We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views - secluded from downtown Tucson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% This Summer!
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely views - secluded from downtown Tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The resort is lovely, rooms are clean and pool is relaxing. Primo and the their grill are tasty. Don't bother with bbq at the entrance. I've been twice and the food was awful. Poolside service is excellent. Sunset tequila is a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to highlight to commend the resort. I was delighted to hear that you enjoy Primo and was curious about your experiences at the Catalina BBQ Co. I would welcome any feedback you have. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    318
    110
    46
    30
See reviews for
326
335
40
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was at Starr Pass Resort in April for a sales conference & stayed on an extra day at my own expense. The staff was very attentive. It really was everything a resort should be & more.

The daily 5:30pm tequila toast outside on the veranda was elegant & a perfect pause in the day. Too, the infused tequilas at the Salud Lounge on the lower level were not to be missed! One night the actor Stephen Fry was at the bar, & we were all entertained. I felt educated in tequila by the time a left—a super cool bonus.

I also took a yoga class in the Fitness Center, which was just what my body needed after sitting in meetings all day.

The resort is an easy 15 minutes north of the airport & simple to find.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to highlight to recommend the resort. I believe that is a strong compliment that you extended your stay during your conference. I am glad to learn that you were able to relax and enjoy your experience. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Husband and I stayed 2 nights Jan. 22 & 23 for a relaxing get-away. Starr Pass Resort was a perfect pick. The property provided everything we needed. Loved the grounds and walking trails. The outdoor patio at the Salud lobby lounge is awesome. We loved the very large deck overlooking the city, gorgeous views of sunrise and sunsets, comfy outdoor furniture, fire pit, heat lamps, happy hour, live entertainment and a nightly Tequila toast and morning Native American ritual. Rooms were great and resorts location made for an easy home base. Service was wonderful and we hope to be back sometime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to highlight the features of our resort and your recent stay. A favorite among our guests, the Salud! Patio offers award winning cocktails and majestic views. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent a long weekend in January at the Starr Pass Resort. It was everything a resort should be and more. The rooms were spacious and nice, the amenities plentiful (spa, golf, pool, shops, restaurants, Starbucks, Fedex office), and the staff super friendly and helpful. It is an easy 15 minutes north of the airport and easy to find. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for about your recent experience at our resort, I am thrilled to hear that you experienced an enjoyable relaxing stay. We look forward to your return and thank you for reviewing the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa.

Warm regards,
Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel and property. The front desk clerk gave us a really nice upgrade upon check in at no additional cost, and we didn't even ask for it. We stayed at the hotel during a chilly period (daytime highs around 60 degrees), but the main outdoor pool was very warm and suitable even for night swimming. The spa facilities were first class and the food at the Signature Grill was excellent. Nice bar and outdoor patio area with gorgeous views. The only minor complaint I have is that the golf courses are pricey to play.

Definitely the best Marriott property I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely appreciate that your glowing words about the resort. We sincerely apperciate that you were able to time out of your day to detail the fabulous amenities of the Resort, and especially the Hashani Spa. I also enjoy the Spa amenities, such as the Saline Lap Pool and the Eucalyptus Steam Room. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to your return!

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuma
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent the weekend at the J W Starr Pass Resort! It never disappoints! Location, location!!!! The stars illuminated that wonderful Sonoran sky, the fire pits were roaring, guitar playing, a few shots of Tequila, and hey all is well with the world.
As always your service was superb! You do cater to you guest, we were very impressed with all the staff! Could not pick just one. Your Pineapple Creme Brûlée is out of this world! Thanks for an amazing weekend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

I love your review! Thank you for taking time out of your day to highlight the fabulous features of the resort. I would have to agree that the stunning views and exquisite location enhances each individual experience. It does not get much better than relazing next to the Fire Pits soaking in the energy. We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your recent JW Marriott Starr Pass experience, and we look forward to delivering another personalized experience in the near future!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our friends brought us to their favorite place to watch the sunset: the patio of the JW Marriott in the Starr Pass area of southern Tucson. Free valet parking. Walk through the lobby, and head downstairs to the outside patio area. Try to get there about 30 minutes before sunset, then you'll get a spot at one of the fire pits. At sunset, waiters pass out free tequila shots, and the hotel staff leads everyone in toasting the sunset.

Then just sit back and relax as the setting sun paints the mountains in gorgeous pinks and purples. As darkness falls, you can watch the lights in Tucson or enjoy some star gazing. Tucson has an ordinance for low lighting so the various observatories can see deep space. So the stars are especially brilliant in Tucson. Enjoy the show!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your amazing illustration of the Arriba! Abajo! Ceremony. It has now taken place every evening for the past 8 years, and is conducted at 5:30pm. It truly sounds like you had an amazing experience and we appreciate your recognition of our associates. We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your recent JW Marriott Starr Pass experience, and we look forward to delivering another personalized experience!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#7 Family Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.