We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Resort Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“5 Star Resort Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel and property are top notch. It is beautifully set up against the Starr Pass hills at the end of the road. The property is immaculate, the staff very helpful and accomodating, and the atmosphere is great. The secluded location takes you away from the noise of the city and provides for a very relaxing stay in an elegant setting.

It is also very convenient to many Tucson attractions such as the Desert Museum, Old Tucson Studios, and Gates Pass.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

WOW! Thank you for the five-star rating and for sharing about your recent JW Starr Pass visit, we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. We sincerely appreciate that you highlighted the local attractions, my favorite being the Sonoran Dessert Museum. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to make an eternal impression on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    292
    103
    45
    27
See reviews for
300
315
39
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for my 50th birthday. I booked one of the king executive suites. When we checked in I asked Todd for the best suite he had since it was my birthday. He gave us the suite on the 6th floor with spectacular views of the pool & golf course. We even had our own large patio. We ate in both restaurants and played golf which was spectacular also. The service from every area of the hotel was outstanding. There are several fire pits in the patio area which were inviting and you get a great view overlooking Tucson. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Congratulations and thank you for celebrating your 50th Birthday with us! I am pleased to hear that you had a memorable personalized experience. Thank you for highlighting the many amenities that are offered at the resort. Thank you for sharing your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 51st Birthday!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

It was a long flight and Knew it was to be business, but was I surprised. set away from a lot with all the amenities, the JW Marriott Sarr Pass Resort and Spa is a place to be at.
very healthy atmosphere and relaxing activities to boot.
quiet, scenic, and tranquill for the one who would like to get away. Service is awesome they are top notch! can not wait to go back and take advantage of one of the top spas they are know for.
not just for business but to get away and mellow.

Room Tip: all are good just book and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your reaction on your past stay, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to make a lasting impression on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wife and I just finished a 4 day here.
Pros:
Beautiful grounds
Friendly and helpful staff
Nice location and easy access to downtown
Salud bar has nice settting overlooking property and down on to city
Nice pool
Nice golf course

Cons:
place did seem understaffed with exception of Salud bar
Spa advertised 7-7 hours, but no services after early before 9 and after 4 pm though we could not see any other people there
At golf course drink cart came by one time, really $159 a round and can't get a drink
House cleaning sounds a little picky, but half hearted cleaning, things like toilet paper not put on ring, no shampoo or soap replaced

For price point just feel they could do a little more

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share about your experience. Please accept my apologies that your stay was anything less than exceptional; I will personally communicate your concerns. If you have any further comments or concerns, feel free to contact me at chad.lybrook@marriott.com

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the third year in a row that I have stayed at the JW and the experience is so satisfying! Great wait staff and such a relaxing and restoring stay. The view is gorgeous and I always feel like I am tucked away in my own special resort away from the hustle and bustle of life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share about your experience. It sounds like the perfect getaway while you were our guest! Anytime you want to escape the Phoenix area, Starr Pass will welcome your return!

Kind regards,
Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison,AL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nestled on the mountainside in Tucson, the large resort offers something for everyone.
They have a morning group hike included in the resort fees. The views are great, Especially if you like the outdoors.
Kids will love the pool area, including fountains to play in, a lap pool, cabanas, and hot tubs for the chillier winter season. The golf course looks nice, but I don't play.
You can enjoy breakfast outdoors, or lounge by a firepit on the terrace.
The staff is courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for selecting the JW Marriott Starr Pass for your recent visit to Tucson. Hiker’s Paradise? Yes, how could you say otherwise with the Tucson Mountain Park containing 20,000 acres and 62 miles of multi use trails. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and thank you for taking the time to share about your stay. I sincerely appreciate that you highlighted our natural environment and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is my 2nd time at this resort, I was here for a small convention. I like everything about this property. It has a fantastic "ambiance"..they go out of the way to promote the american inidan heritage here. I did not use the health club, pools or trails. I was very impressed with the service at every level, from the bar in the lobby to the service at the convention meals, to the front desk and the maid service..all TOP NOTCH..Nice Job!! Even the room service meal I ordered one night arrived hot and on time...forgot to mention the valet service..excellent! I had a room overlooking the interior of the property and had a view of the main patio that has a fantastic view of the valley and overlooked the main pool...beautiful!!! They have native american flute music piped into most of the halls at the perfect sound level..not distracting..just kind of a haunting beauty..perfect. The convention meals were very good...I have to say that the service was amazing for the number of people they were feeding..I saw a number of managers working the floor at this time and everyone worked well together..My room was very comfortable with a good size flat screen TV, minibar/fridge (I have not seen this before and it was great for keeping a couple of cold bottles of water). Beds and linens were very nice..the shower had great pressure. I played the Rattlesnake golf course and love it...very tight...excellent condition..not long...target golf for sure..There are some excellent holes on this course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

WOW! It sounds like you had an amazing experience during your convention. Thank you for sharing about your experience and your kind words. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to make a lasting impression on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and SpaEnjoy the mountains of Arizona at JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa. Located just west of an area considered the birthplace of Tucson, AZ, this resort hotel is rich with culture, history and beauty. Experience a truly unique destination resort complete with world class spa facilities and nationally acclaimed Arizona golf courses. Fine dining and award winning restaurants further complement this one of a kind Tucson resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.