We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Food for Ascension Cafe

Food for Ascension Cafe
330 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85705-8452
+1 520-882-4736
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,702 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: We are here to bring community together through good and authentic food, from seed to fork to compost. We are a new paradigm of sustaining community by providing pure food through fair systems that interact together and support a vibrant life, a vibrant community, and a vibrant self with the ultimate intention of reconnecting our body, our mind, and our soul. The Food For Ascension Cafe is operated by Avalon Organic Gardens & EcoVillage. We are blessed and so excited to embark upon our long time dream of having a restaurant that embodies and reflects our principals of healthy food and conscious consumption.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vegan heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I loved everything about this restaurant! BUT if you're a vegan then definitely note that eggs or dairy may be used and inquire if they can be left off. Staff were gracious, the food local and delish, and supports the local economy. PS Stop by the Sacred Treasures store before/after dining!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Organic Mother's Day Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Whether you're new to Tucson, just visiting, or embarking on a journey toward more healthful eating, you might want to check out the Food for Ascension Cafe in Tucson, 330 E. 7th Street, just off 4th Avenue. We visited for the first time on Mother's Day and enjoyed a wonderful brunch. Every item prepared here is vegan or vegetarian, with the exception of the opportunity to add one or more eggs to a dish. A variety of gluten free items are also available.

Several things about this restaurant appealed to me. On their menu they state they are "An organic farm-to-fork eatery providing a welcoming and home cooked experience." and "Over 90 percent of the ingredients on this menu have been grown with love in our Tucson region."

The two dishes we enjoyed were Eggs & Toast (available gluten free with their gluten free corn bread), which comes with a small house salad. We also had the Carmelized Onion and Potato Quiche, which also came with salad. For dessert, we split the tasty gluten free blueberry tart sprinkled with pine nuts, and still had enough left over to bring home. Their web site is foodforascension.org/menu if you want to check it out.

The atmosphere was serene, pleasant, and calming, and the service excellent. We'll definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting/"clean" food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very charming, soothing and relaxing environment. Great service. Friendly staff. Local/organic produce. Been waiting and waiting for this to happen in Tucson. Mostly vegan choices & lots of gluten free breads and pastries. Homemade kombucha. They also have egg dishes for breakfast. I will most definitely be a regular.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Two of us went there for dinner- for people who don't eat animal products, the menu is full of creative and fresh choices. The ginger tumeric drink had a good ginger and citrus flavor. The cafe offered steamers- steamed milk with an unusual selection of flavors. Rose was selected and it came to the table piping hot with a tiny dried rosebud in the foam as an accent. I was only sorry that when I finished the rose infused soymilk that there wasn't any left to savor.

The order of potato cakes arrived in a bowl of fresh dressed greens in a tangy oil and vinegar dressing. Two fresh poached eggs topped the generous, well seasoned potato cakes. I would definitely order this again!

The other dish ordered consisted of egg noodles and finely chopped greens, sprinkled with a small amount of chili flakes. This dish could use some work as it was rather bland- we found ourselves reaching for the salt shaker more than once. A tiny side cup of the chili bits would have been welcome, or perhaps a generous use of local fresh herbs or mushrooms. It would be fine as a side, but as a main dish, it needs more substance.

As reviewers have noted, they have a good selection of tasty desserts. We shared a delicious slice of chocolate hazelnut cake that came to the table with the dark icing studded with hazelnuts.

The decor is calming, the service prompt and polite. I like this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Creative vegetarian/vegan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A group of 15 nutritionists and guests gathered at this cafe for dinner. The staff tried hard, but even though we had a reservation, it seemed the kitchen was not prepared. Several diners ordered the veggie burger and they ran out of buns. If I had known, I would have ordered the bean dish instead. The veggie burger was not all that flavorful. They do a terrific job with pizza--the crust is chewy and flavorful and the toppings quite well seasoned. The grits with sauerkraut and kale is delicious.
Where is restaurant excels is in beverages and desserts. I enjoyed a cup of turmeric-ginger tea that was spicy and satisfying. The cinnamon cake was tender and flavorful. The Mexican chocolate pudding made with tofu is creamy and deeply flavored.
Many dishes, desserts and beverages include a touch of the piquant chile pequin. This pepper adds something very unexpected.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food for Ascension Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Food for Ascension Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Food for Ascension Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.