We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Local Favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We are fortunate to live very close to this resort and treat ourselves to a luxury weekend there when we can. While the rooms are small by luxury resort standards, they are beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are wonderful. We have dined in a few of the restaurants and, for the most part, they have been excellent but overpriced. We were very unimpressed with Primo but just may not be sophisticated enough to appreciate it. Highlights of our stays there include: sitting on the gorgeous patio enjoying freshly prepared guacamole and chips with the amazing prickly pear margarita; floating in the lazy river and ordering a drink from the comfort of a tube; and relaxing by the pool and ordering fabulous food served in stacked baskets. We have out of town family coming for an event in August and have booked rooms for all of them. We intend to enjoy the great things this resort has to offer with our guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. With all of the resort options in Tucson, it is with great pleasure to read that we are “A Local Favorite”. Thank you for taking time to share about your recent experience and we look forward to the opportunity to host your family in the near future.


Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    271
    98
    44
    27
See reviews for
292
296
38
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I recently took a ‘birthday-spa-break’ at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort in Tucson-- two nights and three days--and it far exceeded my expectations. Everything about the hotel was top-notch, and the Hashani Spa itself was probably the best spa experience I’ve had anywhere. I had six treatments - all fabulous - and enjoyed the serene ambiance of this dedicated spa... there were private outdoor areas including a pool with cabañas, and a large whirlpool, sauna and steam room inside reserved for spa guests. A nice touch was being able to order lunch from the dining room menu and have it served on the spa premises.

As June is not a popular month for resorts in Tucson the hotel was not full and things were pretty quiet. This suited me fine and I enjoyed the slow pace and the services offered sans crowds. My room had a fantastic view across Tucson to the Rincon Mountains and the sliding glass doors could be left open to catch the breezes. The room itself was spacious and had all the amenities one could think of. I had to pinch myself when I saw it as I had paid a very low summer rate and never expected anything so lovely!

My favorite part of my stay was my birthday dinner at Primo, an outstanding restaurant that can hold its own with any five star restaurant in Tucson. Three things: food, service, and ambiance (and the last included sitting on a terrace looking out at saguaros and city lights beyond) were stellar. Marcos, my waiter and host looked after me beautifully and I enjoyed every moment of the experience. I had mentioned it was my birthday and the dessert that arrived was an amazing birthday creation that tasted as yummy as it looked (see photo). I ordered a made-on-the-premises lemoncello to go with it...a perfect match!

Hated to leave... will be back again and again!

Room Tip: View of Tucson and the mountains beyond Try the lemon cello!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for celebrating such a momentous occasion with us, and please accept my belated birthday wishes. It was with great pleasure to read about your memorable experience at the resort. It sounds like the ideal getaway while you were our guest! We look forward to your return and the opportunity to host another relaxing experience.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great Resort, located above the city with fantastic night views. The staff is always firendly and the food is good. Parking is no problem, make sure you have a car if you plan on seeig any of Tucson. Also, make sure you're on the patio for the evening Tequila toast. The pools are great and very family friendly. If you want an adult only escape or a great massage, definately go out of your way to visit the spa.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely appreciate that you took time to share about your recent experience at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa. It was with great pleasure to read that you have highlighted two of the most popular experiences at the resort, the expansive views from the Salud! Patio and the Hashani Spa. Thank you for sharing your feedback, as we truly value your viewpoint.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautifull place, both inside and out. This hotel was such a find for a quite relaxing stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, they make you feel like it is your home. I will definitely return to this resort.
I gave the four star only because the parking garage fee is not included in the room rate. You do get fee'd for everything but for some reason I was okay with it, maybe I was hypnotised by the beauty of the desert and the kind personnel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to share about your recent experience at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear that you experienced an enjoyable and relaxing stay. It is encouraging to hear that our associates provided you a level of service that was comforting enough to be called home. We look forward to your return and thank you for reviewing the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and 2 girls (ages 6 and 3) stayed at the resort for a quick trip down from Phoenix. The resort location is absolutely beautiful, with a great desert and city view. The kids loved the pool area and lazy river, and breakfast was both delicious for adults and very good for picky eaters.

The fitness center is one of the best you'll find at a hotel, complete with free weights, newer cardio equipment, kettle bells, exercise balls, a sauna/steam room, lap pool, etc. And you get to work out while looking out over the desert. Wonderful!

The only issue we encountered was ordering food at the pool - one daughter's food order wasn't put in and came much later. However, the service team definitely corrected the situation. Great stay - I highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Starr Pass at the destination for your getaway. I sincerely appreciate that you took time to highlight some of the fabulous features of the resort. We sincerely value your feedback on your recent JW Marriott Starr Pass experience, and look forward to delivering another personalized experience in the near future!

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A beautiful resort, excellent service, stunning views. Family friendly too

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a big hotel with expansive views of the surrounding desert Tucson skyline. The common areas are very nice. Restaurant food and service is good.

However, it is clear that this Hotel is more interested in booking conventions than hosting guests who would like a peace, relaxation, and serenity. There was a very large sorority conventions while we were there. This resulted in the pool and common areas being packed. They also had a hospitality suite three doors down from our room. There was excessive noise, yelling, and screaming until 11 PM. We had to call security to complain. The hotel or management offered little in the way of apology for the disruption. Paying guests should be booked away from groups like this (my final bill was over $700 for two nights). This was far from a relaxing weekend.

The self parking is positioned very far from the majority of the hotel rooms. Realistically most people will just need pay the valet parking price.

The resort itself is situated very far from most attractions, restaurants, and shopping in Tucson. If you are planning to do significant shopping or tours in the Tucson area, a resort is situated in the Catilina foothills may better meet your needs. This resort does not offer any sort of shuttle service into the major attractions of Tucson.

The pools are nice. However, they are essentially large pools surrounded by flat concrete. They do not have the typical large vegetation and palm trees that would be seen at most Arizona resorts. By the end of the day, there were discarded cups and litter crawling with bees around the edge of the "lazy river" which clearly should have been cleaned up in a hotel of this caliber.

Room Tip: east side has the best views, but very bright am light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. Like you, I am very disappointed that our Leadership Team was not notified of your experience and dissatisfaction. We strive to provide an enjoyable and relaxing experience for all of our guests. Obviously, in this case, our performance was below standards. Thank you for sharing your experiences and allowing us to recover. We certainly appreciate your thoughts and position.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W. Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and SpaEnjoy the mountains of Arizona at JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa. Located just west of an area considered the birthplace of Tucson, AZ, this resort hotel is rich with culture, history and beauty. Experience a truly unique destination resort complete with world class spa facilities and nationally acclaimed Arizona golf courses. Fine dining and award winning restaurants further complement this one of a kind Tucson resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.