We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque locale” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Picturesque locale”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hotel is situated in a scenic and beautiful locale. However, staff (check-in, room service, restaurant) were largely perfunctory and lethargic - lacking charm (in contrast to the hotel and its surroundings). Room fixtures/decor was a little less than what I expected for a JW Marriott, especially for the rate charged. Breakfast selection was varied and good. Walk from the self-parking car park was a little tortuous if you don't care for valet. I was charged a "resort fee" that I was not informed about at check-in but that they removed upon my challenge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your recent experience. I apologize that your accommodations did not reflect what you expect and deserve at a JW Marriott. I sincerely regret that you did not receive a personalized experience, and we hope you will give us a second chance and stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    252
    93
    41
    26
See reviews for
283
285
37
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, FL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This spot is an annual trip for us. Wouldn't stay any where else in Tucson. Excellent courteous service & a gorgeous place! The only reason I give a 4 star this time is for some reason housekeeping skipped cleaning our room one day & missed turn down service as well on that same day...strange, not sure why. I reported it but even so I had to ask for the $25 room service fee to be removed from our bill upon check out.

Room Tip: I feel all rooms have excellent views here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share about your experiences at the resort. I sincerely apologize about your experience with housekeeping and turn down service. We consistently strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests, and clearly we fell short on this instance. I am glad to hear that the remainder of your experiences met or exceeded expectations. We are honored to host you on an annual basis and look forward to your return next year.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a quick, romantic stay at the JW Marriott Starr Pass. It's a larger property than I would normally choose, but the staff was very friendly, so made the experience seem more intimate. Lovely terrace for dining/ drinks. EXCEPT they allow smoking, including cigars. Ugh. Had a nice Sunday brunch with one of the best margaritas I've ever tasted (made with Blood Orange puree). Yum. Room was very comfortable. But they should rethink the quasi C&W music you are subjected to if you try to sit out on the small balcony.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your honest feedback on your past stay, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and sincerely appreciate your objective feedback. We look forward to your return and thank you for reviewing the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just spent three days at the JW Marriott in Tucson and were so pleasantly surprised by the beauty but mostly the exceptional staff. Each employee we encountered was friendly, efficient, and really seemed to love his/her job! We highly recommend this hotel for a get away or business trip. We will use it again in the future! E. Uhl

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. We sincerely appreciate that you recognized our strongest asset, the ladies and gentlemen of the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa. We sincerely appreciate the privilege of being the recipient of your first Trip Advisor review. Thank you for sharing your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Lots to love about this resort! The setting outside of town and in the mountains is unbeatable. We immediately got out onto the nearby trails where you could go for an hour or for many hours. We admired the views and then got back to the resort where we wished we had more time to explore the pools. But it was just about dark and time for the tequila toast on the patio - which we didn't want to miss! The bar and restaurant service were excellent. Our waiter turned out to be the one who tells the story before the toast. It was nice to hear some history and tradition.

We ate dinner in the Signature Grill. It was excellent! My husband had the salmon and I had the vegetarian tostada. The waiter warned that the sauce on the tostada was bland, and recommended a side of salsa. We thought maybe he was warning us away from this dish because it was the least expensive thing on the menu, but he was absolutely right! We also ate breakfast in the grill the next morning. It was one of the most beautiful and fresh breakfast buffets I've ever seen! There was a huge amount of fresh fruit - including big bowls of raspberries, blueberries and strawberries. A woman in front of me took just about the entire bowl of raspberries. But they filled it up immediately!

The front desk staff, concierge and wait staff were all super friendly (even when we heard a few people complaining about small stuff e.g. not having a paper delivered to their door, and not being able to figure out the internet). Big plus!

The only downside was that the room was very standard for a place that costs this much per night. It was nice and clean, but just not fancy. That's probably ok since the rest of the resort is where you'll want to spend the most time.

We were there without our kids, but we would definitely go back for a family vacation. There are huge pools and a lazy river - as well as the extensive hiking trails.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing about your experience at the resort. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. I have to agree, the Signature Grill offers an amazing selection of local cuisine. Than you for taking time to share about your experience and we hope to see you back with your family in the near future.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's a massive hotel, but indeed lives up to the JW Marriott name. Rooms are clean and spacious, hotel staff is friendly and extremely helpful. Turn down service everynight with a couple waters and a note about the local fauna or customs was a nice touch.

I was there with a conference and the meeting space was perfect for our needs. The room temps were perfect (how many times can you say you sat in a hotel ballroom and felt that the temperature was nice?). The food for our group - WAS AWESOME! I can't speak to the menu at restaurants or etc. on site, but I can testify that the conference meals were top notch.

Gym is nice but fills up quickly if there is a large group there (I was unable to get onto one of the cardio machines in the mornings and there are maybe 5 or 6 total - for such a large resort this seems off kilter a bit)

The resort is very spread out, so if you're coming for a wedding or conference and don't want to walk miles and miles request a room on the side of the property near the parking garage (this would put you close to the conference area). If your preference is to be a little removed in a more quiet area the other side of the hotel (to your left if you're at the check in desk) is best. Also, room service closes at 10, so if you're having cocktails or planning a late arrival be prepared to be hungry ... all delivery options stop at 11:30.

Room Tip: The resort is very spread out, so if you're coming for a wedding or conference and want to be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your recent experience. Thank you for taking the time to highlight some of the features of the resort. I am pleased to hear that you had an terrific experience during your conference, and we look forward to your return and the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned from a five-night stay at the JW Marriott Starr Pass. Overall, the experience was one of the more pleasurable getaways we've had in years.

The most outstanding aspect of the resort is that it backs to the desert about five miles out of town. The desert is both stark and beautiful at this time of year, with comfortably warm days and crisp nights. There are numerous paths that are great for hikes from one to many hours through the desert. This is a welcome contrast to other JW resorts (Phoenix, Palm Springs area) which basically back to other resorts, golf courses or developments. We don't golf, but for those who do the adjacent course looks nifty. For us, the access to the desert around the oasis of the resort set the tone for our stay.

We were greeted by Tiffany at the reception desk upon arrival. She was evidently a trainee, but well trained at that and delightful. Not her fault, but we didn't really have much of an option for an upgraded room (gold status). We were fine but not delighted with the ground level room we had that overlooked the parking lot of the spa area. Marriott has never been particularly good with upgrades when we've used points, so we're not that surprised.

Our room was nice (sans the view), comfortable and well appointed. We could do with a real fridge and ditch the hybrid half mini bar/half (not that cold or big) convenience fridge. The spa amenities in the bathroom were fabulous, the shower hot and invigorating, and the cleaning staff very kind and efficient.

In fact, the staff were all great. The level of service was what you'd expect at a JW without being stuffy at all. Everyone from the managers to the maintenance staff walking the halls made eye contact and greeted us warmly. Even one of the suits giving a VIP tour stopped to say hello as we walked by the pool bar.

Overall the property is very nice. We enjoyed the Starbucks on site every morning. On site meals were expensive, so we ate in only one night at the Signature Grill. The menu is a bit eclectic (less so than Primo) but we found good options at a reasonable price for resort food. The selection of local beers was interesting between the various bars. Some of the local craft beer is excellent! The Strong Ale custom brewed for the JW was particularly well done. (Side note: for a great dinner downtown, try The Cafe Poca Cosa. Or to take you back to your hippie college days if you had them, walk around 4th Avenue south of campus and try your luck at one of the many restaurants. We enjoyed Brooklyn Pizza.)

A highlight of the stay was an afternoon at the on site spa. My wife and I both had terrific massage treatments and I added on a Creosote body polish which was over the top. It was my birthday and the staff treated my wife and I to a champagne toast after our treatments, which was a nice touch and much appreciated.

The most unexpected and delightful aspect of the stay was the 7:30 am time with Larry Red House around the fire pit. Larry played his native flute to greet the rising sun, and led those assembled in a ceremony burning sage offerings or prayers to the Creator. Larry is a kind, wise and humble soul, and it was the best way to start the day ever. It was genuine and meaningful on many levels without anything hokey about it. He is so connected to nature the doves answer the call of his flute and often come up to the fire pit area with other birds to be in on the experience.

We appreciated this property living up to the JW standard of excellence with a Tucson flair. The vibe around the place is at once upscale but genuinely warm and inviting as well. We are looking forward to a return trip to this desert gem.

Room Tip: The rooms with the pool/city light view are the best choices, as well as the higher rooms not facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are glad that you had a relaxing and enjoyable experience at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa. Thank you for the thorough review of your experience, it is always nice to get the perspective a TripAdvisor “Top Contributor”. We sincerely appreciate your encouraging words and thank you for taking the time to share about your stay. We hope to see you back for another wonderful birthday and for many more enjoyable experiences.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and SpaEnjoy the mountains of Arizona at JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa. Located just west of an area considered the birthplace of Tucson, AZ, this resort hotel is rich with culture, history and beauty. Experience a truly unique destination resort complete with world class spa facilities and nationally acclaimed Arizona golf courses. Fine dining and award winning restaurants further complement this one of a kind Tucson resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.