We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Back to JW Marriott Starr pass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2nd Time Back to JW Marriott Starr pass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Tucson for a weekend get-a-away and 2nd trip back to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa. We came with 2 other couples this time and again JW did not disappoint! We LOVE this hotel! The views are breathtaking, the large patio with fire pits and amazing views is relaxing, and the rooms are very nice. The 5:30 sunset tequila toast on the patio is such a cool experience too! I would have to say the very best part of this hotel is the masseuse's in the spa. Both times I have been here I got a massage and came out saying "That was the best massage of my life!". My 2 girlfriends said the same thing. We took advantage of a promotion they had where you get a $100 hotel credit, so we used it toward the spa. After the credit the massage was $50 out of pocket, not too bad for an excellent massage and spa day. We also love that they have a Starbucks in the hotel as an alternative, as the breakfast in the restaurant is pretty pricey for breakfast (about $50 for 2 people).

One (-) about this hotel is it is far from 4th street/college area, so you have to cab it to go anywhere. Both trips we asked for a "cab" and they brought a town car. We didn't want a town car ($35 one way to 4th street), we wanted a Cab to save money. If you want a cab, be very specific and say "Not a towncar, I want a Cab"....otherwise if you just ask for a cab, they bring you a towncar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out of your day to detail the fabulous amenities of the Resort, and especially the Hashani Spa. I also enjoy the Spa amenities, such as the Saline Lap Pool and the Eucalyptus Steam Room. Thank you for also sharing about your transportation recommendation, as I will share this with our team. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to your return!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    329
    112
    49
    31
See reviews for
345
354
42
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The resort is lovely, rooms are clean and pool is relaxing. Primo and the their grill are tasty. Don't bother with bbq at the entrance. I've been twice and the food was awful. Poolside service is excellent. Sunset tequila is a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to highlight to commend the resort. I was delighted to hear that you enjoy Primo and was curious about your experiences at the Catalina BBQ Co. I would welcome any feedback you have. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was at Starr Pass Resort in April for a sales conference & stayed on an extra day at my own expense. The staff was very attentive. It really was everything a resort should be & more.

The daily 5:30pm tequila toast outside on the veranda was elegant & a perfect pause in the day. Too, the infused tequilas at the Salud Lounge on the lower level were not to be missed! One night the actor Stephen Fry was at the bar, & we were all entertained. I felt educated in tequila by the time a left—a super cool bonus.

I also took a yoga class in the Fitness Center, which was just what my body needed after sitting in meetings all day.

The resort is an easy 15 minutes north of the airport & simple to find.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to highlight to recommend the resort. I believe that is a strong compliment that you extended your stay during your conference. I am glad to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy your experience. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Husband and I stayed 2 nights Jan. 22 & 23 for a relaxing get-away. Starr Pass Resort was a perfect pick. The property provided everything we needed. Loved the grounds and walking trails. The outdoor patio at the Salud lobby lounge is awesome. We loved the very large deck overlooking the city, gorgeous views of sunrise and sunsets, comfy outdoor furniture, fire pit, heat lamps, happy hour, live entertainment and a nightly Tequila toast and morning Native American ritual. Rooms were great and resorts location made for an easy home base. Service was wonderful and we hope to be back sometime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to highlight the features of our resort and your recent stay. A favorite among our guests, the Salud! Patio offers award winning cocktails and majestic views. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent a long weekend in January at the Starr Pass Resort. It was everything a resort should be and more. The rooms were spacious and nice, the amenities plentiful (spa, golf, pool, shops, restaurants, Starbucks, Fedex office), and the staff super friendly and helpful. It is an easy 15 minutes north of the airport and easy to find. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for about your recent experience at our resort, I am thrilled to hear that you experienced an enjoyable relaxing stay. We look forward to your return and thank you for reviewing the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa.

Warm regards,
Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel and property. The front desk clerk gave us a really nice upgrade upon check in at no additional cost, and we didn't even ask for it. We stayed at the hotel during a chilly period (daytime highs around 60 degrees), but the main outdoor pool was very warm and suitable even for night swimming. The spa facilities were first class and the food at the Signature Grill was excellent. Nice bar and outdoor patio area with gorgeous views. The only minor complaint I have is that the golf courses are pricey to play.

Definitely the best Marriott property I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely appreciate that your glowing words about the resort. We sincerely apperciate that you were able to time out of your day to detail the fabulous amenities of the Resort, and especially the Hashani Spa. I also enjoy the Spa amenities, such as the Saline Lap Pool and the Eucalyptus Steam Room. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to your return!

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuma
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent the weekend at the J W Starr Pass Resort! It never disappoints! Location, location!!!! The stars illuminated that wonderful Sonoran sky, the fire pits were roaring, guitar playing, a few shots of Tequila, and hey all is well with the world.
As always your service was superb! You do cater to you guest, we were very impressed with all the staff! Could not pick just one. Your Pineapple Creme Brûlée is out of this world! Thanks for an amazing weekend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

I love your review! Thank you for taking time out of your day to highlight the fabulous features of the resort. I would have to agree that the stunning views and exquisite location enhances each individual experience. It does not get much better than relazing next to the Fire Pits soaking in the energy. We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your recent JW Marriott Starr Pass experience, and we look forward to delivering another personalized experience in the near future!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.7 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
10.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#12 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
13.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#7 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.