We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch -- and salute-- the sunset in Tucson here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #7 of 127 hotels in Tucson
U.S.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Watch -- and salute-- the sunset in Tucson here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our friends brought us to their favorite place to watch the sunset: the patio of the JW Marriott in the Starr Pass area of southern Tucson. Free valet parking. Walk through the lobby, and head downstairs to the outside patio area. Try to get there about 30 minutes before sunset, then you'll get a spot at one of the fire pits. At sunset, waiters pass out free tequila shots, and the hotel staff leads everyone in toasting the sunset.

Then just sit back and relax as the setting sun paints the mountains in gorgeous pinks and purples. As darkness falls, you can watch the lights in Tucson or enjoy some star gazing. Tucson has an ordinance for low lighting so the various observatories can see deep space. So the stars are especially brilliant in Tucson. Enjoy the show!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your amazing illustration of the Arriba! Abajo! Ceremony. It has now taken place every evening for the past 8 years, and is conducted at 5:30pm. It truly sounds like you had an amazing experience and we appreciate your recognition of our associates. We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your recent JW Marriott Starr Pass experience, and we look forward to delivering another personalized experience!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    245
    90
    40
    26
See reviews for
274
274
35
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our first visit to the JW Marriott Starr Pass - but not our first visit to Tucson - exceeded all our expectations. The property is magnificent, set in the foothills with breathtaking views of the golf course, mountains with thousands of sagueros, and the lights of Tucson below. The staff were the best! The food in the restaurants was comparable to fine dining we've experienced in San Fran, NYC, and others. We enjoyed hiking in the adjacent desert, working out in the fitness center, and biking in the area. We don't play golf, but the course looks amazing.

We visited in January ... the weather was perfect ... high of 70 and low of 40 (great for sitting around the fire pits and sipping wine in the evening).

This resort is very similar to the JW Marriott in San Antonio that we also enjoy. Marriott continues to impress us with expert management of their beautiful properties.

Room Tip: Ask (demand) a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

WOW!!! I love the title of your review! Thank you for taking time out of your day to highlight your experience. We appreciate your encouraging comments about our service and dining experiences. Personalizing your experience is our goal and I am glad that you were able to share your experience. We look forward to delivering another amazing experience!

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellent service. I love the Starbucks and bar/lounge/terrace area. My first watermelon tequila. We did the morning hike - so very nice and worth the early wake up. We also did the Native American spiritual ceremony - also very nice and it provided a very special moment on the trip. We'll definitely be back. One issue with several room items that were inoperable - the charging station/plugs and the room safe. I reported both issues several times and neither were corrected. The rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Building 5 with a room facing east would have a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, we appreciate your cheering comments about the different amenities of the resort. Furthermore, I sincerely apologize that your experience was nothing short of perfect. The associates at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa understand that attention to detail is extremely important, and I apologize that your experience did not meet our normal standards of excellence. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a great weekend stay at this resort.

The hotel is in a very quiet and scenic location. There's great hiking right outside the resort as well as some very nice amenities on the property. The hotel grounds and rooms were immaculate.

While we had some issues with room service and the delivery of newspapers and water, our issues were immediately attended to and the staff was always courteous and well trained in their handling of the matters.

The hotel rooms seemed very quiet and we never hears lots of hall noise or plumbing.

A quality property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, we appreciate your cheering comments about the different amenities of the resort. Furthermore, I sincerely apologize that your experience was nothing short of perfect. The associates at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa understand that attention to detail is extremely important, and I apologize that your experience did not meet our normal standards of excellence. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at JW Marriott Star Pass Resort & Spa and attended the Jazz Concert on New Years Eve & we really enjoyed our room! It had the cleanest bath tub that I've ever seen! The room was bright & cheery, the bathroom was large & spotless, it was such a beautiful room that we didn't want to leave. We requested late check out & had the front desk watch our bag so we could eat in the hotel restaurant. We sat outside to enjoy the beautiful view. Our brunch was Yummy. It was the perfect ending to our little mini vacation. We will be back!

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool & mountains, it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just returned from a New Years trip to Starr Pass. Although we had been there two or three times before we have never experienced the superb level of service we received on this visit. From the staff at the check-in to the parking valet the service and willingness to help was way over the top.
Request a room on the golf course side....fantastic views.
Although the golf course is a "resort" course it will eat you up if you play the wrong set of tees. Get very far off the fairway and you'll need another ball. Back two sets of tees have some very long forced carries just to reach the fairway.
BBQ restaurant at the golf course was fantastic for lunch or a casual dinner.
The basic rooms are nice but the 1 bedroom suites are outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors facing the golf course. (Bldg 3).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is my second business trip to this property -- absolutely amazing. The rooms are very comfortable, amazing views, great desert walks right outside the front door. Dining can be expensive, especially at Primo, but very nice experience. Great to have a Starbucks on site. Only potential downside for some might be the need for a car, especially for business travelers who may take a cab or a shuttle to the resort from the airport.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad view at all; but a balcony will be a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and SpaEnjoy the mountains of Arizona at JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa. Located just west of an area considered the birthplace of Tucson, AZ, this resort hotel is rich with culture, history and beauty. Experience a truly unique destination resort complete with world class spa facilities and nationally acclaimed Arizona golf courses. Fine dining and award winning restaurants further complement this one of a kind Tucson resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.