. Mr. Anthony defiantly embodies the spirit of the JW Marriott and Starr Pass and I am glad the he was able to take care of your needs. We look forward to your return and thank you for reviewing the JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

hotel was in need of maintenance & updating. Well used furniture and old paint. The hot banquet buffet food was cold and fair. Other Marriott resorts I find to be much better. The resort is very secluded. Nice pools.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We took 14 guys to Starr Pass for a 5 day golf trip from May 1 to May 5 and had a blast. The resort is beutiful, the staff freindly and helpful, rooms large and comfortable and finally the 3 nines were a pleasure to play.

This was our 6th annual trip and we have always gone to different places each year, but for the first time, everyone in the group voted to come back to Starr Pass next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your response on your past stay, I am ecstatic to hear that you loved your experience. It is an honor to read that your annual trip will include a comeback tour next year. Please let us know if we may be of assistance in making any arrangements for you and your friends. We look forward to your return and thank you for the exciting 5-Star review.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently had a 2 night stay at the JW Marriott in Tucson and was really impressed by the beauty and very nice appointments throughout the hotel. The room was large and spacious - and the bedding was excellent as I expected.
The disappointment for me was in ordering room service. I tried to call twice to place and order and held for an average of 5 minutes calling in twice in a row. It has an automated response that initially picks up. I would prefer the experience of a live person answering the call to let me know that there are other orders being taken, rather than an automated system that directs me to hold.
I expect more of a personal touch from a JW Marriott level of stay.
I would recommend the hotel overall. I just wouldn't wait until your actually hungry to place your in room service for dining. The food that came ultimately was okay. Nothing to write home about.
The other thing that I would note is that the entry/exit is not automated doors. So if you have multiple pieces of luggage and no one is at the door to help you - your on your own for manipulating the door and your multiple pieces (probably more a concern for a woman than a man).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experiences at the resort. We sincerely appreciate your four-star rating and I would like to inform you that we will take measures to address your shortcomings. Furthermore, on your return visit you will receive the personalized luxury service you have come to expect from the JW Marriott brand of hotels and resorts. Upon reading your review, I notified our In-Room Dining Manager about your experience and they will review the staffing levels to ensure that experience is not a constant. Secondly, I informed the Front Office Manager of your concerns about the entrance doors and we will also review the staffing and share your experience with the Guest Experience Attendants. I truly apologize that you did not experience a flawless experience and we are fortunate to have your viewpoint to correct these inadequacies. If there is anything else that I may be of assistance with, please feel free to contact me directly at chad.lybrook@marriott.com

Sincerely,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and SpaEnjoy the mountains of Arizona at JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa. Located just west of an area considered the birthplace of Tucson, AZ, this resort hotel is rich with culture, history and beauty. Experience a truly unique destination resort complete with world class spa facilities and nationally acclaimed Arizona golf courses. Fine dining and award winning restaurants further complement this one of a kind Tucson resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.