We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #4 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Methuen, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are looking for a place to relax this is your place. Away from city but always within driving distance of city. Overall hotel is clean but please get rid of rugs. Bathrooms have been updated but rooms need a few improvements. Our service has been fine. If you are looking for things to do don't expect at hotel. There is no concierge service and no areas for flyers.

Played golf at hotel and expect 150 per round. Course is fine and rental clubs are fine.

Every night at 530 enjoy cocktails and fire pits while trying to catch sunsets. Tried twice but hazy both nights.

Overall had a good stay but did expect more from Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for middle section of hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to share about your latest experience at the JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa. We sincerely value your personalized perspective about your recent experience, and I apologize that your experience did not exceed the expectations of excellence from a JW Marriott resort. The resort has an extensive “Rejuvenation” scheduled for the summer of 2013 that will bring an authentic look to our rooms. Thank you for highlighting the rental clubs at the Starr Pass Golf Shop, as the 2013 TaylorMade Rocket Bladez are some of the most prestigious clubs on the market. We thank you for taking time to share about your experience and look forward to your return. If there is anything else that I may be of assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at chad.lybrook@marriott.com

Sincerely,

Chad Lybrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    629
    234
    88
    38
    24
See reviews for
253
265
34
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

When I arrived at the Marriott Starr Pass, I was expecting a view of the City of Tucson, since this is what I had paid extra for, and what a reservation agent told me I would have with the "Signature View" room. It was overlooking the pool. In addition, there was supposed to be a balcony in the pricier room, but when I opened the glass doors, it was not there, but just a six inch space between the doors and the railing. When I called the front desk to ask why I didn't get the room I had reserved, they said the clerk who checked me in made a mistake. Then I asked to talk to a manager who insisted that I DID have a "balcony" because the doors opened and that the clerk was "in training". When I asked her where the key to the mini bar was, she said someone would bring it up to my room, but it never arrived. By this time it was 9 pm and I was too tired to move since I was in a building far away from the registration desk and main building. They never apologized for giving me the "wrong" room. This is not a luxury resort. It's a hotel in a nice setting, but if you aren't lucky enough to get a room with a real view and and a real balcony, it's just mediocre. Room finishes were average, and the hotel is a long winding drive from the city. Not to be done at night, with the lack of street lights in Tucson due to the nearby observatories. Beware of empty promises on the Marriott Website. Don't pay for them, and don't walk to the remote buildings for a room with "city view" (building 6)- they won't be there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, I sincerely apologize that your experience fell short of your expectations. The associates at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa understand that attention to detail is extremely important, and I apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to surpass your expectations. Thank you for sharing about your experience.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After our second stay here, can't say enough good things, other than its website does not do it justice. Only complaint was a very green waiter at Primo, the more upscale restaurant. Pool service and cleanliness outstanding. Breakfast buffet a bit pricey but you get a lot of food and options. Love the direct access to Tucson Mountain Park out the front door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to make a lasting impression on your next visit. Hopefully another Shooting Strarr Experience!

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The JW at Star Pass is a nice resort but it is clearly in need of some updates and improvements. I was pleasantly surprised that the front desk accommodated our request, made when we made the reservation, for adjoining rooms with the requested bed configurations (1 king & 2 queens). One room was ready when we checked in around 3:30 and the other room was not. Front desk associate took my cell # and said she would call when it was ready. Never got a call but when I went by the desk at 6pm they said it was ready. Bell staff was very friendly and helpful. Lazy River & Slide are kind of small but still fun. Water in the lazy river was at least 5 degrees colder than the water in the main pool. Chairs and umbrellas around the pools are in need of replacement. Slide shuts down at 5pm which is way too early especially considering it does not open until 11. Rooms are fairly large but are tired. The doors on the cabinet holding the TV just about fell off when the bellman opened them to show us the room. The luggage rack also collapsed when he put a suitcase on it. Beds were comfortable but overall the rooms need updating. There was a big iron burn on the carpet in one of our rooms. Also, one of our rooms had one robe while the other room had none. Self-parking is a long way from the lobby. Valet is pretty quick & efficient. Overall, a nice resort with pretty views conveniently located near central Tucson. If the JW Marriott Desert Ridge in Phoenix is a “5 star” resort, Star Pass is maybe a “4star”. If they don't put some much needed moey into the property it will fall to a 3 star and likely lose it's affiliation/branding as a JW.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear J S:

Thank you for taking time to share about your latest experience at the JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa. We sincerely value your personalized perspective about your recent experience, and I apologize that your experience did not exceed the expectations of excellence from a JW Marriott resort; your concerns will be communicated to the highest level. The resort has an extensive “Rejuvenation” scheduled for the summer of 2013 that will bring an authentic look to our rooms. As a TripAdvisor Top Contributor, we look forward to your return and the opportunity to make a lasting impression on your next visit. If there is anything else that I may be of assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at chad.lybrook@marriott.com

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been coming to this resort with my family since it opened about ten years ago. We stay at this property because of it's proximity to the places we want to be near. It appears that since it opened there has not been any improvements and over the past two or three years the quality of service has declined significantly. The property itself is in a beautiful, quiet area, away from traffic and the views are remarkable. The resort has everything necessary to be great, but somehow because of lack of upkeep and service the hotel falls short of it's potential. Still, we stay there instead of some of the nicer, newer resorts such as the Ritz because it is the best in the area we wish to be in.

Here are the areas where it falls short: The Signature Grill restaurant food and service is mediocre and not recommended. The rooms are inconsistently cleaned, and turn down service when requested (twice on our last visit) cannot be counted on. Perhaps due to cost cuts they are short staffed? The towels are small and thread bear. The sheets are also sometimes thread bear. Why aren't they replaced? If I can see the holes, why can't the housekeeper? The rooms decor is tired and there are stains on the old carpets. The rooms close to the elevators (and at least the next two) are to be avoided. They don't seem loud when you are in them, but when you are lying in bed at night listening to them they are very loud. The rooms on the main side are far from the parking lot so if you are going to self park and don't want to walk a lot, request a room on the side closer to the parking lot.

Here are the good points: The smell of the mesquite wood burning in the pit during the evenings at the Salud Bar is wonderful. The Primo restaurant is quite good, though somewhat expensive and a little formal. There is a Starbucks downstairs. The valet parking staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms are big. There are nearby, easy to walk to trails for hiking, biking or running. The common spaces are nice and welcoming. The patio of the Salud bar is a perfect place to be in the morning with your Starbucks beverage and newspaper/ipad in hand. The beautiful location and city and mountain views are outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to share about your latest experience at the JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa. We sincerely value your personalized perspective about your recent experience, and I apologize that your experience did not reflect what you expect and deserve from a JW Marriott resort, and I will communicate your concerns. The resort has an extensive “Rejuvenation” scheduled for the summer of 2013 that will bring an authentic look to our rooms. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to make a lasting impression on your next visit. If there is anything else that I may be of service, , please feel free to contact me directly at chad.lybrook@marriott.com

Sincerely,

Chad Lybrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful setting in the foothills overlooking the city of Tucson. Two good restaurants, two pools, and three jacuzzis. A tequila toast every night on the patio is always a highlight even though I've heard it many times. Love sitting out on the patio with friends having a drink. Rooms are a nice size and very attractive with large bathrooms. Wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. What an amazing experience sitting by the Fire Pits, roasting marshmallows and enjoying the gleam of the city lights. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to make a lasting impression on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We selected this resort because of its proximity to Saguaro National Park (West). The setting in the Starr Pass area is beautiful. The gorgeous view from our room included the pool, golf course, and mountains. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was excellent. The fruit presentation was beautiful.......perfectly ripened and cut. My husband selected the Cold buffet most mornings while I enjoyed the made to order option. The wait staff was prompt, accommodating and very friendly. We were especially impressed by our hostess, Kathy, who knew our name by the second day. She was very friendly and expressed interest in our explorations of the area.
We thought the hotel was immaculate and were very impressed by the staff. Every staff member we came in contact with (even if just passing in the hall) greeted us morning, noon and night. I realize management probably expects this of their employees, but it certainly made us feel special and very welcome. We also noticed hotel personnel constantly picking up things, straightening and tending to the details needed to keep a resort neat and appealing.
The golf course is beautiful and there are hiking trails right on the property as well as a morning and evening Native American ritual which were both lovely. The pools offer variety... including two spas and a lazy river. My husband used the gym which he said was excellent. Our turn down service included 2 bottles of water each evening which we appreciated for our hikes in the National Park.
The only negative is that the hotel is on one side of the town and Saguaro Nat Park (East) and Sabino Canyon are on the other side with no expressway to get across town. My suggestion (if you are there for a short time) would be to choose the East or West side of town based on the activities and attractions you want to visit. There were several upscale places to stay on the East side of Tucson. However, if we return to Tucson, we would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can, pay a few extra dollars for the pool/mountain view. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Senior Contributor:

It was with great pleasure to read your review entitled “Impressive!”. We greatly appreciate that you were able to provide such a thorough account of your recent experience. I will also have to agree with you about our natural setting is just remarkable. Thank you for highlighting the associates’ friendly demeanors and we look forward to welcoming you back for another tranquil experience.

Sincerely,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and SpaEnjoy the mountains of Arizona at JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa. Located just west of an area considered the birthplace of Tucson, AZ, this resort hotel is rich with culture, history and beauty. Experience a truly unique destination resort complete with world class spa facilities and nationally acclaimed Arizona golf courses. Fine dining and award winning restaurants further complement this one of a kind Tucson resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.